We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa tubs are worth it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“spa tubs are worth it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Pros: Great location, quiet rooms available in the heart of the city... spacious spa rooms. The staff is very kind and friendly, late checkout was allowed, dupont circle near by, restaurants are close by. I loved the tubs...large enough for 2, and they provide bath salts. Well done!

Cons: could use a couch vs. the 2 small chairs they offer. The lobby could be bigger... they offer wine service during the evening, but there is literally almost nowhere to sit.

I'd return for meeting but it's not quiet luxurious enough or expansive to feel like you're truly getting away for a weekend. Great for a business trip or for travelers out of town.

Room Tip: Select a room with the spa subs and exercise equipment. Rm 1012 was incredibly quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Foodwise,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. The spa rooms are super popular indeed. I am glad you liked it. There are some great improvements coming very soon as far as the living room is concerned. We have purchased some cool looking leather appointed cubes. It will add quite a few seats and it will for sure enhance the experience during Wine Hour.
Thanks again for choosing us Foodwise! We hope to see you very soon.

Best,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    766
    196
    74
    20
See reviews for
603
1,173
215
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very pleasant stay over MLK weekend 2012. The staff was welcoming, the room was perfectly appointed, quiet, roomy...everything one could ask for. The afternoon wine reception was a treat, as was the breakfast coffee bar that ran in the lobby all morning.
The best "take-away" was the real sense that the staff cared about the guests and their comfort. "No" did not seem to be a word they had in their vocabulary. Now, how nice is it to experience that in this day and age??

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear jtbnyc,

Thank you so much for your great feedback about the Staff. Care and Comfort are truly values we live by everyday! Thank you so much for noticing. I will make sure to share your review with the entire team.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night over the weekend and it was absolutely awesome. The staff couldn’t have been nicer, the room was immaculate and the hotel amenities I thought were top-notch. When we arrived we were given a complementary upgrade which was awesome! The hotel serve complementary drinks and snack in the evening and had hot chocolate (with marshmallows) served through the day. We were also given complementary breakfast tickets for the Sunday morning and the food was simple but delicious.

They also have free bikes you can use which are actually really good. We took them to go across to Georgetown and then down to the Mall to see all the historical sights. Washington is very bike and pedestrian friendly so it was a wonderful way to do the tour.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and can see why it’s #1 on trip advisor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear follesLondon,

Thank you so much for staying with us while visiting DC. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your review and great comments. The bikes are indeed a great hit. It makes sight seeing so easy to enjoy. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

A beautiful, central, clean and friendly hotel with great complimentary breakfast and huge rooms. No views but everything else was great. I Highly reccomend this Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear William H,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We hope to have the pleasure welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

It's a small hotel...so not a luxury hotel. But, it is clean, nice, it has a lot of character. The staff was wonderful. They have complimentary wine between 5 and 9. The beds and linen are as good as you will find in any hotel. Hard to say that this is the #1 hotel in DC given the choices. But, definately one of the best boutique hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed here for a work event and loved it! The rooms were huge and very chic. Everything was beautiful and very clean. The staff was amazing so helpful and nice. It's also in a great location and was able to walk to the white house and other tourist spots. It was such a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the Kimpton Palomar for two nights after reading other guests' reviews and were delighted with the location, the room, our reception. Our two cats were welcomed, our van with its car-top carrier was parked safely in an outside lot by the very patient valet ($38.00 & $6.84 in taxes per night). True, full breakfasts were a splurge at $39.05 before the tip for my eggs benedict and my husband's steak and eggs, but the coffee and service was excellent, the ambiance fresh and un-crowded. We were shy about attending the evening wine reception in the lobby but it just solidified the over-all friendly tone. The two persons with whom we chatted definitely enhanced our visit, suggesting places to go and sharing some of their backgrounds. I particularly liked the multiple ethnicities of the staff--Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Equador, Vietnam--also a cosmopolitan New Yorker--and their general sweetness--great hiring. Our standard King room was extra spacious, the bed among the most comfortable ever (my husband has back trouble, so this is a constant concern), the sheets and duvet smooth but crisp cotton. We didn't have a chance to use the leopard-patterned robes in the closet, or the sock-slippers, but appreciated the non-standard design. By signing up for Kimpton's loyalty program, we had free wifi--not sure if this is standard if you don't sign up, so definitely take a moment to sign up, and you are also likely to get a coupon for $10 worth of goodies from the in-room bar--we chose the $6.00 pop-up map of DC--very handy-- and a Dagoda chocolate bar, also $6.00--without the coupon, would never have opened the bar. Desk and lamp with built-in outlets made computer use easy. DuPont Circle location is easy walking to multiple restaurants--we wandered into Ping Pong @ One DuPont Circle for dim sum one night, Raku for a late afternoon lunch of yellow curry and coconut noodle soup with beef; and a late-night snack at the hotel's Urbana restaurant. The metro entrance is only a couple of blocks from the hotel, but we had good weather and walked to the National Museum--three subway stops worth of walking, $2.20 each to return by subway.

Room Tip: Our first stay was in room 822 overlooking the street and the front entrance--we thought it very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear LuxuryExplorer,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay interacting with the Staff Members and taking advantage of the great extras we offer. We cannot wait to do it all over again soon. Thanks again!

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.