We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at the Omni” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (U Street Corridor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #31 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at the Omni”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Omni Shoreham for a conference. The staff members were so friendly and helpful. The food provided during breaks was excellent. The Marquee bar was a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The room was spacious and clean. If you are staying here, definitely sign up for the Select Guest program. The free wifi and morning beverage service are worth it alone. I would definitely recommend the Omni if you're in Washington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashvlfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ashvlfoodie,

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the conference that brought you to the Omni Shoreham Hotel. Thank you for all of your compliments of our property and especially for your recommendation of our hotel. I hope that we will have the future opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for three nights and were welcomed by friendly smiling people, from the valets to the reception desk everyone gave us a great welcome. The hotel is huge and the front lobby is very impressive. Our room was good and a good size, air con a little loud but not too bad. Elevators a little slow but again we had nothing to rush for. The pool area is great with plenty of sunbeds and a great little bar. Drinks and food a little pricey but hey you are in DC. Location perfect, three minutes to the metro and straight into the heart of the city. Some good restaurants across the street where we ate breakfast and an evening meal. A short cab ride tO Georgetown for some relaxation and a meal at the harbour side. When we return to DC we will certainly stay at the Omni Shoreham, I would suggest that you could not find one better. Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbenhall_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Bubbenhall_traveller,

Thank you for suggestion that the Omni Shoreham Hotel is the best hotel to stay in while visiting Washington, DC. I'm delighted that you had such a great experience and appreciate the opportunity to read what made your stay with us enjoyable. If your travels bring you back to our lovely city, I hope you will once again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft lauderdale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family wanted a good hotel near the Zoo. This hotel exceed our expectations. Awesome service from checkin to checkout. The hotel was also very close to several restaurant options. We drove to the hotel and were able to use street parking...but note that is not that close to the hotel. The room was spacious and nice features. Although we didn't use the pool, it was very nice option for guests. I would definitely return to this property!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
DearTravelfan68,

We are fortunate to be in a convenient location for visiting the zoo and I'm glad your family enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for your experience on TripAdvisor and I hope that you will consider us again if you travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in June for a conference. Booked directly via the Omni website for $229 per night which was less than the conference rate.

The hotel is very large and gives an impression of former grandeur, I liked reading the history outside of all the famous events that have taken place there. But it's feeling a little pass its prime.

My room was very spacious and had a very large wardrobe and good sized bathroom. As an Omni Select member wifi is complimentary and worked well. You can also receive a complimentary beverage each day which was always on time, hot and fresh. there was also tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge in my room.

bed was very comfortable, but ac was quite loud. Its a very comfortable business hotel and the location is very good too. You can walk to the zoo, Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle and its right on the Woodley Park (red line) metro stop, only 3-4 stops to Metro Centre. There are some shops and restaurants just across the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Omni Shoreham with our family of 4. Chose this location only because we were meeting up with friends who were spending a week in DC, and had reserved this hotel based on the choice of 2 queen beds and an outdoor pool....

PROS: Grand lobby, historical location, large standard rooms, huge walk in closets, balconies, and queen beds. Close to Metro station and some restaurants. Clean.

CONS: Customer service was lacking (see below), lobby and rooms smelled moldy and old. Furniture in restaurant in horrible shape. Bathrooms are ridiculously small, window with ratty blinds in shower. MANY things showing age and are in need of repair: tub, windows, doors, paint, etc. TV didn't work great, but wasn't a huge issue. Motion sensor on light in walk in closet, kept turning off whenever I was in there....

Our first impression of this hotel and its service was a negative one....we pulled up in front because the self parking lot was full. We drove 3 1/2 hours and had minimal luggage for 2 nights, and could easily carry it ourselves. The bellman jumped on us the second we pulled in and argued with my husband when he tried to get our luggage out himself. Even after my husband insisted multiple times, the bellman, in very broken English, rudely told him no. We were tired and hungry, so let it go. We reached our room, and called for our luggage. No one told us to turn in our claim ticket at check in. So we were rudely informed over the phone that the bellman didn't know where to go....When I approached the bellman's desk in the lobby to report all of this, I was AGAIN told that I was in the wrong. My main complaint is that the bellman pushed to carry our luggage seemingly for the sole purpose of obtaining a tip. AGAIN, told that I was wrong....in broken English. Did anyone understand what I was saying? UNBELIEVABLE.

Breakfast buffet was decent. However, again, customer service lacking....Once they determined we were choosing the buffet, and brought over a carafe of coffee and some juice, we never saw anyone again...no one (2 days in a row) checked on our food, if we needed anything else, etc.
2nd morning, my 12 year old was scratched on the back through his shirt by a nail popping through the cushion in the chair in the restaurant. I reported it and asked them to remove the chair. While they apologized, management never made an appearance to see how he was....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heatherm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I didn't know what hotel to pick for our first family vist to DC. After a week of Searching I pick Omni - well let me tell everyone that it was the best place I ever stayed at!!!!! Everything was great !! Staff very helpfull ! Clean!!! Only thing the bathroom in our room was small and hard on a family of 4. Area was great 5 blocks from zoo. 100 yards from subway, I will be back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tykcdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tykcdad,

I'm delighted to read that after a week of researching you decided to stay at the Omni Shoreham and you weren't disappointed. Your compliments of our hotel are greatly appreciated and I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all the place is enormous but you don't feel lost or overwhelmed. Secondly, the rooms are gigantic! We had a room which overlooked their garden. It's large enough to hold a big event and beautifully manicured. Pool area is also nice and has a pool bar. The only down side is that the bar closes at 8:30 p.m. Great bar/lounge with light fare. Scenic area with Rock Creek Park and the national zoo a couple of blocks away. Lots of eateries within walking distance.
Very accommodating/friendly staff and super clean as well. It's probably the cheapest 4 star hotel in DC!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinFoodie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,233 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,653 reviews
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#13 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > U Street Corridor , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing