We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous modern hotel in the perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Washington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Walk from the Park
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous modern hotel in the perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall, we loved this hotel's location, ambiance, and amenities. It is a short walk to downtown Georgetown, the Kennedy Center, and has easy access to Rock Creek Park. The hotel itself has an awesome modern decor, which extends to the rooms. Our room (on the 10th floor) was spacious, exceptionally clean, and very comfortable. Extra perks: Nespresso machine in the room, a flat-panel TV that swung out from the wall, great bathroom (and delicious-smelling toiletries) and adorable dog amenities. The package we booked also included breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, which was a real treat. They offer either a very nice buffet, or a la carte, and there is a lovely outdoor seating area, which we took advantage of. We enjoyed this hotel immensely, and that is despite a rocky start. We had a bit of a delay checking-in, getting seated at breakfast the first morning, and with the dog amenities, which we had pre-ordered for our pooch. My husband said something to the manager and he instantly made it right, waiving the dog fee and ensuring that we were seated promptly the next morning. We are already looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    160
    42
    28
    11
See reviews for
193
260
68
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked 2 rooms and prior to arrival we mailed ahead to make sure we would get connecting rooms. They replied within few hours this was arranged.
Upon checking we were given an higher category room which we appreciated very much as this additionally had a 'living room area'. Check in was efficient and friendly and we liked the looks and decoration from both hotel area's as well as rooms. The beds were phenomenal and the bathroom of our suite was with an exceptional large shower/bath in nice dark marble/stone.

The hotel is located in a nice area right between the major sightseeing and museums on one side and the nice shops around M street. Bikes were at hand at the doormen and we used them to cycle downtown to visit the white house, capitol etc. A typical way for a Dutchmen to go around.

Where there points of criticism, yes but few.

I found they had plenty of staff in the restaurant we used both for breakfast and dinner but it seems all a bit slow and inefficient though friendly. Hard to explain but you will notice what I mean.

What annoyed me is that I tried to make a reservation at the seaters for the next evening with a table outside I was told this was not possible, only inside as outside was done at a first come first serve base. I asked them I would feel this is inappropriate to guest staying in the hotel. Well, they did not care. I walked over to the reception and told them the story, added that I am, besides a hotel guest, a diamond member and expected something extra and that I had many options around. Here reply was forward, Sir, no need for all that, i agree with you as a in house guest and will arrange it. And so it happened. The restaurant said to be one of the better in town, it was good but not something I would call spectacular...

Anyhow, good hotel in a more quiet part of town with fine rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floors and better not facing M street at this is more busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in the somewhat larger deluxe room category. I was very happy with the oversized desk in the middle of the room - perfect for working. Everything was comfortable and well-appointed. Large and well designed bathroom. Lobby area very pleasant. Nice, professional service. The hotel was very accommodating when I asked to switch a quieter room. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear AvidTraveler941,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read how accommodating our staff was with your Premier Park Deluxe room switch. Their spacious size really makes for an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A little bit pricy, but not bad for the location in DC. 5 blocks from a Metro station for easy transport. A courtesy car that will take you anywhere within 5 miles for only the cost of tipping the driver (WAY less than a cab!). Wonderful concierge service that will do anything from grab your sunglasses out of your car, bring you ice, or track down theatre tickets. Exceptionally professional staff from doormen to housekeeping to management. Overall very impressed with the room we stayed in (500-something square feet). Very clean and well kept, and a great stay overall. We will probably return.
The only complaint is that our room faced a back alley, and despite being on the 10th floor, it was VERY loud when they came to pick up the trash at 7 AM nearly every day.

Room Tip: Upgrade to something bigger than the base room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Brent C,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit. Despite the inconvenience of hearing noise in the back alley, it sounds like you had a very pleasant stay. What a delight to read how helpful our concierge was, honoring all of your requests, and then some! I will be certain to share your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had planned our week in Washington D.C. 4 months prior to our trip. This hotel was our first stay of our 7 day stay around Washington D.C. We got to the hotel very early on July 30th to check in - about 11:30 or noon. No problem - we could not check in and they held our luggage. The front desk lady said, "Are you part of the group of convention people who are checking in?" I said, "No, we are not." (Back to that later in my story.) Great, we will go explore the city. We left with the front desk saying "We will call you and let you know when your room is ready and it will be before 3 PM." My boyfriend was fighting the end of a cold and by about 2:00 he asked if the hotel called me. I said no and I shall call them back. I called and I got a cold "No your room is not ready." So we did a few more things and then started to make our way back to the hotel. It was then after 3 PM. Again, the front desk person said, "Sorry but your room still isn't ready." I then said, "Well I need a room and I need to speak with someone. It's past 3 PM and my boyfriend is not feeling well." Well out comes Gregorie Lantoin. Very polite and well mannered but he apologizes and says, "We are sorry but we had a group of convention people last minute "last night" book a lot of our rooms." I then said, "Well that is all good but I booked my room 3-4 months ago and it's past the check in time of 3 PM. I said, "I don't care if you put us in a smaller room or a larger room but we need a room." He politely smiled and we did get upgraded and finally got in our room.

I did go back and forth on this hotel and almost booked the Grand Hyatt which now I wish of would of done. I didn't like the fact that I planned this vacation down to a tee and now had to beg to get in my room. The room was nice and the bathroom was beautiful. The "Bergamote 22" shampoo, soap and lotion that was provided in our room was great. We stayed here 2 nights and then stayed at the Willard right by the White House for 2 nights. We ended our stay in Arlington, VA at the Le Meriden. This is my first time staying at a Park Hyatt and it may be my last.

I guess if I would of told the check in person I was part of the convention, I may have got my room quicker? I don't know but I've stayed in many hotels and it's the first time I ever had to do this.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear MN_LADY_X,

Thank you for taking time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. While we strive to create a memorable experience for our guests, clearly this was not the case, and for that please accept our sincerest apologies. I have passed your comments along to our management team for further review, as perhaps this situation could have been handled better. We do hope that you consider to stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to make your second visit a much more pleasant one.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Park Hyatt is my favorite high-end hotel in DC. I have never been disappointed here. It is expensive (for me) but when the occasion warrants a splurge this should be it.

Rooms are beautiful, lovely linens, good art work in the rooms - throughout the whole hotel. Fun little amenities and turn down service. The staff is flawless.

Suite are spacious and well appointed. This would be a good place for family visits to the city - fourth of July, New Years Eve, Presidential Inauguration, anti-war demonstration, etc.

Just wish I could afford to stay here more...... sigh.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear cosmic_beancounter,

Thank you for selecting us as your favorite hotel in DC! Please be sure to visit the Offers page of our website to see which special promotions are being offered during visit to the nation's capital, as you will find a variety of perks for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had an excellent 4 days here at the Park Hyatt; High quality service and excellent food; very professional and helpful staff offering high quality service. The hotel is modern and spacious and conveniently situated to all the major sites. It is only a 10 minute walk to Georgetown, its restaurants and beautiful streets. If walking is not your cup of tea, there are plenty of reasonably priced taxis always on hand. I would definitely return to this Hyatt again in the future.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Donald F,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us! It is great to read how much you enjoyed our hotel, including the service demonstrated by our team. I have already shared your comments with our team, who are most appreciative. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.