We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Perfection!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Washington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Walk from the Park
Ranked #9 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Macon, GA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Perfection!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Park Hyatt in Washington, D.C. is a beautiful, warm and welcoming oasis of calm in an other bustling location in the heart of the city. Everything is perfection - from the moment you walk in the front door! The staff is superb and professional, but never austere or aloof. The decor is gorgeous, but still beckons you to touch and explore. The rooms are inviting and relaxing, the beds are comfortable and luxurious, and the bathrooms are spa-like, soothing and simply amazing! The hallways were always clean and quiet, we always had ice in our bucket every evening upon our return, and the glassware in our room was stunning. Located close to shops and restaurants - one of the best restaurants in D.C. is right in the hotel - "Blue Duck Tavern", and "The Tea Cellar" is an experience not to be missed, either. There is a Starbucks nearby, and a lovely breakfast place around the corner named "Bread & Chocolate." Located only a short walk from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop - you can be anywhere in "the district" you desire in a matter of minutes. We will be traveling to D.C. quite a bit in the coming years - and we have found our new "home away from home"...and it's called Park Hyatt Washington - no place will do!

Room Tip: We opted for an updrade to the Premier Park Deluxe on a higher floor with a city view. It was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Keeko5601,

Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review of our hotel. Your comments are truly valued. I am excited to pass along your feedback to the rest of our team. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when visiting the nation's capital. We enjoy having you as a new ambassador of our property. We will see you again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    568
    151
    39
    24
    10
See reviews for
171
238
67
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Hyatt. I have stayed at a number of Hyatt's in the states as well as a few overseas and one thing that stands out are the comfort of the beds and the quality of service. Within the Hyatt family, Park Hyatt's stand alone in their level of service and attention to details. The Park Hyatt in DC is no exception.

The hotel is beautiful with a wonderful tea room, excellent restaurant (Blue Duck Tavern) and hip Bar & Lounge. The rooms are well apportioned. I stayed in the standard room with a queen bed. However, "standard" can't really be applied to a Park Hyatt. There was a sitting area/living room, comfortable for three or four people. The shower was great....two heads - one was a "rainforest" style, the other was against the wall but the head was removable. There was a bath as well that could fit a cozy couple. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud.

A quick note as to the level of service: I called downstairs asking where I could get some ice. Room Service told me they would be right up. I don't think I waited more than five minutes. When the employee arrived, he waited as I took his bucket to dump into the ice cooler which sat in the living room. When I opened up the ice cooler, there was already ice in there....not even yet beginning to melt. It simply never dawned on me to check the cooler because I knew there would be no ice in there. The fact that the hotel staff put in the before I even first opened the door to my room was quite astounding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Bryce C,

Thank your taking the time to share such a complimentary review of our property. It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your visit with us. I wish I could have that same rain shower at home :) I will be certain to let our team know how much they exceeded your expectations. Thank you for being a loyal Hyatt fan. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I love this place. I know it's expensive and I know it's not in the most convenient location but:

- the rooms are light and airy
- the furniture and decor are modern
- the staff are fantastic - from the minute you step out of the cab to the turn down service
- the beds are comfortable
- It's quiet

I have never eaten here but a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear David J,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your visit. We love being your favorite hotel in D.C. Please come back and see us again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at Park Hyatt Washington for a week-end in April and we loved it. The hotel is just marvellous. The rooms are spacious and filled with luxury. Free bottled water, comfortable beds, a delightful bathroom with nice amenties. And the customer service is excellent.
A short walk to wonderful Georgetown. And we also had a nice walk to Lincoln Memorial.
A very nice breakfast. We had a good lunch and a table reserved for dinner. This dinner was skipped, unfortunately the restaurant is too noisy for our taste.
Still we hope to come back and will reccomend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Bisibi,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Washington, D.C.! It sounds like you had a very enjoyable visit and were impressed with our accommodations and breakfast and lunch at Blue Duck Tavern. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a weekend getaway for our anniversary. Our overall thoughts are that it was a lovely, romantic hotel with a somewhat inconvenient location to the major tourist attractions.

HYATT REWARDS:

Because I am a Hyatt Diamond member the hotel automatically: upgraded us to the presidential suite, and provided us with $35 per person per day breakfast credits (to be used via room service or in the hotel restaurant).

ROOM:

Our room, the executive suite, was amazing. Beautiful, spacious, private. All you could ask for. They even had a yoga mat and yoga dvds for a relaxing morning!

FOOD and BEVERAGE:

The hotel bar was very nice and service was excellent, however you should expect to pay top prices for drinks (a round of drinks was $35).

Room service was very good for breakfast, and we ate at the hotel's Blue Duck Tavern on our last night; it was great.

LOCATION:

The location is not central to tourist attractions, but is in a lovely quiet neighborhood close to a number of restaurants. Cab rides to most anywhere in the city range from $10-$15. You can walk to the Lincoln Memorial, but it's about a mile and a half.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything at the Park Hyatt Washington is done to absolute perfection. From the moment we arrived, we stepped into absolute luxury. The room, in our case a suite, was spacious and filled with understated elegance, from the wood floors and artifacts throughout to the simplicity of the dining area.

The service is always stunning at any of the Park Hyatt's, and the Washington location is no exception. Never over-the-top; always sheer perfection. And dinner at the Blue Duck Tavern (which will be another review) was among the best meals we have ever had.

Do not hesitate to visit the Park Hyatt Washington. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff at the Park Hyatt are unfailingly gracious and helpful, the rooms are meticulous and well appointed, the housekeeping staff are attentive and responsive, and any tiny mistake is immediately corrected. This is my favorite hotel in DC. It is pricey but worth it if you can swing it. A little bit off the beaten path if you insist on metro-ing it, but close to Georgetown and DuPont Circle. Excellent service and nice food and wine menu at the bar; I did not eat at the restaurant but ate both singly and with a large group at the bar. Service attentive and knowledgeable. When I dined alone at the bar, the hot brought me a newspaper and tiny reading light - so very accommodating! The Park Hyatt is my "best destination" in DC.

Room Tip: Consider an upgrade to the room with sitting area - the bathrooms are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ctanne20,

Thank you for your recent review and for making us your "best destination" in D.C.! We love being your hotel of choice when visiting the nation's capital. I have already shared your feedback with our team. It is so nice to read how enjoyable they helped make your stay. Please come see us again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.