We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property and highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Washington to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Washington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
San Jose
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property and highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel for 3 days and LOVED it! The hotel is gorgeous and looks very classy. One of the gems (at least in my opinion) is their lounge area. They have a beautiful tea collection and wine/wine/cheese station in the evening. The lighting, decor is absolutely gorgeous!

The service was phenomenal. The best we have had in any of our stays anywhere. Housekeeping, breakfast, cheese/wine (Thank you Lissa) and the lounge staff were just amazing! They made our son feel super welcome and responded to all of our requests right away and went beyond that.

The breakfast spread was one of the better ones we have had - The lemon/olive-oil coffee cake was YUM! The coffee was amazing and the jams/spreads were delish! (They make them on their own)

The carpets (in the hallway) were a little worn out, and would be the only thing I would point out as a negative.

Location - pretty good - Foggy bottom metro station is a 10 minute walk and there are nice restaurants and a whole foods right there close to the station.

Stay here, you will be NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear TP_Travel_Chronicles,

Thank you for sharing such nice feedback on our hotel and award-winning Blue Duck Tavern restaurant. From reading your comments, it seems like you and your family had a terrific time staying with us and enjoyed our food & beverage offerings, including our evening cheese (a favorite of mine as well.) I will be sure to share your remarks with the rest our team. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Washington!

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    175
    45
    32
    13
See reviews for
224
300
74
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I hadn't been back to DC for almost 18 years. We took 3 rooms as family for 3 nights. The Park Hyatt is conveniently located on a quiet side street, but also walking distance from Georgetown. From the very beginning, we received great service at check-in and were not nickel-and-dimed for small requests. We received new complimentary bottles of water each day and any items that we forgot were already in the room. Additionally, there were fresh apples and pistachios in the hotel restaurant (Blue Duck Tavern) that the staff kindly allowed us to help ourselves to when available.

The rooms are very modern looking, comfortable, and spacious. The bath/shower glass door is covered halfway. This isn't really an inconvenience, but cold air does seep in until the shower warms up the whole bathroom. The beds are super comfortable, although there are no single sheets. We learned after the first night that we needed to keep the room temperature at the absolute minimum of 65 degrees to be comfortable during out July stay.

Truly the best asset of the hotel besides the service is the restaurant, which is phenomenal. Usually, you can find better restaurants in most big cities away from the hotel. But, this is a rare exception. Breakfasts and dinners at the Blue Duck Tavern are phenomenal!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to make requests to the hotel staff, they are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mdlnyc,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Park Hyatt Washington during your first visit back to DC. It sounds like you and your family had an enjoyable trip and are now big fans of our hotel and Blue Duck Tavern restaurant. We appreciate you taking the time to share such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Whenever I go to DC, I try to stay here...I simply love this hotel which actually makes me feel like wanting to stay in my room (hotel rooms tend to depress me). I like the decor, the size of the room and bed, the toiletries, etc. A highpoint of one of my stays was when I was selected as "guest of the day" by the check-in staff with a free wish - I asked for a packed lunch for my son who was staying with me and at camp while I was working. They provided the most generous backpack full of goodies - amazing! Treated us like royalty, staff is excellent! Food is excellent too although a bit pricey - in particular at the bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear 72Travelbug,

Thank you for sharing such a complimentary review of our property. I am very happy to read how much you enjoyed your visit with us in the nation's capital. We hope to welcome you back again!

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at the Park Hyatt Washington over a weekend and was left unsatisfied. First off the room I stayed in was on the 3rd floor (the lowest floor with rooms) at the back of the hotel. The view of the gravel covered roof left me feeling like I was in a basement. The ice bucket with melted water at the bottom leftover from the previous guest did not improve my initial impression. The staff’s response to my comments was uniformly exasperated, with at least two eye rolls that I caught.

I also had several issues trying to book a spa appointment for my wife and myself. When I called the night prior to our stay I was told that only one person was on duty at the spa so our appointments would have to be consecutive and not simultaneous. When I called back 15 minutes later I was told that we could actually book simultaneous appointments and that the hotel would email me the details. The next morning I received an email that no spa appointments are available. When I checked into the hotel that afternoon the front desk told me that they had just booked the last appointment, so obviously appointments had been available in the morning. I lost track of how many different answers that we were given.

Pros: The lounge staff was helpful and accommodating and almost made up for the poor service from the front desk and room staff. Also, the location is fantastic, less than a five minute walk from Georgetown.

Overall, was a poor experience and definitely will not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This may be one of the best experiences you can have for a hotel. The service is extraordinary. The staff will call you by name after the first meeting. The hotel is sleek and modern. The Blue Duck is fantastic.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very good room condition
and near the hot spot(george town)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Shin_yk79,

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant visit and enjoyed the location of our property. Should your travels bring you back to the nation's capital, we hope to welcome you again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The Park Hyatt is a total home run. From the little things (like Le Labo products) to obvious (clean, open architecture), easily one of my personal favorites. Heck, this is my favorite Park Hyatt in the US (sorry Chicago!)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Al_Dominick,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us! Your comments are most valued and have already been shared with our team. Everyone was extremely excited to hear that we are your favorite Park Hyatt property in the U.S. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.