We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a quick anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Waterford, VA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quick anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We were only there for 1 night for a quick getaway weekend to celebrate our 15th anniversary. Room was comfortable & clean and nicely decorated. Decent value for a city hotel though breakfast was not included in our rate. Service was efficient and friendly. Breakfast Saturday was very good, but if you're looking for a quick buffet type hotel breakfast, this is not the right place for you. Also we love dogs, and this is a dog-friendly hotel, which was fine with us. But some who do not like dogs should be aware.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    812
    205
    78
    20
See reviews for
634
1,232
223
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is a great boutique hotel located with a few blocks of two different Metro lines, and right on top of GW University. We reached it by Metro from the airport and never touched a car to reach any of our city destinations. The Palomar can often be 'found' for well under $200 on Hotwire as a "4* DC (Dupont Circle-Embassy Row)" with these amenities listed: boutique, smoke free, fitness, restaurant, business, high speed internet. Big rooms, unique decor, lots of little luxuries, and very friendly and informative staff. Received a glass of good reddwine at check-in, too! There is a little grocery/deli across the street, so in the a.m. we'd grab juice, fruit, rolls etc. to bring to the room for a cheap, light breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We spent a fun weekend at the Palomar. Room was perfect. We requested pet-free, upper floor, away from the elevator and that's exactly what we received. Friendly staff, especially the valet parking attendants. Even the wine at the nightly wine party was tasty! Our only minor complaint was that the pillows were not as nice as home. Great stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room request was honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

If you're familiar with the Kimpton perks, this hotel has all of them (morning coffee, fun robes, wine reception at night) as well as a beatiful bar/restauarant off of the lobby and a nice atmosphere. The location a few blocks from the DuPont metro is really convenient. The only thing that I would downgrade them for was that I had bought a package with certain amenities and rather than being handed the amenities, I had to request each one individually. I felt like if I had not followed through for the drink tickets, upgrade, etc they would not have happened.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Very big, spacious rooms with the eclectic modern design that is reassuringly calming without being dull or sterile. The staff is very friendly, helpful and eager to please which complements the geat premises and ideal location in DC. The gym is spacious and well equipped with state of the art machines, weights, etc. Free Wifi for Kimpton In-Touch is a nice bonus. The only issue is the high price, otherwise this is excellent all around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Hotel Palomar is just 2 blocks from DuPont Circle, the best neighborhood to stay in when you're in Washington, D.C. I'd never stayed at the Palomar before or at a Kimpton hotel, so it was an interesting experience and on the whole, a very good one. The Palomar is a luxury hotel with an attentive staff. There were just two really major annoyances and a few small ones. The biggest annoyance was that -- like many hotels -- the windows of my room were hermetically sealed; I like to open my windows if weather permits, and I find it beyond annoying when I'm denied that choice. The other really big annoyance was the lack of a coffee pot in the room. They serve coffee between 7-9 a.m., but that's not convenient for me, and I drink herbal tea in the morning, anyway; a luxury hotel really should have a coffee pot in every room, don't you think? There were also a few small annoyances, such as the TV, which was very erratic, at times, completely bugging out for no apparent reason. One other small annoyance was the faucet in the sink in the bathroom, which was very stylish (Scandinavian modern), but which hung down so low that it made it difficult to wash my fash properly & thoroughly; in other hotels, I've seen faucets that can be moved aside, and that would have been extremely helpful. All that being said, in every other respect, the Palomar was a model of hotel luxury, complete with leopard skin print fluffy bathrobes & even socks hanging in the closet.

Room Tip: I was in a room right by the staircase & in the back of the hotel; P Street can be noisy, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This 3 star hotel gets 4 stars for trying hard. The location is great, staff very friendly and rooms large especially by DC standards. The cost is high but reasonable considering what other well located hotels charge. The room was big, oddly too big for my taste with significant empty space giving a strange feel to the room. The bathroom was OK in size and quality but could use an active fan vent. The hotel welcomes dogs and there were lots in the lobby but fortunately not one made a sound. The staff really tried hard and were for the most part very nice even when I spilled coffee in the lobby. The only negative experience was at check-out when I gave a small tip to the doorman who lifted my one light bag into the trunk of the cab. If looks could kill, I would be dead. I would certainly consider staying again but there are so many hotels in DC, I might look around too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,456 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.