We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully historic hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfully historic hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Pros: Very friendly staff, gorgeous hotel (built in 1930), with beautiful lobby and gardens, and great deals to be had on hotel rates (which I was lucky to find about a month or so before making this reservation). Very comfortable room, nice size (king-bed), with a small marble bathroom, walk-in closet, and a connecting door to a neighboring room (not that we used or needed it during our stay). Only 1 block from the Metro, which we ended up not using after all. Nice choice of restaurants close by - ate at Open City right across the street for dinner, and went to Woodley Cafe around the corner on Connecticut Avenue for brunch the following morning for brunch. Enjoyed the National Zoo for the afternoon, which is only about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. Located right by Rock Creek Park, which is a bonus.

Was glad to have found the coffee-maker, which I initially thought the room didn't have, and found strange for such an upscale hotel, but found it in the dresser cabinet under the TV. Nice options of Wolfgang Puck coffees and Tazo teas.

Cons: Valet parking was expensive ($35 plus tax = $41+), and the only option - it took hours to get something left behind in the car in error after it was moved to the parking lot. Would be ideal to have the option of self-parking, and only valet parking if/when self-parking section is full. The bathroom was bordering on too small, as you have to stand to the side behind the door to be able to close it.

Also, the hallways were noisy, due to inconsiderate hotel guests not keeping quiet in the early hours of the morning (some were coming from the wedding that happened that night, which finished up at 2am) - not the fault of the hotel for noisy guests, but would/could be an improvement if there were ways to soundproof the rooms.

Didn't eat at the hotel, or use the pool or gym, so cannot vouch for that side of the hotel.

Overall, would definitely stay here again, if I'm lucky enough to find the excellent price I was able to get for this trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,868
    1,052
    294
    133
    69
See reviews for
868
716
160
1,267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath Somerset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Omni Shoreham for three nights on the last stage of our USA touring trip.

We definitely saved the best until last as this is a beautiful hotel with helpful, friendly and cheerful staff from the concierge to the doormen.
The hotel has a huge reception area with lots of comfortable sofas and a lovely bar with seating...perfect for cocktails after a days sightseeing.
Our room was very large, lovely bathroom and comfortable big beds with plenty of storage and a cupboard for hanging clothes with an in room safe.
The hotel is a little out of the way from the centre of Washington but the Metro is very easy to navigate and good value for money and is just round the corner from the hotel. The concierge was very helpful and answered any questions we had on how to get to the sights.
We booked the Trolley bus tour at the hotel and there is a pick up point just by the Open City diner (near the hotel). The tour was great for getting our bearings and we could hop on and off when we wanted.
The Open City diner is a great place to eat...we got there about 8.45 each day and we usually had to put our name down and wait for 15 mins as it is always really busy day and night. The wait is worth it though as the food is great and the staff work like trojans.
Our only complaint is that the hotel is quite noisy in the corridors at night. The hotel hosts lots of parties, weddings etc and guests are up at all hours. This wouldn't however stop us staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Lyon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went on a trip to Washington DC in September and were very happy with the Omni hotel. Although it is an older hotel, it was well maintained and the rooms looked like they were recently updated. Although there is a charge for parking, it is valet, and secure. They even allowed us to leave our car for the rest of the day after checkout while we went to the zoo (which is in walking distance). There is a huge variety of restaurants relatively close. Within a block or two, you can have your choice of anything from Italian food to sushi.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

$$$$. Great service is expensive. I stayed at the hotel for a conference. The staff lived up to their billing -- they were very friendly and helpful. They address people by name and went out of the way to make things right. The hotel is up to date, but maintains the look and feel of the 1930s and 40s. It is easy to imagine the stars and political crowd staying and visiting at the hotel. It continues to be an important part of the Washington scene. It is also out of the downtown noise. There is a subway stop about one block away. The zoo is within walking distance.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a beautifully located, "Grand Dame" hotel, with every amenity. Nothing is absent. One has to cope, however, with conference crowds, as it is a large one, able to accommodate this type of event. Close to public transport and all attractions, by Metro (Red Line). Great breakfast; even good sandwiches in coffee "shop." Very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

People at the desk were friendly. Rooms were clean. I would stay there again.
The location was a short ride from the airport. I also liked that if you didn't want to eat there, there were restaurants all within walking distance.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a large convention hotel on the edge of Rock Creek Parkway. Its very "old school" and may not appeal to everyone that would prefer a boutique or a brand new hotel to stay in. For us, it very much fits the character of Washington D.C. and we found it charming for a hotel of this type. We never eat in hotels, so we can't comment on that. The rooms are very nicely sized and a well laid out. The staff is fantastic and attended to our every request. The location is very nice (food scene is a little sleepy) and safe. Very close to the red line to use the Metro. For anyone coming for the Marine Corps Marathon, as we were, it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.