We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome retro hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #48 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Awesome retro hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. It's located just a few blocks north of the White House and is close to the bus lines and the metro. The rooms are quite comfortable and they have free bikes available.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    439
    134
    52
    18
See reviews for
246
403
114
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only had 2 nights for our first time in Washington DC & Hotel Rogue is perfectly located near The White House & National Mall so we saw all the monuments that were on the list. It's also close to the Metro to Arlington. The beds are comfortable, the reception staff friendly & knowledgeable ... & there's a happy hour every day of the week!!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I briefly stayed at the Rouge Hotel in Washington D.C. I had an event that I was attending and I knew I wasn't going to make it home. So I opted to stay at the Rouge. The hotel itself is very nice and surprisingly spacious. The room was nice and clean. The bathtub was a little on the dirty side but I was able to make do. My view wasn't much to speak of but I was able to see my vehicle safely parked in the valet lot. The valet price was a bit expensive, 50 bucks a night. Places in south beach aren't that expensive. Overall tho the stay was very pleasant and I would stay again. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well

Room Tip: Don't drive valet is expensive
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very environmentally friendly. Very conscious of saving energy
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

So for starters maybe it's my fault but had no clue the hotel was going to take an extra 200 bucks from us at check in a place it on hold... So thankful of course we had it but being completely blindsided by it sucked because that taped into our spending budget while we were in DC so basically all we could do was see the sites which are conveniently close don't get me wrong but seriously it was our Anniversary and now we were 200 short and I was planning on coming back for my birthday in January with my buddies but smh I don't even know really and it's crazy because I'm not going to get started in the room.....

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a 3 night anniversary weekend there. Couldn't have been nicer. We had back room that was quiet. Wine hour every evening and coffee available in the morning. Friendly staff, always smiling and very helpful. We had a large clean room. Moderate price, and a great experience. We would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Inspiring styling, great (though small) bar, complimentary snacks, wine, pizza, varying times of day. Attentive staff. Walking distance to restaurants and attractions. Trendy boutique concept well executed. Small, but intimate, overall. Though we did not use, we would return with kids, given family style rooms with bunks and video games.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Griffinchauc. We are so excited that you chose the Rouge during your recent visit to DC and that you will return during your next visit with your family! Looks like we are a perfect match and we are so pleased to have a new fan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent one night at Hotel Rouge in an Executive King Room.
For my purposes (I was in DC for a concert), this hotel fit the bill. I found the cost to be appropriate for the location and cleanliness of the hotel.

A lot of people have commented on the decor: I found it to be sexy and fun, not overbearing at all. But, I thought it was a little strange that my Executive King room had a king bed and 2 bunk beds, since I booked a room for two adults. The website should be more clear.

My biggest complaint is that the hotel has obviously been recently renovated, but the in-room bathrooms have been neglected. The lobby, bar, and the decor of the individual rooms is fresh and bright. On the other hand, the bathroom in my room was dark (very hard to apply make up) and teeny tiny with a bathtub shower- not what I expect from the word "Executive King." The water temperature and pressure were so inconsistent that I was grateful my stay was only one night and I wouldn't have to repeat that horror.

Next time I come to DC I think I'll try a different Kimpton (Hotel Palomar was fully booked). But this hotel is a very good deal if you have a short stay and just need a place to crash.

Finally, I'm a big Kimpton fan and the perks with the free InTouch Membership are always nice ($10 credit for minibar/ 5pm wine). Be sure to sign up so you can get deals like $1 Continental Breakfasts.

Room Tip: there's no view, so no need to be picky
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Veronica S. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry that we did not completely WOW you but we do appreciate your feedback very much. We do pride ourselves on our large rooms and great style, but you are correct that are bathrooms are small. We can certainly address the lighting and water pressure issues immediately and we thank you for reporting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Hotel Rouge is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Hotel Rouge entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.