We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Washington to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Washington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Having stayed in many fabulous upscale hotels around the world, I wasn't sure what to expect with the Park Hyatt. My husband booked it through his American Express Travel group. Upon arrival we were upgraded to suites for my husband and I, as well as our teenage children. The lobby is very clean, airy and open. Staff was friendly, courteous, addressed you by name, and very warm overall. The bathrooms were terrific and the towels wonderful I even took a delightful bath! Each and every staff member made us feel very welcome, and comfortable in every way. The rooms were HUGE, open and fun. Architecturally well through out. Breakfast were lovely in the downstairs eating area. The whole place was visually very appealing. I would absolutely want to stay here again. The professionalism and upscale feel of the hotel was remarkable. I would suggest a better array of pillows for the beds and I would also suggest a possible humidifier in the rooms, as I woke up both nights with major dryness. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to the DC area, just as long as they don't take my suite when I'm coming!

  • Liked — Modern feel
  • Disliked — The pillows and the dryness in the room at night
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    170
    44
    32
    12
See reviews for
216
289
71
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

I really loved this hotel but had one bad experience which results in the 4 versus 5 star rating.

Let's start by saying this hotel is really, really nice...I loved the downstairs bar and restaurant and tea room. The rooms are modern but cozy and we loved our room and the beautiful shower. There are interesting books to peruse in the room and the bed is wonderful.

The bad experience was that they were doing heavy construction on our floor...and that the staff lied directly to my face three times (2 from one person, then I asked that we go back downstairs to double check with the manager who also lied to me) saying that there would absolutely be no construction from 6pm on Friday until 8am on Monday. On Saturday morning the workers started the drilling and hammering in the room literally right next door to ours! I really dislike being lied to. When we called, they said they would ask them to stop. When it didn't, we went downstairs where we were finally told by another manager that in fact it would be going on all weekend. To their credit, they offered to move us to a suite (by this time, it was Saturday afternoon and we were checking out on Sunday) - why not offer this initially? They sent up wine and credit our account for the one night that we were paying for via points. Hence, the 4 stars, not less.

I don't know if I would recommend this hotel - I probably would with a caveat that the staff will tell you things just to make their day easier so to be aware.

  • Liked — The comfortable rooms and the cozy lounge downstairs
  • Disliked — Being lied to about nearby construction
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conate22
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

The room was of the highest standard and the service was refined. It had the feel of the Four Seasons and the service of the Ritz Carlton. The location of the hotel is perfect - near bars and restaurants. One of the finest city hotel properties I have stayed in the US and abroad.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

The hotel is modern. Service excellent. Minimalist and correct breakfast. Rooms are very specious and well decorated. The hotel is located just blocks away from Georgetown. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Stayed here for 1 night for a business meeting in DC. Free upgrade to a suite with breakfast due to my Diamond status. Room had a view of the street. Very nicely designed, modern with great ammenities. Location is great to near by George Town. Staff is well trained - helpful and polite. Everything you'd expect from a Park Hyatt hotel. Very clean, and spacious room. Would definitely stay here again. *try the blue duck tavern restaurant in the hotel and Cafe Milano in Georgetown*

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

The decor is stunning, very modern and minimalist. The service is outstanding. The slippers and plush robes are a nice touch as is the complimentary room service coffee for Hyatt members. It is very expensive, however; I paid $30 for breakfast of yogurt and coffee in the very chic dining room. It's still my favorite hotel in the city.

  • Liked — Decor, atmosphere, service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

For the cost, one would think that this place would be a palace. Don't get me wrong, it was definitely exquisite, but it was run down, rooms were small, and strangely enough the beds did not have any sheets. The staff were very courteous and were always willing to help out; the restaurant was just decent. Overall, the hotel was branded with the Park Hyatt brand (as opposed to the normal H symbol) and was trying too hard to be five star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.