We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's posh!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It's posh!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Initaly given a room which was down a long corridor to the rear of the hotel which looked like some sort of annex.Really disappointed as it was no where near as grand as the main hotel. Wentbback to check in to see if they would move us back into the main hotel, result! Moved us to an upper floor large room with a balcony facing the gardens. As a tourist we felt a bit uncomfortable walking round in summer wear as the hotel seems to predominately cater for business people.
Ideal location for the metro system to get around Washington.
Big and busy hotel but would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block,steer clear of the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Martin5192.

I appreciate your review of the Omni Shoreham. Please accept my apologies that your initial room assignment was not to your liking but I'm glad to read that it was quickly resolved. One of the great things about the Omni Shoreham is that we welcome everyone from families to dignitaries so please know that your attire was perfectly appropriate. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to read about your experience and I hope that we will have a future opportunity to serve you.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,866
    1,051
    294
    133
    69
See reviews for
868
716
160
1,265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Although we only had 3 nights at this lovely old hotel, we did enjoy it.

Check in was easy, however when offered a room with a balcony, we thought oh good, a room higher up with a view. No, this was not the case. We were on the ground floor with a door leading outside to a slab of concrete. Anyhow, later that evening after chatting with the Concierge (Herman) I mentioned that I didn't feel safe in the room, he addressed this situation straight away and moved us to another level.

Thanks Herman, oh and Mohamud (bellman was also lovely and helpful)

Room Tip: Definately get a room in the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Maisy33,

Thank you for taking a moment to review the Omni Shoreham Hotel. I am glad to read that Herman was able to quickly address your room concerns and place you in a room more to your liking. I look forward to the opportunity to share you compliments with both Herman and Mohamud. If your travels bring you back to DC, I hope you will once again consider us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,


Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is what you would expect from an Omni property.

The lobby is opulent and the rooms comfortable and clean.
There is ample parking which is unusual for DC and its very close to the Metro.

I stayed in the adjoining building called the "Parkview" section. My room overlooked Rock Park and you can't even hear the traffic that is on the other side of the park.... I heard birds instead of cars! Getting to Parkview is a little confusing but well worth it because of the seclusion.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Tamara S.,

I'm glad to read that the Omni Shoreham lived up to your expectations set by other Omni Hotels. Thank you for giving our team the chance to read about your stay and I hope that you will consider us for future trips to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I was a little bummed at first I couldn't stay in the conference host hotel but I'm so happy they were all booked! The Omni is beautiful! The concierge was super nice and helpful, my room was nice (really cute bathroom with a high basin), the halls were quiet and I was close to a salon, a cvs, a neat little market, restaurants and more all in walking distance (for a female visiting alone too!) It's close to a trail for running or walking and the little "cafe" Morsels was a convenient stop for a quick snack. I was so comfortable I found myself just sitting in the lobby where I ended up talking to all sorts of people so I got to do a lot of networking and made some great contacts. I didn't eat in the restaurant but I was happy to see vegetarian dishes. Also, I signed up for the preferred guest program so my in room wi-if was free (no charge). When I return, which I will, I get a free morning beverage and I received a USA today with the preferred guest program. The shuttle service that took us back and forth each day was great too. I just had a great overall experience at a beautiful hotel with great staff. Girl Scouts honor! (Inside joke with my new concierge friend.) Oh, and I only turned on the beautiful flat screen tv once. I spent most of my time in the lobby or walking around the neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear T H,

I am thrilled to read that you had a great experience at the Omni Shoreham. I am even happier to know that you plan to return. When you start planning your next visit please feel free to contact me for any assistance.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice hotel and seamless registration. Checked into a nice large room. However, there was blood on the side of the sheet. Saw it only when I pulled the sheet out from the mattress. A few black specs were loosened when I pulled the sheets back. Gross!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear JAMoya,

It was alarming for me to read about your experience at our hotel and I've shared your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping You will receive a message from her directly so that we can try to research what may have happened. Please be assured that myself and my team take this very seriously. If you consider returning to our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally insure that you have a wonderful experience.

My Apologies,

Tom Kermabon
Hotel Manager
(202) 756-5102
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were moved to the Omni Shoreham because our hotel overbooked. The change was ok because the staff was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and we had a balcony! The view was great. This hotel gas an interesting history. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the backside have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Ken R,

I am glad your unexpected move to the Omni Shoreham turned out to be a good one. I'm so happy that you were well taken care of by my fellow associates and enjoyed your balcony overlooking DC. I'd like to personally thank you for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and I hope you will return to our hotel again soon. If you do, please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The omni dc is an excellent hotel. It is well designed and very well located. Near fine restaurants including petite plats, my favorite french restaurant in dc. The rooms are always nice, clean, and kept up, staff is helpful and professional. The hotel is not brand new, and but it maintains a high class rating for me because it is so well kept up. A few minor things prevent a five rating. Slow elevators, it is a popular hotel and when it gets booked the experience feels a little crowded and slow, it doesn't have an obvious or easy entry with a rolling suitcase, but no place is perfect. I prefer the hotel for business. I would not use the hotel for a family vacation. There are better places for young kids and granddaughters. But, she for the business traveler, and this hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear RDHill H,

Thank you for continuing to be a loyal guest of the Omni Shoreham and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us but regret that on occasion you have had to wait for the elevators. The elevators are original to the hotel and carry with them an architectural and historic significance but the downside is that they are not as quick as newer elevators might be. The next time you stay with us, I would be happy to make sure you are placed in a room that requires less elevator usage if you desire. Thank you for also sharing your kind words about our staff and our location. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.