We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is a business hotel; however, we stayed there for six days for a leisure vacation. The hotel was great. It is a block away from the Metro making reaching anywhere in the area simple. The rooms were nice and silent. The food was excellent. The only complaint I have is that the bathroom was in need of some repair. Cracked and missing grout was present. Otherwise, the hotel was beautiful and I recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,868
    1,054
    294
    133
    69
See reviews for
868
716
161
1,268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trim, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in the hotel last week for four nights with my family and would recommend it as a great place to stay! The hotel was built in 1930 and has lots of character and has lots of history. The lobby is large and airy, the garden is beautiful! The breakfast (go for the buffet) is excellent and good value and the rooms are large and spacious. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is located close to a metro station so access to the city is very easy. We will return to this great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Aoyama017,

Your recommendation of the Omni Shoreham is greatly appreciated. I'm glad your family enjoyed your time exploring our gardens and reading about our history. When you return, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can do anything to assist with making your stay another enjoyable one.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and the only slight concern was the restutant menu in the evening never changed. Other than that it is an amazing hotel in DC, looked at Hilton and Holiday Inn (am platinum member) but sooooo glad we picked the Omni from the moment we arrived the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. Would recommend to family and friends. Easy access to all the sights from metro and bus tours which are a short walk from hotel. One hint join their privilege club ( free wifi and tea/ coffee in morning ) will definitely use the omni brand again when in the states.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear ken_posch,

I am also delighted that you chose to spend your week in DC at the Omni Shoreham. I am fortunate to work with wonderful people and I'm glad they took great care of you during your time with us. I will be sure to share your feedback regarding our dinner menu with our Executive Chef. Most evenings we do have a selection of rotating specials and apologize if those were not shared with you.

Thank you for your generous recommendation of our hotel on TripAdvisor and I hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at the Omni for two nights as co-sponsor of a business event. It's a gorgeous hotel, with large rooms, and a wonderful garden in the back, complete with a fountain. the only complaint I have is that the smallish tv is too far from the bed! Us oldies have poor vision, you know. other than that, would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Lee P,

Thank you for hosting your event at the Omni Shoreham. It was a pleasure to read that you had a great experience. If you return, I'd be happy to work with you to make sure you are in a room that has the tv positioned closer to the bed. Thank you for taking the time to review us and I look forward to a future opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalfsen, Overijssel, Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed two nights to explore Washington. A pretty hotel with a great breakfast but very hard to find by car (with navigation). We rented the car for a ten day trip but I was very sorry we didn't wait to rent it untill we had checked out of the Omni Shoreham hotel.

Because the traffic was so heavy we left the car at the hotel mostly. The one time we did take it out there was no space left (despite the paid-for valet service) when we got back.

The next day (checking out) we called the valet service from our room to collect the car but when we stood at the front of the hotel we found out (after 10 minutes) that none of the employees had bothered to get it. It took about 15 more minutes before the car arrived.

Conclusion: good hotel by foot, bad hotel by car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleAjeleHolmes, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Valerie R,

I am glad that you enjoyed your room and our restaurant but I am saddened by your experience with our valet service. It is our policy to never turn away over night guest so I apologize as it seems this was not conveyed to you. Thank you for taking the time to write such a well rounded response. We hope that if you ever find yourself in the District again you will stay with us and we can show you a true Omni experience.

Sincerely,
Nicole A. Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel has a lot of history and boasts of a great place for a conference (which is true). The rooms are pretty mediocre with old decor (some people call it vintage). I have to say though, expect an overpriced breakfast buffet, my suggestion would be go across the street to Open City. The location is pretty good, since it's near a number of good restaurants and a metro stop. Overall though, for the price, there are better options around town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear WollffieCO,

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to read both your positive comments and constructive feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. Our rooms were designed to provide modern conveniences while also embracing the history of our past. I regret that the style didn't suit your preference but I hope you still found the room to be comfortable and well equipped. I hope you will decide to stay with us in the future, and if you do I'd invite you to consider some of our other breakfast options. Our Select Guest program allows you to add on light inexpensive options to your morning beverage delivery, you can grab a quick bite to eat from Morsel's in the lobby, or order a la carte from our restaurant. Thank you again for all of your feedback and I hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our three-day visit to the Omni Shoreham enabled us to explore all of the amenities and nooks and crannies. So much to see! The pool and gardens are beautiful, and they are located above a beautiful walk/bike trail in Rock Creek Park, so you have plenty of places to enjoy the outdoors. They also have a state-of-the-art gym, open 24/7, so it's easy to get your workout in. We didn't try the restaurants, but our conference did provide food at several receptions, which was beautiful and delicious. My only two complaints are that our room had an odd smell(which you get used to, but it's still not great), and the fact that our room, the halls, and the ballrooms and meeting rooms were meat locker cold. No matter how I adjusted the thermostat in our room, it was still cold. Luckily, they provide posh robes! The staff is the friendliest ever, and you are treated to hot coffee delivery if you are a select member, so be sure to sign up for the loyalty program.

Room Tip: Pick a garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Dbjone2,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay at the Omni Shoreham on TripAdvisor. I love your description of us as vintage elegance and I'm happy to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities that we have available to our guest. Please accept my apologies if the temperature was not to your liking. If you return, please contact me or one of my fellow associates and we would be happy to have an engineer assist you with the temperature in your room. I'm grateful for all of your kind words and I hope that we will have a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest Regards,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.