We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #13 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I spent one night in the Palomar as I was attending my cousin's wedding there. I had a nice, clean comfortable room on the 4th floor with only one problem. I had requested an early check in time of 11am because I was attending a 2pm wedding and was not able to get a room until the standard 3pm check in time. I ended up getting ready for the wedding in family member's rooms that had checked in the night before.

I had to catch a plane the next morning and it was easy to get shuttle service to pick me up from there. I was also pleasantly surprised when I visited the Business Center and realized the Palomar provides free printing of airline boarding passes. Not all hotels offer this so that was nice! Pets are permitted to stay in this hotel so if you want a pet free room you need to make a point to request that. I don't have pet allergies but I just didn't want to sleep in a bed where someone else's dog or cat might have spent the night.

Room Tip: Request pet free rooms if you need or want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear camille87,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I was happy to read you enjoyed your experience. I am so sorry that your early check-in request couldn't be honored. We will not fail you twice. Next time you are back in town let me know. I will make sure all your requests are honored. We also have specific rooms that are pet free and I will make sure we set one aside.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back camille87.

Best wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,741
    689
    177
    67
    20
See reviews for
558
1074
198
579
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We only were able to stay for one night, but that one night was exquisite. The service was impeccable: the front desk staff allowed us to check into our room early, the housekeeping staff was hospitable and very attentive to detail, the valets & doormen were immensely friendly and helpful, and the restaurant staff was on-point in all the right places. The rooms were spacious, well appointed, and comfortable. We were part of a wedding party, and the bride & groom were upgraded (at no charge) to a luxurious honeymoon suite. This is certainly hospitality at its finest. Whenever we need to stay in DC, we will be staying at The Palomar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear BergerBot,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are really proud of the warm, intimate atmosphere we create and love that you enjoyed.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This Klimpton hotel meets all of the expected amenities of this excellent chain+more. Free wi-fi, courteous and friendly front desk, and comfortable and well appointed room makes this one of my favorites when traveling to DC. I also love the Urbana bar where I always meet interesting people and Joe the bartender is the perfect combination of efficiency and friendliness. Located near DuPont Circle it is surrounded by some of DC's best restaurants and shopping, and steps to the Metro station. Rates vary but I can usually get a competitive room rate on-line. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear mayito2

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are thrilled that you found our hotel comfortable and the service personable. I will make sure to share your review with Joe. I know he will be very happy. When you are back in town please let me know. I would love the opportunity to say hi.

Best wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of its high rating on TripAdvisor. The rating is deserved; the hotel is cool, friendly and well- run. The only issues I found were (1) it was a little noisy outside my room (the hallway, not the street) and (2) my new car came back from valet with a small dent on the door. Other than that, the stay at the hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear MignonWinston,

We are thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time. Thank you so much for the shout out! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at other Dupont Circle locations previously, we were anxious to try out the Palomar. Location can't be beat as the hotel is a few blocks from the Dupont Metro station with a Starbucks in the same block and a Le Pain Quotidien in the next block-both convenient for breakfast. The hotel lobby is lovely and well-appointed with seating around a fireplace. However, the nightly wine tasting can become extremely crowded/noisy with standing-room only space. Both the white and red wine offerings were of acceptable quality. Our standard room was clean and comfortable but of European size. Room 1011 is positioned in a quiet small hall with room size rather small. There was no comfortable seating, just a desk chair. Night table on one side of the king bed, with honor bar on opposite side of bed. Desk/chair, dresser topped by flat panel TV at foot of bed. Closet beside bed provided the needed storage. We found the bath to be efficient, except there is no fan. Aveda toiletries are a plus. As In Touch members, we had Wifi in the room and a $10 complimentary purchase from the honor bar. In comparison to other Dupont Circle hotels, the Palomar room was the smallest, but other qualities would take us back, especially if rates are comparable.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear ShowMe,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Dupont Circle is really a fun a neighborhood. So happy you enjoyed it. Next time you are back in town let me know. I would love to say hello and thank you in person.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Hotel kindly upgraded our room for our trip! The room was HUGE including a Jacuzzi bath and exercise bike in the room. The hotel is also Pet friendly, which makes it a real family friendly hotel. However, the hotel is not over run with pets and children and is definitely a good hotel for anyone looking for a good hotel. Staff is really helpful and the hot chocolate / wine hour in the early evening caters for everyone to relax after a very long day of sight-seeing. This is a wonderful hotel to stay in in Washington, highly recommended.

Room Tip: For us the motion spa room was a great treat! Didn't have to go up to the fitness room to use an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Huskysaffa,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for recommending us to the world travelers. We greatly appreciate it.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I enjoyed our stay at the Palomar Hotel very much. The Aveda products in the bathroom was very nice, and the funky animal robes where really fun. Our room had big windows, but I would definitely keep them drawn. The concierge was great in helping us find a nice place for dinner that was close and good, as it was pouring out. The only disappointment was the shower head. It was a bit dribbly without a lot of water pressure, but in the big picture this wasn't a big deal. We didn't have coffee in the room, but I later found out I could of asked for it if we wanted. The coffee in the lobby in the morning was nice, but not very good quality. The wine hour from 5-6 was very nice. It would have been great if you could have ordered a coffee or drink while sitting in the lobby anytime.

Room Tip: As for a corner room, as they are usually a bit bigger. I would also sign up at Klimpton Hotels, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Totentanz,

Thank you so much for your feedback and your kind remarks about the concierge service. I will share your review with the staff. I am sorry about the coffee and the water pressure. If you are ever back in town please let me know. I will make sure a coffee maker is placed in the room prior to your arrival and your stay remains flawless. Thank you for your business Totentanz.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;