We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in DC excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast $1 More
Ranked #45 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
McFarland, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot in DC excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

On a recent business trip to DC I had the pleasure of staying at the Rouge in DC. I have to admit it took me a bit to get use the the Red everywhere, but the wonderful people who work there made up for that from the start. Chase was really great helping us find the place on the night of President Obama's inauguration and he made us feel right at home on check-in. We arrived late, they kept the bar and restaurant open and Charisma was a wonderful bartender and server-- after a long day traveling the food and drink hit the spot. Every night they have a wine reception and Lucas provided excellent service. Leigh was also very helpful at the front desk. Very nice location, ok fitness center. Good food at he restaurant. Excellent service from all the people who work there, housekeeping everyone. thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    403
    121
    50
    16
See reviews for
229
372
107
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Large comfortable room.
Good location for exploring Washington sites.
Nice to have complimentary tea, coffee and wine hour in the lobby.

After we left we realised we had booked a breakfast included tariff. Unfortunately, nobody highlighted this to us during our check in or stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is pretty 'different' when you walk in.. very red! Feels slightly outdated I think... The room was nice and very big and had everything you need.
I used their 'business center' which was really just a computer that you had to pay to use, but the staff were very helpful and friendly when I asked them to scan something for me.
They also have a free wine and nibbles hour between 5-6pm which is nice if you're there at that time!
Location is great - you can walk most places and are close to public transport too. Just a short walk down P street brings you to plenty of restaurants and a whole foods as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at the Hotel Rouge in DC and were very pleased.
This is one of the “lower end” Kimptons, and in some ways it shows. The décor needs updating, particularly in the lobby, bar, halls and elevators, but our room was very nicely decorated. There also was no bell hop service, which was a bit of a downer.
I read an earlier review that stated there was nowhere to park. That wasn’t the case for us. There was about 200 feet of designated space in front of the hotel for 15 minute parking to load/unload. We parked our car out front, brought our stuff in and gave our keys to the front desk to valet the car, no problems.
The staff was wonderful and VERY accommodating. At check-in, we received a coupon for FOUR free drinks. We thought maybe there was some catch (i.e. only for the cheap wine/beer etc), but nope, we were allowed to order whatever we wanted from the bar, for free, times four.
Our room was located directly across from the elevator, our first thought was “great, no sleep” but that wasn’t the case at all, our room was extremely quiet and we heard absolutely no hall or elevator noise all night.
When my husband made the reservation, he mentioned in the comments section that we were having a “date night. ” Kimpton read that comment, and in our room was a handwritten card wishing us a great date night and a bouquet of long stemmed red roses. That impressed me greatly.
At the end of the day, the personalized service and staff far outweighed the dated décor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Angela C. Thank you for being a fan of Hotel Rouge and for letting other travelers read about your great experience! I am pleased that we made your date night more memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Rouge. It was very well located to see all the sights of Washington DC. My friend and I walked everywhere. We were only about a 15 minute walk away from the White House and what I loved about Washington is that everything you want to see is so close together.

The staff are helpful. The bar is nice but the food and drinks are quite expensive. The complimentary breakfast we had was lovely.

The decor was brilliant. The rooms were huge and very comfy. A good base to come back to after a long day of sightseeing.

The only dowfall is that its quite far away from anywhere if you want to go out in the evenings but I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear gettingoutofDorset. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to DC and the Hotel Rogue’s great service, stylish & unique atmosphere and location. Thank you for telling other travelers about your good experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What I love about the boutique hotels are the unique rooms!! What I love about hotel Rouge, is that its right on 16th street, NW. minutes from everything downtown dc. They also have free wine tasting from 5-6pm. I stayed in a king size deluxe room. I love their decor. Hang out at Bar rouge.. Really fun stay!!

Room Tip: I wouldn't bring my kids to this hotel, it's more for couples, and business people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear G50G. Thank you for staying with us! I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to DC and the Hotel Rouge and we are thrilled that you found us to be a fantastic and fun find! It’s our goal to be the best in DC, offering something unique and stylish for all types of travelers. Thank you for noticing and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved staying at the Rouge last night. The room was spacious for a DC hotel and the decor was funky and fun. The best part was the people, though. They took great care of me checking in and were kind and efficient. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear SweetSkyMom. Thank you for your review and I am pleased hear that the best part of your stay was the people! We pride ourselves on our great service and fun atmosphere and we are thrilled that you noticed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Hotel Rouge is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Hotel Rouge entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.