We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast $1 More
Ranked #44 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip. The staff were very accommodating, and provided excellent service during my stay. The hotel itself is well located, with easy access to a lot of great restaurants. It is not too far from the Metro, so access to other area attractions is also very good.

Room Tip: The Kimpton hallmark is that all of the rooms are different. I had an upper floor room. It was spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Susan K. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, style and service! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    386
    116
    48
    15
See reviews for
214
364
104
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, whenever I get to stay at a Kimpton, I never get to spend anytime in my room because I'm booked with meetings and dinners. This time was no different. I walked into a fun, funky, spacious room but was out late for work. Te staff were friendly, helpful and didn't treat me poorly when I called the front desk looking for the hair dryer which was in the bathroom in plain sight. The bathroom had a dimmer switch which I used as a nightlight. The shampoo and conditioner were actually of a quality that was worthy of use. I always love the interesting things they stock their mini bars with. It was nice to have a Luna bar option and fresh orange juice in the fridge. Plenty of plugin spots for all my devices was appreciated. I also ordered breakfast in the Rouge Bar lounge and must say my scrambled eggs were flavorful not the plain, lackluster eggs one normally gets at a hotel breakfast. Wild most definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear NicMic. I am so pleased that enjoyed your visit and noticed some of the little surprise and delights we offer to make our guests feel more welcome and have fun! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

First of what we hope will be many stays at a Kimpton hotel. Checked in early--not a problem. Our room was waiting for us at 1:00pm. Room was a dream for 5 people--2 queens and a bunk bed for the teens. Staff was lovely and helpful at every juncture. Left the car and walked straight to the White House. A great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Profwithkids. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and experienced one of our bunk bed rooms; perfect for families! Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again during your next visit to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a great hotel for kids! We have a 3, 7 and 8 year old, all boys. We stayed at the Rouge during our trip to DC. The hotel room was clean, we had a two queen bed with bunk beds. It was large enough to make our stay comfortable. There is a great restaurant, the Commisary, within in a 5 minute, very safe walk from the hotel. There is also a Whole Foods. The neighborhood is very safe and quiet. I would not suggest walking to the White House or any Museums from the hotel if you have small children, it is quite a ways away for them to walk. The kids had snacks waiting for them in their own special spot in the room. The restaurant downstairs is very relaxed, the food was very good. We had a couple problems that were resolved immediately. Our car top carrier was smashed by the valet accidently, they do have outdoor parking to accomodate large vechicles, and they bought us a new one and had it on our car that evening. We were very impressed by the way they took on the problem and fixed it. Many places woud have made getting it fixed our problem. We would definetly stay here again when we visit DC. I will also look into other Kimpton hotels when we travel after this great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Greetings googoodoll5218!

Thanks for the great comments! Our whole team here at the Hotel Rouge is elated that your stay was a success. We take great pride in our Chef driven restaurant Bar Rouge and even more so, the culinary delights the menu provides. Our Chef driven concept is also found at all of our fantastic Kimpton properties.

Thank you for allowing us to amend the car carrier as well. We love to make things happen for our guests here at Kimpton and when an opportunity presents itself we will always amaze our guests! It was such a pleasure to host your family and we look forward to creating many special visits for you in the future!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a great time staying at this slightly funky hotel during a short vacation in D.C. Young, hip staff was friendly to us who are neither. Hubby loved the cushy Kimpton bed. Bar offered creative, delicious and even healthy food options. Several good Dupont Circle restaurants were reasonably priced and within easy walking distance. Location was very convenient -- a short taxi or Metro ride to most attractions. True, the intense red on the walls, floors, etc. is a bit overwhelming at first, but it's fun and memorable!

Room Tip: Register in advance if you are arriving really late, as we were. We were told it would ensure a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Greetings RoseCityDuo!

Thank you for spending your get away to DC with us at the Hotel Rouge. You are absolutely right about our Kimpton beds. They are cushy and awesome! So glad Bar Rouge provided some great creative options for you to enjoy. Kimpton is very proud of our Chef driven restaurants so I am thrilled we were able to take good care! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fiirst time at a Kimpton Hotel, but really impressed with boutique feel, reasonable prices, very large rooms (converted from apartments) in a very good location. We walked trough the entire city and were never too far away. Easy walk to Dupont Circle for restarants & metro and near many isntitution offices, embassies, Johns Hopkins school.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello travel JR!

Welcome to Kimpton! I am not surprised your stay was awesome!
It’s great to see the Hotel Rouge had a great boutique feel, mission accomplished! I hope we have created a convert to Kimpton! All of our hotels are amazing, unique and have a story of their own! Please keep us in mind where ever your travels take you.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was a little nervous booking the Hotel Rouge for our family. Even though the room had bunk beds, the hotel itself seemed a little too "cool" to be appropriate for us - two 40-somethings, one 75 year old mother in law and one 5 year old boy.

We were all pleased to discover that this hotel fit us perfectly! While it could have been a bit closer to walk to the metro, the location in regards to evening restaurants was fantastic. Below are our pros and cons.

Pros
- Room size. We booked the bunk bed room which has about 500 square feet of space. It's hard to capture the size of this room by photos. As you walk in, there is a king bed and a large floor space, along with a sofa and a chair. One wall is lined by a desk with a flat-panel TV. In an alcove (separated by a curtain) you'll find bunk beds with shelving and under-bed drawers, along with another flat-panel TV. There is a small dressing area with a chest of drawers and minibar and a small, but well-laid-out bathroom.
- Staff. Much more friendly than I would have expected and definitely not the attitude I've found at some W hotels. Very helpful and kind and all with a great sense of humor.
- Bathroom amenities. Much nicer than I would have expected at this price point.
- Free WiFi. Join their In-Touch frequent guest program and get free WiFi. Awesome.
- Afternoon wine reception. Much needed after a full day of touring...

Cons
- Location. It's a bit of a far walk to the metro and would have been fine for us if my mother in law didn't have some problems walking. We took a $7 cab daily to the American History Museum, then spent the rest of the day on foot.
- Restaurant. This used to be just a hip bar, so they're light on menu choices. What we had was quite tasty.
- Minibar. We had a $10 "raid the minibar" coupon, but the coolest stuff was a bit dusty and old looking. Better to have a smaller choice that is refreshed more often.
- Drawer space. Could use one more chest of drawers in the dressing area, considering this is a room for four.

My tip - check for specials. We booked into a Travel+Leisure family special and received breakfast daily (a superb value) and free tickets to the Spy Museum.

Room Tip: Some rooms are really over-sized. These are the bunk bed rooms and the kitchenette rooms. I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello TravelerGwen!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very happy to see that our bunk bed room was a great fit for your family during your stay with us. Our whole team here at the Hotel Rouge prides themselves on their fun, creative and professional approach to our guests! This is why Kimpton Hotels are the best! Thanks for joining our Kimpton In Touch loyalty program as well!

Great feedback as well on some items the team can take a look into. Thank you again for the post and keep in mind we are always here to make your stays amazing when you are back in the DC area!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Hotel Rouge is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Hotel Rouge entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.