We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (U Street Corridor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #29 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place was good- near a bunch of restaurants, pharmacy, liquor store, whatever you need to pick up while travelling. Gigantic place- with a lot of DC politics history. Rooms are spacious and staff is helpful. A few silly things that come with a fancy hotel, like no washing machines (you pay an astronomical price per piece) and parking is $40 a day. Still, for being in a good area in DC it works!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourtourtour81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I came to DC for a conference, and stay at this hotel for a two nights. Overall, good experience, helpful stuff, clean rooms, however, some of my friends (who came for the conference and stayed in other rooms) reported some bugs.
Food very expensive in the hotel, so you may want to go out, a few block away from the hotel and you will find plenty of choices.
I had a huge discount for this hotel, otherwise it is not a cheap hotel.

Room Tip: A lot of restaurants not far away from the hotel, if you want to save a bit just go there, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zyga1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are glad you had a good stay at our hotel but regret to read that some of your fellow travelers had some concerns. We hope that they alerted us so that we would have the opportunity to find out more about what may have happened. Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor and we hope that we will have a future opportunity to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If Errol Flynn came back to life, this is where he would want to stay. A lobby that you just don't see that often anymore with acres of space. Massive property that was clearly restored with a lot of loving care creates the feel of a bygone era not easy to find in hotels these days. We had a beautiful, spacious room with a very comfortable (make that fabulous) bed, and lots of lighting, and of course wi-fi. Only complaint is that the bathroom for this particular room (and there are many different room shapes and sizes so not sure this would be applicable to other rooms) was lacking in counter space, a minor quible. Staff was great with a number of requests, and love that they do their jobs without the obvious interval waiting for a tip. Could use some parking that doesn't require a valet, but that said, public transportation, including a metro stop, is readily available. Have stayed here in the past and will definitely stay again in the future. Although not within walking distance of businesses downtown, the Shoreham has a great location, with access to many different types (and price points) of restaurants in downtown and Georgetown, as well as the schools and activities in northwest DC. If you want to save a bit on breakfast (not atypical big city hotel food prices at the Shoreham), go across the street to Open City. There is often a wait on weekends, as it is a popular neighborhood spot, but it is a great value for DC.

Room Tip: Lots of convention type of activity here, so let them know if you want a quiet room. They are happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YankeeTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed taking a step back in time at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. Thank you for sharing all of your complimentary words. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked this through Hotwire for a 1-night stay in DC. First, the "not great": The location is a little undesirable, being on the NW corner of the "downtown area" (although a cab is 10 bucks and you can take the metro area), and the room service was high, even for a 40-star hotel (salmon salad, soup, 2 bottles of water, 2 cokes: $80), however the price of the hotel was great at $108, and it is a beautiful, very clean, very luxurious 4-star historic hotel.. service was great, rooms were large and clean. Free wifi was nice for this class.

Ultimately, if you are working or staying in Zoo area / north Dupont, it's perfectly great, and the price is nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjs_SMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Omni Shoreham. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is nicely outfitted and is a solid pick for business. I took the metro line almost everywhere seemed closes enough to practically everything I needed. I will likely book here again. Parking was outrageously expensive (so avoid driving a car if you can).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy to read that you had a good stay and would consider returning. Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Like others have said, wonderful location. Short walk to a useful Metro line and far enough out to not be surrounded by traffic and car horns. Hotel and service were both excellent. Only downside is the lack of public parking (despite having acres available for the valets).

Sign up for their loyalty program for free coffee delivered to your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 000jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We appreciate your review and are glad you had a great stay. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Omni Shoreham has even there a long time, and I had not been there for many years. It was wonderful to arrive and see that gorgeous lobby, still looking regal and comfortable. Various seating areas all around made it easy to meet my colleagues in comfort.
The rooms are large and love the beds, very comfortable. The shower was fabulous! I gauge hotels by water pressure and this one was incredible. Now marble showers and granite counters give the room a modern look without losing the elegant feel. This is a historic hotel and I love the classic look and colors of the furniture and decor. Turndown was a nice touch, since I returned late from business appointments. You should sign up for their free guest program, Omni Select - you get free wifi in your room and a complimentary beverage in the morning! I got a quick knock at the time I requested (after my prompt wake up call) and by the time I opened the door to my in room dining tray, the staff person had disappeared from the hallway. Love that!!
I attended a business event and their meeting rooms and ballrooms are gorgeous, each with a different classic look and elegance, with windows and natural light. The staff at lunch was gracious and quick, and food was excellent! Best spinach salad I have had in a long time, and moist chicken with a great flavor. I love the glamour of their high ceilings and elegant historic look.
They also have wonderful staff, the doorman remembered my name and the waitress in the bar knew what we drank the 2nd night there! That attention to service and detail made my visit more enjoyable, even with long days of work. Also love that it it located right off Rock Creek Park, and the RC Parkway, which makes a cab ride to Capitol Hill areas a quick ride. The red line for Metro is also a block away, so convenient.
Overall a terrific hotel and if you like the classic, historic feel of what Washington DC represents, this should be your choice.

Room Tip: My room was on the street and very quiet except sirens one morning (hey, it's a city and this wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GsfHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are thrilled that you were able to take comfort in the Omni Shoreham after long days of working. We appreciate you pointing out all of the details that made your stay a great one and we hope that it won't be long before you can return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#13 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > U Street Corridor , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing