We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best showers in the world!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Washington to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Washington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Best showers in the world!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I know it sounds a little random, but I will never forget the showers in this hotel. Shower area is huge with max cap. 8. The rooms have a neat, sleek, and modern design. great lighting. big bathroom. Separate bedroom and living room. A cool feature where the television is on a turnaround wall that swivels into both the bedroom and living room. Mattress was a little old. I was a little worried about the distance from museums but a cab ride is only $8. Cabs max out at $20 in the city so it is definitely affordable. Make sure that you fly into Reagan Airport and not Dulles Airport if you wan to visit DC (Reagan is a lot closer). Beware of the doormen. They are a little aggressive and desperate for tips. Other than that, this is a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    184
    46
    34
    13
See reviews for
231
317
77
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The problem with the Park Hyatt DC is that it makes all other hotels pale in comparison. My stay was absolutely perfect. The hotel is conveniently located near the Metro, near Georgetown, as well as a short walk to the White House. I went for a run every day down to the Capital and back. When I returned, I was handed an ice cold water by the door man. The restaurant at the hotel is actually acclaimed, and local celebraties were dining there the week I was there. There are numerous other restaurants nearby, including Eric Ripert's West End Bistro. The rooms are large with all the upgrades you'd expect from a five star hotel. I can't say what was the best...the staff, the room, the dining, or just the overall experience, but you cannot find a better hotel in DC.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Demichae,

Thank you!! What a compliment!

On behalf of our entire team here who shares my passion in hospitality, we are most grateful for your kind and generous words.

It means a great deal to us you took the time to share this with us and everyone on Tripadvisor.

Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Kim Luk
Executive Assistant to the General Manager / Area Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My partner and I spent my birthday weekend at the Park Hyatt Washington DC from 28-30 August. We actually live in DC, but thought it might be fun to escape to a hotel for the weekend. Every member of the staff went out of his or her way to ensure that it was a memorable weekend. We ate dinner twice at the Blue Duck Tavern and had friends join us for Sunday Brunch.

So far this year I have 51 stays with Starwood, have made Hyatt Diamond, and stayed at various high-end boutique hotels like Sanctuary in Scottsdale, AZ; however, I have never had as wonderful an experience as the weekend at the Park Hyatt Washington DC. Our room was very nice, but what made the weekend so incredible, was the staff. In particular, the service we received at the Blue Duck and provided by German Broggi was out of this world.

We had planned to stay at the Four Seasons in Tokyo; however, we canceled our rooms to stay at the Park Hyatt Tokyo because of the service we received at this hotel.

The Park Hyatt brand has certainly won my loyalty.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear JohannMoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very appreciative of your efforts in making sure the word is out on our hotel, restaurant, staff and ours services. We, also, received your letter to our General Manager. We can not thank you enough. You can be sure to expect the same attention to service at Park Hyatt Tokyo.

We look forward to welcoming you back here very soon.

Safe travels!

Sincerely,

Kim Luk
Assistant to the General Manager / Area Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

very beautiful hotel with great service (including complementary loan of laptop and sedan service in the morning. delicious food, fantastic staff, great location, amazing beds & sheets, bathrooms to die for etc etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Dear Susanned,

On behalf of our entire team here at Park Hyatt Washington, we are very appreciative of your generous compliments .

This is most rewarding and will help us stay on course to maintain our standard to exceed expectations.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kim Luk
Executive Assistant to the General Manager / Area Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed here during the summer of 2010. It is a very nice hotel. The beds are extremely comfortable. They offer free bicycles to rent for guests. They have a tea room as well. I was there on business so I didn't pay but the rooms are pretty expensive from I've read. The staff was very polite and helpful. It is within walking distance of the shopping in Georgetown.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We found this hotel to be one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. The service is excellent, the rooms were very nice with comfortable beds and furniture. We found the food in their restaurant to be five star quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I was so looking forward to staying at the Park Hyatt hotel in DC over the Memorial Day weekend. The location of the hotel is ideal – it is a short walk to Georgetown and Dupont Circle. I reserved our room through Platinum AMEX travel (free upgrade) and I thought that I had booked several nights at a luxury hotel. I overlooked the fact that this is part of the less desirable Hyatt brand, but I still found it hard to believe that our room was considered an upgrade. Our “suite” had a combined bedroom and living area that was separated by an entertainment center wall with a flat panel TV that swiveled between the two rooms. The living area had three small slip-covered chairs and a desk – all were hardly comfortable. The bathroom was large, but it had a sliding door, no separate water closet and offered limited privacy. The closet did not provide enough storage, the AC struggled to keep the room cool during the late Spring heat and the satellite TV went out during a late night NBA playoff game. We even had a problem with housekeeping; they failed to leave extra towels despite a special request and very generous tip. We were constantly on the phone reporting problems with our room. The housekeeping manager offered an apology and surprised us with a complimentary treat – the Blue Duck Tavern apple pie – it was heaven. Other than that, we did not dine at the restaurant but it, along with the Tea Cellar seemed very lively every day we were in the hotel. The valet parking guys were great – efficient, professional and welcomed us back, etc. The front desk staff was trying hard to please, but they appeared to be in training and struggled a bit. I spoke with the hotel Manager (Tiffany) during our stay and she tried to amends for our less than satisfactory stay, but by then, we were certain that this property is overrated and overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.