We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #16 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Queens, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Conference stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I came to DC for a conference, and stay at this hotel for a two nights. Overall, good experience, helpful stuff, clean rooms, however, some of my friends (who came for the conference and stayed in other rooms) reported some bugs.
Food very expensive in the hotel, so you may want to go out, a few block away from the hotel and you will find plenty of choices.
I had a huge discount for this hotel, otherwise it is not a cheap hotel.

Room Tip: A lot of restaurants not far away from the hotel, if you want to save a bit just go there, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are glad you had a good stay at our hotel but regret to read that some of your fellow travelers had some concerns. We hope that they alerted us so that we would have the opportunity to find out more about what may have happened. Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor and we hope that we will have a future opportunity to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,370
    816
    216
    98
    56
See reviews for
622
579
128
901
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If Errol Flynn came back to life, this is where he would want to stay. A lobby that you just don't see that often anymore with acres of space. Massive property that was clearly restored with a lot of loving care creates the feel of a bygone era not easy to find in hotels these days. We had a beautiful, spacious room with a very comfortable (make that fabulous) bed, and lots of lighting, and of course wi-fi. Only complaint is that the bathroom for this particular room (and there are many different room shapes and sizes so not sure this would be applicable to other rooms) was lacking in counter space, a minor quible. Staff was great with a number of requests, and love that they do their jobs without the obvious interval waiting for a tip. Could use some parking that doesn't require a valet, but that said, public transportation, including a metro stop, is readily available. Have stayed here in the past and will definitely stay again in the future. Although not within walking distance of businesses downtown, the Shoreham has a great location, with access to many different types (and price points) of restaurants in downtown and Georgetown, as well as the schools and activities in northwest DC. If you want to save a bit on breakfast (not atypical big city hotel food prices at the Shoreham), go across the street to Open City. There is often a wait on weekends, as it is a popular neighborhood spot, but it is a great value for DC.

Room Tip: Lots of convention type of activity here, so let them know if you want a quiet room. They are happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed taking a step back in time at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. Thank you for sharing all of your complimentary words. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked this through Hotwire for a 1-night stay in DC. First, the "not great": The location is a little undesirable, being on the NW corner of the "downtown area" (although a cab is 10 bucks and you can take the metro area), and the room service was high, even for a 40-star hotel (salmon salad, soup, 2 bottles of water, 2 cokes: $80), however the price of the hotel was great at $108, and it is a beautiful, very clean, very luxurious 4-star historic hotel.. service was great, rooms were large and clean. Free wifi was nice for this class.

Ultimately, if you are working or staying in Zoo area / north Dupont, it's perfectly great, and the price is nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Omni Shoreham. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is nicely outfitted and is a solid pick for business. I took the metro line almost everywhere seemed closes enough to practically everything I needed. I will likely book here again. Parking was outrageously expensive (so avoid driving a car if you can).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy to read that you had a good stay and would consider returning. Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Like others have said, wonderful location. Short walk to a useful Metro line and far enough out to not be surrounded by traffic and car horns. Hotel and service were both excellent. Only downside is the lack of public parking (despite having acres available for the valets).

Sign up for their loyalty program for free coffee delivered to your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We appreciate your review and are glad you had a great stay. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Omni Shoreham has even there a long time, and I had not been there for many years. It was wonderful to arrive and see that gorgeous lobby, still looking regal and comfortable. Various seating areas all around made it easy to meet my colleagues in comfort.
The rooms are large and love the beds, very comfortable. The shower was fabulous! I gauge hotels by water pressure and this one was incredible. Now marble showers and granite counters give the room a modern look without losing the elegant feel. This is a historic hotel and I love the classic look and colors of the furniture and decor. Turndown was a nice touch, since I returned late from business appointments. You should sign up for their free guest program, Omni Select - you get free wifi in your room and a complimentary beverage in the morning! I got a quick knock at the time I requested (after my prompt wake up call) and by the time I opened the door to my in room dining tray, the staff person had disappeared from the hallway. Love that!!
I attended a business event and their meeting rooms and ballrooms are gorgeous, each with a different classic look and elegance, with windows and natural light. The staff at lunch was gracious and quick, and food was excellent! Best spinach salad I have had in a long time, and moist chicken with a great flavor. I love the glamour of their high ceilings and elegant historic look.
They also have wonderful staff, the doorman remembered my name and the waitress in the bar knew what we drank the 2nd night there! That attention to service and detail made my visit more enjoyable, even with long days of work. Also love that it it located right off Rock Creek Park, and the RC Parkway, which makes a cab ride to Capitol Hill areas a quick ride. The red line for Metro is also a block away, so convenient.
Overall a terrific hotel and if you like the classic, historic feel of what Washington DC represents, this should be your choice.

Room Tip: My room was on the street and very quiet except sirens one morning (hey, it's a city and this wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are thrilled that you were able to take comfort in the Omni Shoreham after long days of working. We appreciate you pointing out all of the details that made your stay a great one and we hope that it won't be long before you can return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! The property is lovely, all the public spaces are absolutely gorgeous, spotless and luxe! The rooms themselves are super luxurious, numerous different floor plans make it feel very special, and not cookie-cutter. Tasteful decor, artwork, original architectural features, make this hotel feel like a beautiful apartment suite, not a typical hotel.

The baths are wonderful, I was lucky enough to have one with a window, tiled in marble with a phenomenal soaker tub. I loved being able to open the windows (albeit, only about 2 inches or so) to take advantage of the warm weather (18 Celsius there, -30 at home... WHAT a treat for 3 days!)

The bed was TO DIE FOR! A King size, with double pillow top mattress and TWO comforters (one down, one synthetic) I slept like a baby. The pillows were so amazing I took them apart to see the manufacturer and immediately purchased a pair from a local retailer when I returned home.

If you're concerned about the restaurant prices, try "Open City" restaurant, just across the street. Great prices and delicious bistro-style food.

Room Tip: Some rooms are laid out with a long hallway leading to the washroom. Those have windows, and afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It was a pleasure for us to read how much you enjoyed your time at the Omni Shoreham. We appreciate you writing a review and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.