We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok..just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Ok..just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We travelled to DC for the wedding of friends and stayed three days two nights. The hotel was nice, having held many inaugral balls it has an impressive sprawling lobby. What was not impressive was the fact that it took the front desk person 25 minutes to check in the person in front of us (mind you it was 5:30pm in the afternoon, there wasn't a line or anything). It then took him 20 minutes to check us in. He constantly kept fidgeting, and walking back to the back office. It was one of the longest check-in processes I have ever experienced.
The room we then got was sub par. It did have a balcony so that was nice but the hotel itself needs to be updated as the rooms were musty and smelled. I called down for towels on our second day and had to call down an hour later to remind them, the person on the other end of the line said "We are really busy I am not sure I will be able to bring them up for you". When I asked if I could come retrieve them myself as we were heading to a wedding and needed to get dress she said no. When I asked if she could estimate a wait time she said "maybe I can send them up in the next few hours". Someone finally showed up 30 minutes later with towels.
Now that we have checked out we have 3 charges from the hotel on our credit card which have not been explained for purchases we didn't make. It took us being on hold with the front desk for 21 minutes from home for them to tell us that the accounting department will call us tomorrow to clarify.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,868
    1,052
    294
    133
    69
See reviews for
868
716
160
1,267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I loved this hotel sooo much! My hubby and I decided at the last minute to drive out to DC from NYC to see the Cherry Blossoms. I searched for hotels from my cell phone in the car on my drive down. I was very surprised and impressed by how easy it was to use trip advisor on the road from my cell (Bravo Trip Advisor!!).

Anyway, the Omni Shoreham was rated well and recommended as a top value. This is dead on. The hotel is huge and soo beautiful. They keep everything pristinely clean. It has a very classic feel to it...like one of the grand hotels in Las Vegas (Bellagio, Ceasars, etc.). The have the most beautiful outdoor grounds and garden. Perfect for a wedding. The room was not huge but not small either. I read in other reviews that the bathroom is small which is not true at all. The bathroom was a good size for us (2 adults, 4 y/o, 6 month old). The night guy that I spoke to was a bit clueless. Maybe it was his first night. But everyone else was soo nice and helpful.

We had the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning which was great as well. It was complementary for us though. If we had to pay, I would probably want more options though. It was mostly eggs, waffles, bacon, oatmeal, fruit, etc.

The neighborhood was nice as well. On Sunday there were a lot of families, yuppies, college students, etc. walking around. Tons of restaurants and shopping pretty close as well.

We only stayed one night but will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
We always feel that a return stay is the best compliment we can receive so we are glad to hear you plan on returning! We feel fortunate that TripAdvisor brought you to us for a last minute getaway and thank you for your wonderful review that will hopefully convince other travelers to check out our great property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Stayed at the Omni over Easter Weekend. Room was large and comfortable with 2 queen bed suite. Staff was pleasant. Desk Staff was great and remembered me by name the next day. Metro is just a block away and Red Sightseeing Trolley stop is also just a block away and you can buy tickets at the hotel. Had the Easter Brunch which was very good and the hotel gardens are lovely. Neighborhood is great to walk in and has several little eateries. This is my new favorite hotel in DC as it is close enough to tourist attractions but far enough away for rest and relaxation after a day at the museaums. Can take the metro or cab as cabfare reasonable as in the same zone as the Mall locations.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Thank you for choosing to spend your Easter Weekend at The Omni Shoreham Hotel. It is wonderful to know that your great experience has won us your vote for your favorite DC hotel. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

This was our second stay at this hotel and by far the best. Our previous experience was not very good but this time the staff were very friendly, the room was lovely and the gardens and pool area were excellent. It is in a good location near the subway and the zoo. We would definitely stay here again. My only small complaint is that the double beds are quite small and the coffee shop is expensive. If you are staying here do go to "Open City" restaurant for excellent food, the is opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I am a member of the big "M" loyalty program and almost made the mistake of overlooking The Omni Shoreham in order to chase "points". This historic property has been remodeled in an excellent manner. My children were overwhelmed by the beautiful lobby. Of course, you do not stay in a facility for the lobby but the hangings of famous guests gave my kids a sense of history. Did you know that President Clinton performed his famous sax solo here?The rooms are spacious and up to date. New carpeting throughout and the Omni's version of the "Heavenly Bed". The zoo package is an incredible bargain in a city where lodging, meals and parking are steep. The Omni features a great breakfast buffet that features an omelet station and freshly prepared items. The complimentary morning beverage service is great. You can either have it delivered within your room or a knock on the door will let you know that it just outside of your door. The Metro station is located within a few hundred yards of the main entrance and the zoo is a short walk away. The nearby restaurants offer a good variety of menus and prices. Most importantly, this is an area in which you will feel safe walking with your children. The staff are exactly what you would expect from a fine hotel- courteous and eager to make your stay an enjoyable one. Bottom line - given a preference, I will stay at an Omni property in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
We are delighted to read that you and your family had such a wonderful stay at The Omni Shoreham Hotel. We can't thank you enough for your generous review and we are glad to hear that Omni will now be among your preferred hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We planned a last minute trip to DC to visit colleges and see the Cherry Blossoms. The Omni was a terrific place to stay with our two teenagers for both purposes. We were able to get a great rate using the linger longer discount on their website (buy two nights get one free). Made this a much more affordable option especially during the peak season. The service from the time I booked the room until check out was first rate. Everyone was friendly and so helpful. The hotel was clean, our room was large , and the bathroom was pretty. Some reviewers mentioned the bathroom was small. It wasn't huge but it was remodeled and had a shelf above the toilet and under the pedestal vanity for toiletries. Also our kids showered at night to speed up the morning process as it is tight with two in the bathroom.

The location is amazing (we did not want to be in the heart of downtown) with the metro a block away. Leave your car parked since everything is easier to get to on the metro unless it happens to be a quiet time in DC.

There are ample choices of restaurants near the hotel for breakfast etc and there is a CVS, deli/market , within walking distance. We went to Open City for dinner (had to wait a bit but it was a lovely time to walk around) and the Thai restaurant on Connecticut was a deal.
Sign up for the preferred guest program (which is free) to get free wi-fi and complementary beverage service.
There were refrigerators in the room which enabled us to store water etc.
The linens and bedding were luxurious. My only complaints would be the bed was a bit soft for my taste and same for the pillows. Wish we weren't in the wing with the rude Guests that kept slamming doors at 6am.
Only other warning is that the elevators take forever to come and are often full by the time they stop on your floor. We took the stairs a few times.

All in all first rate and we will go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Thank you for your review of The Omni Shoreham Hotel. It is always a pleasure for us to read about the great stays that our guests have had with us. We are delighted that you and your teenagers found The Omni Shoreham to be a great place to access both the Cherry Blossoms and local universities and we will hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

The Omni Shoreham is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in. We were there the first week in April, and the gorgeous grounds were absolutely on fire with the thousands of tulips and cherry trees in full bloom. The weather was amazing, and the children enjoyed evenings in the heated pool while we lounged in the beautiful setting.

However, there was a little bit of a problem. From the first evening we were there until the day before we checked out, the smell of garbage was pervasive throughout the entire lobby area and back lawn. It reached its peak on Tuesday (garbage day?) and the guests staying in the room next to ours were actually made ill from the odor.

We will stay there again - but I would be more likely next time to complain instead of enduring the smell of rotting garbage for 4 days.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
We are disappointed to read that an otherwise wonderful stay was tainted by a foul odor in the hotel. This is certainly not an ordinary occurrence at our property, in fact in most cases our 11 acres of gardens and location on Rock Creek Park make us one of the most refreshing areas in the city! Please accept our apologies and if you return please do not hesitate to immediately know of any issues that your experience so that we can take an almost perfect experience and turn it into a perfect one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.