We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cool Place with Terrific Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“A Cool Place with Terrific Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I traveled to DC for 2 days of meetings. We are from Iowa and so we booked it sight-unseen...but it had a good price, good location for us, and it looked like something different. I am so glad that we picked it! The place is totally cool. Unique and different for sure! There are no boring colors in this hotel. The service was crazy good. I got an email from them before our departure, so I updated them as to our possbile delay getting in. While there, our meetings ran long and the front desk was so wonderful. They took care of our lugguage and kept their cleaning crew there for our room!
We were able to enjoy the Bar Rouge one night and loved the menu selection. The bar manager was great and took our advice regarding a future purchase regarding one of their Iowa vendors. Great place and I look forward to returning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    505
    147
    61
    23
See reviews for
281
462
132
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schwenksville PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Rouge for 3 nights with my 2 adult daughters and we all enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well located, being around the corner from a Wholefoods restaurant and close to a restaurant that serves vegetarian food, near a subway and close to the White House.
The staff were, without exception friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. Valet parking is available right next door.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying there again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluemont, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Received an excellent room rate when I booked through Priceline. Quiet, spacious room, comfortable beds. Valet was easy to use and staff were all extremely friendly. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the Rouge for three nights. We had two of our children with us and reserved a king room with a separate nook with two bunk beds. The layout of the room was great. The King bed was very comfortable and the kids loved the bunk room with the tv, video game player, and little refrigerator. Only two little complaints about the room. The bathroom is very small and the two lounge chairs in the room are the most uncomfortable chairs I have ever sat in. I am sure they were chosen for their design, but whoever chose them should have sat in them first. That having been said, we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Rouge. The only other caveat is that the location is a little bit out of the way. Other hotels are better located.

Room Tip: The rooms with bunk nooks are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We came to this red hotel for Valentine's day (what could be more perfect?) and it was a very nice experience. The AAA rate was very reasonable and the hotel is located on 16th St NW, which is down the street from the White House. The rooms were clean and most importantly everything SMELLED clean. The sheets were changed daily (you'd be surprised how often some hotels just tuck them back in) and the decor was very nice. The room was spacious and it had a MODERN flatscreen tv that is big.

Free wine on tap 5-6 (we didn't go, since we don't like to mingle/network) but the pizza on Saturday and Sunday mornings is nice.

I would recommend this hotel for a younger crowd, it seems geared for young professionals or groups of friends coming out to have fun. It's a nice location across from the Australian embassy.

I would only complain about the lack of free wifi and the paid parking.

Room Tip: Use the AAA rating and get the King Deluxe room. If you can get up to the higher floors, even better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
828 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This one is very red. But I like red. It has the Kimpton sense of humor. The goldfish at the front desk is named as a concierge. The continental buffet breakfast is priced better ($12) and included more goodies than most. The room is very comfortable. Shower excellent. Bathroom a bit small. Room could use a coffeemaker. Just know it is 4 blocks from either Farragut North or Dupont Circle subway stop-not right there. Two blocks from a nice block on P (between 14th and 15th) (this is at 16th and O) with Whole Foods and restaurants. A lovely lunge off the breafast room would be good to rent for cocktails or after-parties and lovely rest rooms off main lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel and employees were very sweet. I booked this room for Valentine's Day and in my request I asked for rose petals in the room. Although, they do not offer that 'type' of service due to damages that may be acquired to the sheets if the rose petals were accidentally washed in, they still put a dozen red roses in a vase and told us the roses were a gift and we could keep them along with the vase. The room was beautiful and sexy! The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept like a baby; no traffic noise or hall noise complaints. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and we'll definitely return!!!! Best hotel I've ever stayed in by far!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I didn't mean to click swimming to be terrible. Everything was excellent!!! Anyway, I chose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
#86 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#43 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Hotel Rouge is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Hotel Rouge entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.