We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know how to make an Anniversary Special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $10
Ranked #14 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“They know how to make an Anniversary Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at the Palomar and the staff friendliness, warmth and sense of hospitality puts it Number 1 in Washington. Encounters from Check -in to the maids were always with people seeking to make your stay better. A special thanks to Clayton Smith, Assistant Front Office Manager, for the Champagne and Truffles in recognition of our special occasion. In addition, the hotel is perfectly located near Dupont Circle restaurants with the metro one block away giving easy access to the rest of the city. Brad and Kathy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear KAsperges,
Congratulations on your 35th wedding anniversary. I am so happy you enjoyed the surprise Clayton put together. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    710
    180
    69
    20
See reviews for
564
1,106
202
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Four day stay booked after getting married in NYC. Great welcome on arrival and complimentary wine tasting in foyer in evening..Warm and cosy near the fire but didnt cater for my partner who doesn't drink wine so we adjourned to the cocktail bar. When we let it slip that we were from Australia and newly married, Jo the barman went out of his way to look after us, even going down the road to a nearby gay bar to get a local paper and point out to us the places we should try for a drink and dinner.
First night we stayed in and had a great meal st the restaurant. Service and friendliness was great and the food was to die for!
The room we had was so big ! and maybe even a little kinky with a faux leopard skin throw on the bed and the robes were zebra and tiger prints...brought out the animal in us!!! Lol !..Everything about this hotel is great ,can only give it our best recommendation.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room in a Kimpton hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear galah46,
Congratulations on your wedding and thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad that you had a great time in DC. All the very best, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I rarely stay at Kimpton hotels. It’s just not a brand that’s on my radar. I stayed at one in San Francisco, and it was just ok. Nothing special. I stayed at one in Miami Beach, and it was awful. Still having flashbacks on that horrible hotel. Fortunately, the Hotel Palomar in DC falls into the great bucket. In fact, it put the Kimpton brand back on my radar.

The front desk staff was helpful and seemed to truly care. The rooms are spacious. One of the biggest standard hotel rooms I’ve seen in quite some time. The bed was comfy and plush and the bathroom was spacious and nicely decorated. Great work space in my room and a huge TV. The restaurant has great food but the selections are limited. The location is near DuPont circle but not in walking distance to the monuments and historical sites. It’s a little pricey, but a great hotel overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear KMichelleM,
Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit in DC. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon. I will be sure to share your feedback with the Front Desk team. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My significant other and I just spent a Saturday night here over Thanksgiving. It was his birthday which I mentioned upon booking and check-in. We're also Kimpton members and had a great AAA rate. They upgraded us to a spa/exercise room which was so much fun. The whirlpool tub is designed for two and was spacious, clean and worked superbly. There was an elliptical machine in its own roomy nook. We were treated to champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for the birthday celebration. The room was very spacious with a great bed. People really attended the happy hour for wine, hot toddies and hors d'oeuvres and to verying degrees to meet one another. The staff were to a person exceptionally hospitable. When we came downstairs on Sunday morning and they were out of newspapers they bopped right out and bought additional ones, handing us ours at our breakfast table. The location is great between the metro and all that the Dupont Circle area has to offer. We were able to park for free on a neighboring street. High honors to Kimpton. I have stayed in their hotels now in Chicago, San Fran, New York City and DC and they never disappoint.

Room Tip: We were on a lower floor (3) but because the pool was closed for the season, it was quiet facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Gloria19147,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Love to read that you had a great time. Thank you for being a fan and we cannot wait to welcome you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

When I stay at a hotel and spend substantial money on a room, I look for small things to find fault with. This is a relatively new hotel with nice rooms, great coffee, food, wine that is complimentary at the right times, and is a very good place to stay in dc. The only small faults were that the tv reception is terrible. Not only is it not hd in the rooms, but it is fuzzy. Spending this much for a hotel room should get you hd in the rooms. The second thing is that the shower bath stopper was broken in our room. When in mentioned these two things to the font desk , they were gracious, but let me say not terribly excited to hear my feedback. Don't get me wrong, this is a very nice hotel, but it doesn't quite deserve 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear baltimooron,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will very soon have HD programming in all our guestrooms - the next time you are here, you will be able to enjoy this new enhancement. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Love this hotel. Spacious, beautiful rooms, warm atmosphere, great staff. Wonderful location. Best hotel in DuPont Circle. I stayed there for a nearby conference and then extended my stay with my wife. We both loved it (and we're picky too). I highly recommend this hotel, another great hotel from Kimpton.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Ned S,
Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit in DC. Love to read that you extended your stay based on your experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in a King Spa room over Thanksgiving. Travelled with my dog and hotel is very pet friendly...no upcharge, water and dog treats at the front desk, bowl and pet bed in room. They have a complimentary happy hour every night and they have an awesome restaurant (Urbana). The room was huge and well-appointed. I recommend joining Kimpton hotels as it got us free WiFi and a special little gift of a mini-bar credit. If you want to be anywhere near Dupont Circle, this is your hotel.

Room Tip: Book a regular room, join the club, then when they email you to sign up for possible upgrades, do it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.