We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, old and getting older” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #14 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, old and getting older”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed her for a business trip and overall found ourselves trying to give it a better rating than "average." We just can't do it. Our room was small and the bathroom smaller. The closet had a safe that when open collided with my head more than once! We couldn't see out our windows becuase of the condensation and the bed was poor for a higher end hotel. I'd add that the service was decent, but not stellar. We ate at the hotel restaurant - the food and service there not something we'd go back for. It just seems like this dated property is in need of some serious updating. I'm disappointed that Omni hasn't made an effort to bring it in line with their other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear TravelMack425,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your TripAdvsor review after your recent stay. I'm disappointed to learn we didn't meet your expectations in a way that would justify a higher star rating in your eyes, something you have come to expect from the Omni brand. As a historic hotel configured in the late 1920's, we have a variety of guestroom and bathroom sizes, many of which we are regularly reminded are larger than in most our "younger" competitors. Having said that, we do have a few guestrooms that are on the small side and it was in one of those that you were obviously assigned. I also appreciate your sentiments related to the in-room safe being out of balance, condensation build up in your windows, a mattress that did not make for a good night's sleep, and lackluster food quality and service in our restaurant. I am sorry your wife and you found all of the above disappointing, as I do. Thank you very much taking the time do let us know how we fell short of your expectations.

We're you able to share your feedback with anyone while you were in residence? If so, did the associate(s) you interacted with provide any options to resolve these issues to your satisfaction?

Your continued feedback would be very much appreciated. I'd like to invite you to reach out to me here at the hotel at your convenience so that I can determine what guest room you were in and try to regain your trust in our brand. On the positive side, rest assured we are making an effort to bring the Omni Shoreham in line with many of our sister properties. For starters, we will be upgrading our lobby, public areas and meeting space this summer and hope you'll be able to see the results first hand during what we hope will be many future visits.

Thank you very much for your time and energy. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Kermabon
Hotel Manager
(202) 756-5102
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,698
    975
    270
    115
    64
See reviews for
822
661
152
1113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here with my wife while on a city break to Washington DC and found this a beautifully restored hotel. Great location in the leafy suburb with plenty to do nearby, loads of restaurants & lively bars.
Room was spacious with a huge comfortable bed.
Bathroom spotless with a wonderful shower & luxurious towels & robes.
We really enjoyed our stay but free WiFi in the rooms would be a plus (Charge for WiFi in rooms)
Thank you to the very helpful staff, well done all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear ManUhead,

Thank you very much for your gracious review of our property and your experience while in residence. I am thrilled to hear your wife and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay while visiting our nation's capital and found your accommodation size, bed comfort, cleanliness, and amenities to be to your liking.

With regards to complimentary wifi access, I'd like to invite you to join Omni's Loyalty Program, called Select Guest. For Select Guests members we offer complimentary wifi and an abundance of other amenities, including morning beverage delivery to your guest room, newspapers, pressing, shoe shine, and more which can add up to $50 per day in value. The program is free to join and never costs anything and would, in my opinion, help make any great stay even more memorable.

We are very hopeful of future opportunities to welcome you back to our hotel when your travel plans again bring you to Washington, D.C.

And, GO Man U!

Most sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Hotel Manager
(202) 756-5102
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is an awesome hotel, I would recommend this hotel to anyone to try out at least once. The staff is very friendly and the on site facilities are very nice, including the pool. Though the restaurants their are a little to pricey for my taste, this hotel is located a block away form a bunch of local restaurants (some bad, some good, some great). The only complaint I have to offer this hotel is that the first time I went my family and I stayed in an amazing room with a view of their grounds (very beautiful) and the Washington Monument, the room was very spacious and very comfortable. This time even though we made our reservations at least 6 months in advance and requested the same room, the stuck us on the other side of the hotel in, when comparing to the first room, a broom cupboard. this room was much smaller and the the view of other peoples apartments are not quite as beautiful to look at as a garden and the Washington Monument.

Room Tip: Get a balcony suite overlooking the grounds!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work this week. It's by the National Zoo and a bit of away from downtown DC it's in a really multi-national neighborhood with some great ethnic foods and the Woodley Park subway stop is a short walk away---you can get downtown really easily. The hotel is nicely appointed. I had a great room with a balcony. The service is fantastic. Great workout room and beautiful outdoor pool.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We loved this hotel. excellent service and great location. our room was spacious and very quiet. Pool is very nice. Metro is one block away. The Rock Creek Parkway is beautiful! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Amy4159,

Not only am I delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel, but I'm also thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret Center, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location was good, although a little out of the way for visits to Capital Hill. The neighborhood has lots to offer; not the least of which are neighbor gems by way of restaurants and the Washington Zoo. For an historic hotel the through the wall HVAC (with annoying noise) was compensated by good service and great food. Reasonably priced for a city hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Tborner,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. I'm glad that your overall experience was enjoyable and if there is anything I can do to assist with future stays, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kindest Regards,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were unfortunate to arrive when the hotel was full with conventions. We were in a clean but average room in the annex. For the inconvenience and the high cost of the room I think that the Omni should have included breakfast in the package. The amenities were first class and the pool area was great. The hotel is fine for a couple of nights and "doing" Washington.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear greenspan,

I'm regret to read that your expectations were not completely me upon arrival at our hotel. I am glad that the amenities and service made up for some of the initial shortcomings that you experience and I truly hope you will give us a second opportunity in the future.

If you do decide to return, I encourage you to reach out to me so that I can personally assure you will have a great stay.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.