We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Washington to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Washington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nothing but exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Park Hyatt was nothing but exceptional. We had our wedding reception there and everyone from the door men, concierge, entire hotel staff were so acomodating and professional. Michael Deltette, Director of Catering, help make our dream wedding come true. We highly recommend it and can't wait to go back

Room Tip: must eat at the Blue Duck Tavern
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear courteney w,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! As a newlywed myself, I definitely know the importance of making your special day memorable. Michael is the best in the business and really makes our bride and groom feel like a king and queen. I'll be sure to pass along your comments to Michael and the rest of our team. Please come see us again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    171
    44
    32
    12
See reviews for
216
290
71
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for business and leisure. The hotel is in a great location and the staff is really on their game. Blue Duck restaurant is terrific. The rooms are understated but extremely comfortable and quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Nadhub,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and the service you received from our staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently returned from a last minute trip to D.C. over Easter break, and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The Park Hyatt is located right on the edge of Georgetown. We found everything to be great - the corner room we had was beautiful, and innovative in its design and layout. Everyone we dealt with on the staff was very friendly, helpful, and competent, especially Shane and Amy at the concierge desk. Although priced on the high side, the restaurant in the hotel, The Blue Duck Tavern, was excellent. We had lunch and breakfast there during our visit and the service and food were exceptional. The hotel also has 2 unique food & beverage features – a tea menu featuring dozens of teas from around the world, and a large cheese board in the lounge area. Lisa, the hotel’s cheese specialist, was wonderful – after some tastings, she prepared a small cheese tray for us to enjoy. Everything was delicious, and her knowledge and enthusiasm were remarkable. Also, Suree,, our server in the lounge, was also very helpful in assisting us with our tea selections. The only glitch during our entire stay was the lack of any organized seating system in the lounge area. It’s pretty much a free-for-all, and, although the policy is that tables cannot be reserved, the lounge manager did allow some people to reserve tables; We were seated right next to a serving station, despite his assurances that we would have a window table. But, overall, this is a great hotel in a great neighborhood, and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Jfed,

Thank you for your valued feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in our Lounge. We do offer open seating in the Lounge with our glass booths available to reserve. This should have been better communicated to you and for that I am sorry.

Overall, it does appear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us. Our cheese specialist Lisa is so passionate about each of the cheeses we offer. She is a wonderful addition to our team.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

PROS:
Sleek and modern design, but not cold
Comfortable bed and pillows
Very clean
Luxe toiletries
Friendly and accommodating service
Excellent in-hotel restaurant
Great location
Metro station just two-three blocks away
Walkable restaurants/bars

CONS:
None

Stayed for a long weekend. Upon check-in, we were upgraded to a suite, which ended up being a very comfortable room with plenty of space. Felt homey, yet special. Would recommend for both a romantic weekend or business travel. Breakfast in the Blue Duck Tavern was included with our room, so we ate there for two mornings. Great food, but pricey -- however, there were many restaurants in walking distance as well as neighborhood spots. TIP: the hotel has valet parking, but for extended stays, it seemed really expensive. Instead, we parked at the Westin's garage next door for half the price.

Room Tip: Corner suite was spacious and quiet in the hall. Seems like there are weddings here, so to avoid noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear nycjaunter,

Thank you for your valued feedback. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our management team for review. It is a pleasure to read about your "perfect stay" and how much you enjoyed your suite upgrade and breakfast at Blue Duck Tavern. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Washington again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Park Hyatt is located at the quiet end of 24th street across from the Fairmont. Accessing the hotel from Reagan airport is a $17 cab ride or a short walk from the Foggy Bottom Metro station. The hotel lobby is understated, modern and trendy. If you are looking for a grand lobby or large common areas this is not the place for you. I was offered an upgraded room with a living area that was separated from the bedroom by a half wall partition. The rooms are tastefully decorated with higher end finishes. The bathroom was massive by DC standards. The walk in shower was finished in stone and had multiple shower heads. The bathroom linens were oversized and very plush. The stone showed some signs of wear but was not quite ready to be replaced. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable and the in room sound system was a nice touch. The furnishings in the living area made me feel like I was at home. The chairs were quite comfortable and offered a great place to curl up with a book. Breakfast was pricey and good but not memorable. The doorman was always quick to get the door, hail cab or offer directions. I have stayed here before and will likely stay again.

This property compares favorably with the Ritz Carlton in Georgetown. For laid back luxury the Park Hyatt is hard to beat

As another reviewer noted, room service seemed to be slow in bussing finished trays from the hall way. I expect to see trays when I leave for an early morning meeting but should not be stepping over them when I return around noon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had the chance to stay at the Park Hyatt DC for a weekend and was kindly upgraded to an executive suite. It was very spacious, nicely appointed, and extremely comfortable. The main bath itself was amazing, serving as a relaxing escape after a long day of touring around the city.

The food at the hotel is quite good, especially dinner at the Blue Duck Tavern. The gym and pool area as mentioned in other reviews are decent. We did have the opportunity to use their spa services, and although it may not be as expansive as other dedicated spas, the single spa room itself was private and relaxing, and overall they offered similar services to any other spa.

Finally, their service was excellent. They were professional, very attentive to details, and rather accommodating as no request was unmet. We had a wonderful time and would definitely look to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose any room in the premier category or higher as they have lots of space and a great bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Park Hyatt in DC over a spring weekend and liked it very much. We had a corner room (or small suite given that it had a separate sitting area). The room was well-done, clean and quiet with a very nice bathroom. The restaurant is well-known. We had a drink there as well as breakfast. It is a very nice place to sit and watch the world go by. The location of the hotel is excellent if you want a quiet, safe neighborhood on the edge of Georgetown and Foggy Bottom and not far from Dupont Circle. Only problem we had was a faulty toilet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear DK1960,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. It sounds like you and your wife had a wonderful visit with us and enjoyed your trip to Washington! We appreciate you also choosing to have breakfast with us at Blue Duck Tavern! We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.