We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Farmington, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Wonderful hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Omni Shoreham is a great hotel with an awesome staff. The staff really make the difference at this hotel. Everybody is friendly and eager to make your stay exceptional. The hotel is beautiful with a nice garden area, outside pool and fitness center. Great value for your money!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Tanya H,

I'm fortunate to have wonderful coworkers and I'm delighted to see this reflected in your stay. Thank you for sharing all of your kind words and I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Tila Davis
Loyalty Manager
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,768
    1,004
    277
    125
    67
See reviews for
838
693
154
1,167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

When I arrived in the afternoon the lobby was quite busy and the front desk staff where trying their best to check guests in and out
A few more staff on the front desk would have helped , this a big and historic hotel with palatial decor and grand ballrooms catering for large tour groups convention attendees etc
When I eventually got to my room it was spacious and well equipped
Hotel is well located with the zoo nearby and good transport connections
Room was clean and quiet
Staff professional and courteous
But it's a big impersonal hotel despite its grand history
W

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear tcasLondon,

I'm appreciative of the opportunity to read your review and apologize that your check in was not more expeditious. We do our best to plan for guest arrivals and regret that in your case we did not live up to your expectations. I do appreciate all of your positive feedback that you shared, as well, and hope that we will have a future opportunity to give you the warm and efficient welcome that all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,

Tila Davis
Loyalty Manager
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great place to stay, beautiful hotel. The staff is so friendly and great amenities at the hotel. The kids loved the heated indoor pool. It's is a family friendly hotel with great room service which helps when traveling with children. Also, they have a great rate per night compared to the other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our suite was absolutely beautiful. It wasn't obvious from the website, but we had separate rooms w/ doors closing between them, so that we had a bedroom, a separate bathroom, living room, and, in our case, even a beautiful balcony overlooking the garden (though spoiled by the noise of AC units on the building) and a little separate dining room as well. For us, travelling with small children, having a little separation from the kids at bed time is essential, and this room provided that. The kids also noticed it was much nicer than our house :) The staff was incredible: every person we interacted with was friendly and brightened my day, from the reception to the concierge to the bell hops, valet service, and even the maids. I've never been in a hotel where the service was so reliably friendly. The location was excellent w/ the park nearby for walking or running and the zoo and restaurants within easy walking distance. Hopping on the metro to visit the Mall and D.C. attractions was also a snap. We didn't actually get down to the fitness center or pool because we were busy enough w/ our vacation, but I'm sure it would have been nice if we'd had worse weather. We did order roomservice once, which of course was ridiculously expensive. It was, however, fun to dine in. That said, no one ever came to pick up the food after we called for pickup, which seemed like an odd oversight given otherwise stellar service. The other blemish on a perfect stay was the internet connection, which was terrible. They advertised 3Mbps service for free, but in fact we got less than 1Mbps, slow enough that even simple tasks like looking up directions were maddeningly difficult (I took to putting in a google search, then using the bathroom or getting water, then coming back to see the results). They advertised faster service for a fee, but it wasn't worth it, and I wasn't sufficiently impressed w/ the free service so as to believe the "fast" service would have been usable. A final note: we got a good price by playing around w/ the dates within our vacation week. Strangely, moving our stay by a single day made a difference of hundreds of dollars -- so do play w/ dates if you have any flexibility.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the Omni Shoreham for 3 nights in March this year, lovely hotel with a lot of history.
The rooms were very large and whilst a little dated they were very clean with comfortable beds and fluffy towels. Tea & coffee making facilities were provided in the rooms but the hotel does have a starbucks' shop downstairs in the lobby. Would recommend going for the buffet breakfast plenty of choice and waffles or pancakes cooked freshly for you while you wait. The hop on and off Trolley Bus service has a stop just across the road to the hotel and you can purchase tickets in the lobby from the concierge service. The metro is a few hundred yards walk away so also very convenient for the hotel, plenty of bars and restaurants in the surrounding area, and a pharmacy. We would definitely stay here again when in Washington, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: When checking in ask for the select guest offer, this gives you a free hot drink delivered to your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dardanelle, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Omni Shoreham hotel hosted a conference I attended in April 2014 and it was a great location. The hotel room was clean and very spacious and the hotel had a nice atmosphere. The service was great and I would visit the hotel for business or pleasure again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Check in was quick and pleasant. Signed up for their program and they matched me well to the room preferences I indicated in my profile.

The hotel has great history. The
original design felt like I was in the set of the Shining, but in a good way, not spooky. It is clear that there have been renovations inside the property. Room was clean and the bathroom was well appointed. My favorite part of this property would have to be the outdoors. The pool and hot tub are open until 10pm. Gardens are wedding photo quality. Hammocks under the trees were always occupied but would have enjoyed them otherwise.

I wasn't sure I would like the location at first, but it turned out to be very convenient. As others have pointed out, it's across the street to the train station and several places to eat/drink. Many places have happy hour and brunch specials. Adams Morgan is about 10 minutes walk with more options to eat/drink/shop. The zoo was an enjoyable ten minute walk also.

I would definitely book again, especially in the summer months.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.