We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Omni delivers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This Omni delivers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I recently spent three nights at the Omni Shoreham while attending a large conference. I booked here since participants received a decent convention rate but did so with some trepidation, as a prior experience with an Omni in NYC was disastrous. However, this property was a truly pleasant surprise. My room was unexpectedly large and included a mini-fridge (in lieu of minibar) and all the usual amenities (ironing board and iron, hair dryer, bath toiletries); there was also a cozy bathrobe. Because my room was the very last one on the corridor I had a long walk to the elevator but the remote location meant I experienced virtually no noise from elevators, ice machines, or other guests. The hotel was attentive to special requests: they honored my preference for a traditional pillow top mattress instead of a Sleep Number bed. Excellent lighting in the bedroom (all fixtures had three-way bulbs) as well as in the bathroom. Kudos to Omni for the bathroom design, in fact. While on the compact side, it was well thought out. There was a rain shower head with excellent water pressure, neutral colored marble walls and floor, a dark granite sink mounted on a surprisingly tall wooden pedestal (terrific for tall guests like me), bright lights over the mirror, and--surprise!--a window. Towels were plentiful and the bath towels were super-sized compared to most hotels I've stayed at recently. Lots of hangers in the closet, which also housed an in-room safe. My room was spotless and the furniture was in generally very good condition, without too much wear and tear. The lobby boasts formal decor (huge chandeliers, etc.) and there's a gift shop, a small takeout snackbar/Starbucks, and a high-end jewelry store. I didn't patronize the on-site restaurants since there are plentiful options for dining within a two or three block radius of the hotel, which is also close to a Metro station and a 20-min. walk from Dupont Circle. (Check out the diner across the street, Open City, for great breakfast and lunch options; for terrific Indian fare try Rajaji just up the street on Connecticut Ave.). Not least of all, the hotel is close to Reagan-Washington National airport and there are reasonably priced shuttle options to get you there and back. All in all, despite the hectic conference swirling around me I enjoyed a restful and comfortable stay in very attractive surroundings. I would definitely stay here again, either for business or leisure travel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms at the end of the corridor are large and have windowed bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

A beautiful and historically grand hotel that manages to make you feel like a special guest. The rooms are large and the beds are super comfortable. Some bathrooms are small but still provide the amenities that you need. The main restaurant, Roberts, serves all meals and the food,service and ambiance are all very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a beautiful, comfortable hotel with a friendly and efficient staff open since 1930, host to politicians, dignitaries, performers, and entertainers including the Beatles in 1964 as well as many important business conferences and meetings. It was a lovely place for a conference and my husband was able to come on the Metro and spend part of the weekend with me there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Classy hotel in an excellent location. It doesn't look like much on the outside, but the inside is beautiful, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Less than a 5 minute walk to the metro, on the convenient red line. Friendly staff, useful services, and a great little diner across the street too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kallanchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days, upon our departure, I noticed we had lice....we did not arrive with lice. The hotel said it was not from there hotel? Really, our head layed no where else....It is horrible. The hotel smelled and is truly outdated. I would not return here every again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very disappointed to read your TripAdvisor review, as well as your electronic survey you recently submitted. Earlier this month, you informed our management team that you and your family were diagnosed with head lice after returning home from your trip to Washington. I expressed my empathy, and we came to agreement that there is no way to determine where you contracted that uncomfortable parasitic insect, but that it is almost always spread from one person to another directly. As we discussed, we do not know what the source of the problem was nor do we have a problem with lice in our hotel. This could have occurred anywhere and normally involves head to head contact, according to the CDC. At the time we spoke you indicated you were appreciative of our response and that "all parties have walked away satisfied." Apparently you have had a change of heart since then.

Trained hotel associates and a licensed professional inspected the room you occupied after your complaint and found no evidence of anything other than a clean room.

I am sorry you are still struggling with this issue.

Regrettably,

Tom Kermabon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We went to this 800+ room hotel for a conference. Everything about it is well done. Our large room with a nice view of the Connecticut Ave bridge made the stay a pleasure, and reminded us not all hotel rooms are narrow rectangular boxes!
We liked the friendly front desk, the AM paper and coffee delivery, but especially the bright clean airy room with a view!
One more WOW was a little jar in the bathroom with QTips &cotton balls. nice.

Room Tip: Join the Omni frequent traveller club "select guest" to get free wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great room, great staff, great stay! A beautiful hotel, helpful staff, the conference itself was excellent, but I was truly impressed by the accommodations. And be sure to take advantage of the morning beverage. Always arrived on time and was such a nice luxury to have tea before heading out of the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 399sheric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear "399sheric,"

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. Enjoying the benefits of your Select Guest membership, such as complementary morning beverage service and wi-fi access, is a sure way to bring a smile during any Omni Hotel experience. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to Washington, where we keep the tea kettle hot.

Best regards,

Tom Kermabon
Hotel Manager
(202) 756-5102
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 138 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,651 reviews
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#13 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing