We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel with Multiple Personalities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #27 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel with Multiple Personalities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We arrived VERY late on a Thursday night so I was not surprised that the room we got was not what we had requested. It was on the first floor with a view of gravel and lots of street noise as well as quite a party going on two doors down. What I found unique was that the whole floor smelled of cigarettes (we were in the East wing). Our room had ashtrays and matches readily available and our nice fluffy pillows smelled like smoke. Okay, next day we switched rooms and got a great room with great view of Rock Creek Park and no signs of smoking - West wing. The lobby is beautiful and huge. The elevators tiny and looked like they hadn't been upgraded since the 50's. Our room - er, the second one - was quite nice and comfortable, the shower was great. We even had a balcony - but that hadn't been touched since the 50's. Oh well. This is a hotel where you can have a good experience or a not so good experience. So it is important to stand up for yourself and make a change if things aren't quite right. Loved Open City Restaurant nearby for bfast.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies that initially your room requests were not met. We are happy to hear that everything was straightened out on the 2nd day. Much to your point, we always encourage our guests to let us know if something hasn't met their expectations during their stay so that we have the opportunity to make corrections. We want each of our guests to have a wonderful stay with us and will make all efforts to achieve this goal. Many thanks for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,253
    1,249
    376
    166
    80
See reviews for
1,017
812
179
1,648
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Hotel was beautiful! Very friendly staff, clean, large rooms, comfortable beds. Great outdoor pool that our teenage daughters loved. Ordered breakfast from room service twice and they are very prompt, great breakfast, etc. Nice workout area as well. Restaurants nearby, easy to find off of the highway, very close to the Metro stop for traveling to the DC/downtown area as well. You definitely get the service & the quality here that you pay for and expect from Omni. Only complaint was the daily cost of parking!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
We are glad that your family had such a wonderful stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I loved this Hotel, it's very famous, been in several movies and wasn't too hard on the wallet

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thanks for your compliment of the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

4* Hotel however could easily be a 5* in my opinion! Really nice lobby area, good sized rooms, great grounds & pool area. Good Location - 10 minute walk to a free National Zoological Park & 30 mins walk to the White House. Stayed here for 2 days while travelling America & would definatly go back again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
We do our best to provide 5 star services in every way that we can. Since our customers are our most important critics your 5th star is definitely an honor for us to receive. We appreciate all of your complimentary feedback and hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinknpretttty
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

I traveled here with my parents, grandparents and brother. GORGEOUS hotel... this is the most elegant hotel I have ever staye din. My mouth dropped open when we got into the lobby. The room was also absolutely huge (stayed in a room with 2 double beds), furnishings were lovely, bathroom new and modern. The pool in the back is also gorgeous and I enjoyed reading and splashing out there. The hotel is located right near the subway, which is very convenient, and there are many restaurants just blocks from the hotel. If i were to stay in Washington, DC again, this hotel would be my first pick

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
It is a pleasure for us to know that you and your family had such a great stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are very appreciative of your review and are delighted to know that we are your preferred DC hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Stayed three days/two nights for a conference. The neighborhood is residential and a nice change from all the office buildings surrounding some other D.C. hotels. It is a very short walk to a few shops, a variety of restaurants and the Metro Red Line. Clearly, great effort has gone into renovating the hotel's old rooms and training personnel. The staff was uniformly excellent -- professional, welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The public areas are elegant and inviting. My room seemed recently renovated with nice furnishings and fixtures. The bed was very comfortable. (The front desk needs to alert guests to the location of the coffee machine and refrigerator which are well hidden.) However, the hotel is vintage, which has its downside. I noticed decades of paint on the doors and trim which kept my closet door from closing completely. The water pressure in the shower was barely adequate. Cell phone service was poor in and around meeting rooms. The wifi in my room was so weak it was not usable. (Internet in the cafe and business center costs $9.95/15 minutes, which is beyond my budget.) The ceiling of my room had noticable water damage. Like a visit to a wealthy grandma's house, after a few days, it's time to return from the land of indulgent, elegant nostalgia and get on with business, and this may not be the easiest hotel to do that. However,the overall experience makes you feel well-cared for. I would return for another short visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
We appreciate all of your comments from your recent stay at the Omni Shoreham. It is always nice to hear feedback from our guests on the many things we do right but also regarding our opportunities for improvement. Due to the historic nature of our building it is more difficult to transmit wireless signals to certain areas of the hotel but we are always making adjustments to our network to provide strong signals throughout the entire property. We hope that when you return you will find that your beloved, wealthy grandma has also become high tech enough to also accommodate your business needs. Thank you again for your review and we will look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed at the Omni Shoreham over my friend's wedding weekend in DC and we loved it! By personal error, it was a bit far from where we needed to be but that was our fault. The metro is really close by, as is the zoo and the Open City Diner opposite is excellent for breakfast or lunch! The rooms were big and tastefully decorated and I thought it was excellent value for money!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. A return visit is one of the best compliments we could receive so we are happy to hear that you would stay with us again. Thank you for your review and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,976 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.