We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service, better than Four Seasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Washington to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Washington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Top notch service, better than Four Seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I've been here a dozen times. It's my first choice hotel in the DC area. Clean rooms, excellent restaurant, superb service, attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Doc T,

Thank you for making Park Hyatt Washington your first choice in the nation's capital! We appreciate your patronage and enjoy your recommendations to others. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    191
    49
    35
    13
See reviews for
243
327
80
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Checked into the Ambassador suite with the wife a few days ago. But well before then we had liased with the Chief Concierge, Shane regarding some basketball tickets and other things we wanted to see and do whilst in DC. - It was then we realized that this hotel was going to be good as Shane made it his personal mission to ensure everything was fastidiously arranged for us just the way we wanted including 2 courtside seats centre court for the Nicks v Wizards game at the right price, not the not looking after you very well price.

On check in we were whisked straight to our suite where some nice Red wine and fine cheese greeted us after a long flight. Check in was in the suite and easy.

The suite was lovely and the accommodation suites those who prefer modern or contemporary lodgings. A great rain forest shower with pads that massage your feet was a nice feature.
There are two large screen TV's in the suite and it has a study as well.
The Spa only has one treatment room, but we had a massage in our suite together instead so this is no big deal.
The front of house culture in this hotel is fantastic. Very proffessional crew who know the meaning of five star service. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor as the noise from the street is noticeable in this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear RelaxWithMax,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Washington. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and how accommodating our employees were to you and your wife. Sounds like a great trip to DC! We hope to see you both again soon.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed here on business recently and was very pleased with my stay.

When staying at a hotel, I look for cleanliness and service and this place has both. The rooms were clean, bed was incredibly comfortable and the service was outstanding. The convenient location is a bonus. I would definetely go back.

Try it! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room away from elevators is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Dina M,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Washington. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful experience. We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Park Hyatt in Washington D.C. is five star in every way!!! From the time, we entered the doors of the hotel, we were truly "cared for". Check in was quick and handled in the most professional of manners. The rooms are very special. The attention to detail and the decor were perfect. I am a person that judges a hotel by the bathroom amenities and this hotel "had it all". The soaps, the towels, the robes, the linens were all first rate. While the hotel was extremely busy, it did not feel that way once I entered the doors. I asked a staff member where the bathroom was in the lobby and they proceeded to escort me right to the door. Me and my husband felt that the staff was dedicated to making sure that our stay was nothing less than perfect. The staff even made an effort to learn our names and addressed us by such whenever we walked by. I am very fond of the location of this hotel. We walked to Georgetown and we were 10 minutes by cab to the major sightseeing attractions on the mall. This part of downtown is very upscale and being the foodies that we are, it was nice to have many restaurant experiences near the hotel. This is truly the place to stay in D.C. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: This was our second stay at this hotel and we were in a different location in the hotel but both are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear nurse0722,

Thank you for posting about your "amazing stay" at Park Hyatt Washington. We truly enjoy reading all of your comments and have already shared them with our team. Your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Overall this was a nice hotel.

Pros -

1. Good Location, close to Georgetown and the centre of DC. Both about a 15-20 min walk.
2. Service of staff, they could not do enough for you.
3. Blue Duck Tavern, we ate here and it was fantastic!! A must do, but book ahead.

Cons -

1. The rooms are Noisy!!!!! We heard everything in the room next door! The connecting doors are sooooo bloody thin! We had 2 guys talking really loud on the phone and could hear everything.
Apron checking out I said about the noise and the front desk guy said oh was that thru the connecting doors!
For a 5 star hotel you expect a bit more than this...
2. The rooms were a ok size but had a really terrible outlook into a back ally. I can see why they had the blinds closed when we walked in.
3. No free Wi-Fi. Seriously in this day and age why should you have to pay $10.95 for wifi per day!

So for a 5 star hotel I would probably not stay here again. It is a shame because I have stayed at other Hyatts before and been really h

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Morry1234,

Thank you for your feedback. While we're glad to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, I'm very concerned to read about your overall experience. We'd be happy to address your concerns further. If you don't mind, please send me your contact information at Renee.Sharrow@hyatt.com. I'd like to make sure that your next stay is a more pleasant one.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Park Hyatt Washington is a beautifully maintained property, however it was the exceptional staff that made our stay a 5-star experience. Absolutely every Park Hyatt employee was personable, professional, and accomodating. This was a get-away weekend for my husband and me. The Park Hyatt was a quieter location than directly downtown but still within walking distance to the National Geographic Museum and only a ten minute drive to an embassy series concert. Dinner at the Blue Duck Tavern was a bonus. Sitting by the kitchen may not be for everyone (you have other options) but we loved it! We will make a point to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Keyboardmusician,

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback about both our property and our staff. I am pleased to read such delightful comments and have already shared them with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Washington again soon.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Perfect hotel for business trip in Washington DC: Very convenient location, great rooms, with nice decoration.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear ACandEdM,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at Park Hyatt Washington. We are happy to read how much you enjoyed your visit. We value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.