We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington DC oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #25 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Washington DC oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My first time using Priceline to book, and my first time in an Omni, so I had no idea what to expect. Turns out, I had nothing to worry about. We were upgraded on check in - without requesting an upgrade - to a large room with two queen beds and a poolside view. Room was clean with all the usual 4-star amenities including a generous supply of towels, coffee maker, etc. Front-desk, concierge, and housekeeping all courteous and helpful. Gym and pool staff simply wonderful. The pool was among the best I have encountered in the US - I would stay at the Omni Shoreham again just for the pool. Free wireless in large and comfortable lobby. We found Woodley Park a pleasant neighborhood, though we were disappointed with dining options in neighborhood (exceptions being Open City coffeehouse and Mama Ayesha's). Hard to complain, however, given the proximity of the Metro, putting the hotel in minutes of the best dining in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    1,155
    341
    153
    77
See reviews for
934
762
169
1,477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

One word can describe the Omni Shoreham Washington - Charming.
The charm and character of a bygone era has been subtly and brilliantly merged with our modern era.
All the staff - Front door, reception, Marquee bar (Got us a hot meal on arrival at 11.00pm) Robert's restaurant were all friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and have that same old world charm that is reflected throughout the hotel.
The food at breakfast and dinner was first class, as was the service.
The Marquee bar offers drinks and tasty hot snacks at great prices.
Beautiful gardens surround the hotel and shops, as well as the Metro, are just a few minutes walk from the front door.
Faultless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Great location and facilities in a hotel full of history. The rooms are very spacious and the lobby oozes old charm. Being close to the metro and Big Bus stops, it was easy to visit Washington's attractions.

The rooms are a bit stuffy and carpets may be the cause. We had to change our initially allocated rooms because of stuffiness.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I didn't sleep well because it is too noisy. There is not free car parking. It is too expensive. The hotel serves are not good enough. I don't think it is value what I paid. It even didn't include the breakfast. The room is good, and the TV is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, alone or with your family, if you are looking for a gold star experience in the DC area, look no further. We stayed at the Omni Shoreham for seven nights last week and an seven nights last August and we felt like royalty! The hotel is exquisitely beautiful, the gardens are like those at a palace, the outdoor pool is the closest you'll get to a resort in the city, the breakfast buffet is to die for, and the rooms are unusually spacious and comfortable. Plus, you will love the way every single member of the staff treats you! The hotel is just a few blocks from the Metro station and there are lots of great little restaurants in the area. The only downside is that the room AC is noisy, but that's par for the course in most hotels and besides, you don't need to keep it running all the time. We booked the Zoo Package for $196 a night (plus tax) which included a huge room, full buffet breakfast every morning for our family of four, and valet parking for the week. The hotel offers many different rates and packages, so be sure to check out the fine points of each one before you decide which one to go with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Outstanding staff, very professional and eager to please. Good location and near metro for traveling to the downtown area. Rooms spacious and very clean. Valet service is excellent but a bit expensive. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful place to stay for the 4 days we were in DC. The staff are wonderful, the hotel itself absolutely gorgeous (reminded us of the Overlook in the Shining, for you Stephen King fans!) and we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and very clean, and we enjoyed the friendly nature of the staff.
It is conveniently located, very close to many restaurants and supermarkets about a 5 minute walk away. In addition, there is a wonderful Zoo that we walked to from the hotel, all free entry!
Access to the subway is also excellent, with the nearest station again about a 5 minute walk away.
We absolutely loved our stay here and would love to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Hotwire so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.