We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at the Omni” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at the Omni”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Omni Shoreham for a conference. The staff members were so friendly and helpful. The food provided during breaks was excellent. The Marquee bar was a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The room was spacious and clean. If you are staying here, definitely sign up for the Select Guest program. The free wifi and morning beverage service are worth it alone. I would definitely recommend the Omni if you're in Washington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ashvlfoodie,

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the conference that brought you to the Omni Shoreham Hotel. Thank you for all of your compliments of our property and especially for your recommendation of our hotel. I hope that we will have the future opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,113
    1,177
    352
    156
    79
See reviews for
949
780
174
1,523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for three nights and were welcomed by friendly smiling people, from the valets to the reception desk everyone gave us a great welcome. The hotel is huge and the front lobby is very impressive. Our room was good and a good size, air con a little loud but not too bad. Elevators a little slow but again we had nothing to rush for. The pool area is great with plenty of sunbeds and a great little bar. Drinks and food a little pricey but hey you are in DC. Location perfect, three minutes to the metro and straight into the heart of the city. Some good restaurants across the street where we ate breakfast and an evening meal. A short cab ride tO Georgetown for some relaxation and a meal at the harbour side. When we return to DC we will certainly stay at the Omni Shoreham, I would suggest that you could not find one better. Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Bubbenhall_traveller,

Thank you for suggestion that the Omni Shoreham Hotel is the best hotel to stay in while visiting Washington, DC. I'm delighted that you had such a great experience and appreciate the opportunity to read what made your stay with us enjoyable. If your travels bring you back to our lovely city, I hope you will once again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft lauderdale
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family wanted a good hotel near the Zoo. This hotel exceed our expectations. Awesome service from checkin to checkout. The hotel was also very close to several restaurant options. We drove to the hotel and were able to use street parking...but note that is not that close to the hotel. The room was spacious and nice features. Although we didn't use the pool, it was very nice option for guests. I would definitely return to this property!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
DearTravelfan68,

We are fortunate to be in a convenient location for visiting the zoo and I'm glad your family enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for your experience on TripAdvisor and I hope that you will consider us again if you travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in June for a conference. Booked directly via the Omni website for $229 per night which was less than the conference rate.

The hotel is very large and gives an impression of former grandeur, I liked reading the history outside of all the famous events that have taken place there. But it's feeling a little pass its prime.

My room was very spacious and had a very large wardrobe and good sized bathroom. As an Omni Select member wifi is complimentary and worked well. You can also receive a complimentary beverage each day which was always on time, hot and fresh. there was also tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge in my room.

bed was very comfortable, but ac was quite loud. Its a very comfortable business hotel and the location is very good too. You can walk to the zoo, Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle and its right on the Woodley Park (red line) metro stop, only 3-4 stops to Metro Centre. There are some shops and restaurants just across the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Omni Shoreham with our family of 4. Chose this location only because we were meeting up with friends who were spending a week in DC, and had reserved this hotel based on the choice of 2 queen beds and an outdoor pool....

PROS: Grand lobby, historical location, large standard rooms, huge walk in closets, balconies, and queen beds. Close to Metro station and some restaurants. Clean.

CONS: Customer service was lacking (see below), lobby and rooms smelled moldy and old. Furniture in restaurant in horrible shape. Bathrooms are ridiculously small, window with ratty blinds in shower. MANY things showing age and are in need of repair: tub, windows, doors, paint, etc. TV didn't work great, but wasn't a huge issue. Motion sensor on light in walk in closet, kept turning off whenever I was in there....

Our first impression of this hotel and its service was a negative one....we pulled up in front because the self parking lot was full. We drove 3 1/2 hours and had minimal luggage for 2 nights, and could easily carry it ourselves. The bellman jumped on us the second we pulled in and argued with my husband when he tried to get our luggage out himself. Even after my husband insisted multiple times, the bellman, in very broken English, rudely told him no. We were tired and hungry, so let it go. We reached our room, and called for our luggage. No one told us to turn in our claim ticket at check in. So we were rudely informed over the phone that the bellman didn't know where to go....When I approached the bellman's desk in the lobby to report all of this, I was AGAIN told that I was in the wrong. My main complaint is that the bellman pushed to carry our luggage seemingly for the sole purpose of obtaining a tip. AGAIN, told that I was wrong....in broken English. Did anyone understand what I was saying? UNBELIEVABLE.

Breakfast buffet was decent. However, again, customer service lacking....Once they determined we were choosing the buffet, and brought over a carafe of coffee and some juice, we never saw anyone again...no one (2 days in a row) checked on our food, if we needed anything else, etc.
2nd morning, my 12 year old was scratched on the back through his shirt by a nail popping through the cushion in the chair in the restaurant. I reported it and asked them to remove the chair. While they apologized, management never made an appearance to see how he was....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I didn't know what hotel to pick for our first family vist to DC. After a week of Searching I pick Omni - well let me tell everyone that it was the best place I ever stayed at!!!!! Everything was great !! Staff very helpfull ! Clean!!! Only thing the bathroom in our room was small and hard on a family of 4. Area was great 5 blocks from zoo. 100 yards from subway, I will be back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tykcdad,

I'm delighted to read that after a week of researching you decided to stay at the Omni Shoreham and you weren't disappointed. Your compliments of our hotel are greatly appreciated and I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all the place is enormous but you don't feel lost or overwhelmed. Secondly, the rooms are gigantic! We had a room which overlooked their garden. It's large enough to hold a big event and beautifully manicured. Pool area is also nice and has a pool bar. The only down side is that the bar closes at 8:30 p.m. Great bar/lounge with light fare. Scenic area with Rock Creek Park and the national zoo a couple of blocks away. Lots of eateries within walking distance.
Very accommodating/friendly staff and super clean as well. It's probably the cheapest 4 star hotel in DC!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.