We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some really great features (don't need to bring your own yoga mat) some need a little work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some really great features (don't need to bring your own yoga mat) some need a little work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is not the fanciest but it is the cleverest I've stayed at in DC (and I've stayed at a lot). Room are big and comfortable with really comfortable beds and nice long desks. Appointments are not the most elegant, but they have an edgy, sort of art-deco design (lots of red, in keeping with the name), leopard-patterned terry robes) that is engaging. Staff are very nice and extremely helpful in general (late check-out was willingnly provided) I didn't get to try the free, late-afternoon wine and snacks, but it looked very nice. Also nice -- the hotel emphasizes fitness, with a yoga mat in every room, yoga program on the TV and yoga and pilates props avaialble for the asking, bikes available to guests for free, a healthy foot menu, a fitness center.

All are great ideas, but not all work as effectively as they could. When I tried to use a bike for a quick-pre-meeting ride, staff sent me to the garage for my bike without tools to set the seat at my height or a helmet, which the program purports to provide. They had no maps for riders and the only route they knew of was a tour of the city (even though the hotel is very close to Rock Creek Park, which has paths). The menu doesn't include any vegetarian or even fish options in its healthy meal list (chicken, chicken or turkey are the only choices?) and the fitness center is a crowded dark room in the basement, although well equipped given the space.

If all of these ideas were more fully realized, the Rouge would be a five in my view; as is, it was still lots of fun to stay there.

This would have been a

Green Features: This is clearly a major focus at this hotel. They forego the usual tiny plastic botels in favor of built-in toiletries, have the now-common towel on the floor policy, provide lovely water flavored with fruit in kegs rather than throw-away water bottles.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear dallenboston. Thank you for your feedback! Your suggestions are great and we will definitely consider your recommendations! I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit here and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    505
    147
    61
    23
See reviews for
281
462
134
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location, great front desk staff and awesome rooms. We had the queen queen deluxe which was HUGE. Beds were comfortable and rooms were super clean. We had one issue with our tub not draining, but this was quickly handled by the front desk and our request to be moved to a different room was met immediately! Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quiet comfortable stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are red!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear 112jackier. Thank you for your review. It’s our goal to achieve 100% satisfaction and I am sorry about the plumbing issues – I am “very red” with embarrassment. I am pleased; however, that all else was enjoyable and beyond your expectation. We look forward to earning a 5 star review during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great, hip and fun property. Small and cozy hotel. Great location. Huge room, but thin walls allowed us to hear all the partying next door. Great food in small bar/lounge. Helpful staff. I will use Kimpton hotels in the future and was impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Gallagherlaw. We are thrilled that you had a great time in Washington DC and at the Hotel Rouge! We think we’re pretty hip and fun also and we’re glad that you enjoyed atmosphere. Thank you sharing your story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Rouge and had a very nice stay there while in D.C. It's a boutique hotel, conveniently located in a quiet stretch right between Dupont and Logan Circles, a quick walk to all sorts of restaurants and stores. We had a room with a king-sized bed, big and clean, a wall full of windows, and a wall-length desk/workstation with all the needed plugs and good strong wi-fi, lounge chairs with an ottoman and a chaise lounge as well, flat screen TV, and AC/Heat controls. Bathroom was fully stocked. Staff was courteous, professional, and helpful. We didn't have an opportunity to drink or eat at the bar/restaurant downstairs, but it was active and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. I definitely recommend it and would consider staying there again the next time we're in town.

Room Tip: The front-facing room like hours on the 4th floor got a *lot* of sunlight, but it had both opaque an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear ctotogo. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, style and service! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent hotel to stay with the amenities of a 5 star hotel. The price is not bad either. Convenient location and the service from the staff is SUPERB. I will definitely come back and stay in this hotel. Overall, a highly recommended hotel to stay when in DC

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear mondi001. Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful feedback and review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and found us to be 5 stars all around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Rouge with wife and 2 teenaged kids. Great location in the DuPont circle area. About 15 minute walk to the back of the White House. Great neighbourhood with lots of restaurants within short walking distance. Very spacious room with 2 queens. Decor is very red and modern (can be good or bad depending on your personal taste and expectations). We loved it. My understanding is that it was a former apartment building. There is a Whole Foods market a couple of blocks away that we picked up our hot breakfast from every morning while the kids were still sleeping. I highly recommend this hotel especially at the Hotwire deal we received.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear SmokeyjoTO. Thank you for staying with us! Making our guest’s feel comfortable and providing a unique experience is our goal! Looks like we are a good match and we hope that you and your family come back to see us during your next visit to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked 2 nights here and stayed in a spacious 2 queen standard room which offered plenty of room for our family of 4. The staff was excellent in every way. The location was great..a quick walk straight down 16th to the White House and close to all major attractions. There was a nice little restaurant on site and in the evenings they served complimentary cocktails in the lobby. They even brought up a pet fish for my daughter since we left our pets at home (they are pet friendly)..Kelsey at the front desk was great! It has a very european feel to it ..I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear travelmom1962. Thank you for staying with us! I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your visit to DC and the Hotel Rouge! We enjoy hearing that our staff is always helpful and accommodating and that we are a good fit for families as well as singles, couples and business travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
#87 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#40 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Hotel Rouge is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Hotel Rouge entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.