We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular service, beautiful hotel - thin walls made for difficult nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular service, beautiful hotel - thin walls made for difficult nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband was attending a conference here at the hotel, and we were put in one of the Gardenview rooms. The view out of the window was gorgeous! We ordered room service many times throughout our stay and felt that it was the best we have had in a long time. The staff was always extremely accomodating and curteous and the concierge spent a long time assisting me to plan daytrips while my husband was busy. The first night we slept great (very comfortable beds and clean space); however, on the second and third nights, we struggled to get any sleep at all due to noisy neighbors. It was clear the the family next door was not trying to be unusually obnoxious, but the walls were so thin, we could nearly hear all of their conversations throughout the night... the noise was so loud that I was still being woken up after I put ear plugs in. It really surprised me that a hotel of this quality would have such weak noise insultation between rooms. I called the hotel front desk, and they were very kind about it and offered to call the family. Unfortunately, the problem was never really resolved (the level of noise persisted) throughout our stay and made for a bit of a miserable time for my husband and I who missed out on a couple of good nights rest. We were impressed with how the staff graciously handled it when we mentioned the problem to them, but I would not recommend getting a room in the Gardenview portion of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We regret to read that an otherwise great stay was marred by noise from the surrounding guest rooms. We understand how important a good night's rest can be and we apologize that we were not able to provide this during your time at our hotel. If you consider returning, we would be happy to work with you to make sure you are in a quiet area of the hotel. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our associates and we truly hope for a second opportunity to provide you with a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,905
    1,066
    300
    138
    72
See reviews for
883
731
164
1,292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel, have stayed here before. Very nice property with some minor upgrades needed. Restaurants excellent. Service was awesome. Right by Woodley Park Metro. Be sure you join their rewards program to take advantage of extra amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bora bora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Omni Shoreham is a wonderful piece of history in Washington, DC. Beautiful hotel in a great location within easy walking distance of the zoo. The staff was extremely cordial and accommodating. A great hotel for families- especially the zoo package. Best breakfast buffet ever! Gorgeous pool and grounds.
We will definitely stay here the next time we visit DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Omni Shoreham. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Second stay and had another great stay. The hotel is only about 1 block from Woodly Park metro. There are lots of restaurants around and the zoo is near by. The hotel is beautiful. Some of the furniture should use a little old english. The staff is friendly and room was nice and big. Can't wait to plan another stay this summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are delighted that you had another great stay at the Omni Shoreham! Thank you for reviewing your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I really have mixed feelings writing this. The staff at the hotel could not have been more lovely:
check in and out very quick and pleasant,
bell staff very helpful
Room service was prompt and surprisingly good food, which I would recommend highly. (Room service delivery person set up our table with the greatest of care and attention to detail I've ever seen from any Room Service)
The hotel is beautiful: beautiful lobby; our room was VERY large and the decor very relaxing and pleasant
the bed was comfortable with nice linens.
The location is very good for quick taxi to Georgetown, American University and other points in DC
The rate was reasonable
Here is the problem: The windows even though they go all the way down to the sill, are about 1/4 to 1/2 inch out from the sill meaning cold air was pouring in all night. We had to put the heater up full blast, but what we got was a large gust of cold air pouring in from the window and a large blast of hot air and so lying in bed you were both freezing and boiling at the same time. This window problem is not a quick fix. You would probably have to take the windows out and put them back in again with some carpentry work involved.
Since we arrived after midnight, unpacked and had our pjs on by 1am we were not about to move rooms.
I did not sleep one wink that first night.
Also, even though we had a high floor away from the elevator (which I appreciate) it was over some kind of machinery on the ground floor. In the early hours like between 1am and 5am it sounded like an airplane was about to take off.
So between the machinery noise and the cold blasting in I couldn't sleep.
The next day we had a very packed schedule and couldn't take all our belongings out of the drawers and closet and pack up again and move rooms so we didnt ask for a change of rooms. But, my fix for the problem was to put every pillow in the room up against the window. This cut out about 90% of the cold air coming in.
The bathroom had the same problem, but it reminded me of a youth hostel in Ireland I stayed at one winter in the 80s, with cold air pouring in making for a freezing bathroom. But, we did not linger in the bathroom so this didn't really bother us.
If management checked the basics of each room periodically, like to see if the windows really close, they would correct this problem.
Since I did not go to any other rooms I can't say if this is a problem in other rooms.
IF you stay here, don't unpack until you see if the windows close and that you are not hearing machinery on the ground floor. If these 2 things check out--it is a fabulous hotel.
I wont stay there again because I can't risk another sleepless night at the outset of a trip.

Room Tip: High floor, and check to see if windows seal before you unpack your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are disappointed to read that there were maintenance issues in your room that kept your from fully enjoying your stay with us. We will remind our housekeeping and engineering teams to check all of the windows as they inspect our rooms to insure that they are properly closing. Please accept our apologies and we truly hope you will return for a more comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The best part about this hotel is its location, it is only about 1 block from Woodly Park metro. There are lots of restaurants around and the zoo is near by. The hotel is beautiful and HUGE, I think it has been renovated. The rooms are very spacious, mattress is firm and linens are nice. I had a king size room that even had a seating area and a desk. It has a fridge, which is cool if you are staying there for a lengthy period. The bathroom was HUGE had a nice bathtub, i got lots of towels. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Everyone talks to you and bends over backwards to tend to your needs. They have a nice lounge in the lobby, food and drinks are pretty good. I went there in December and they had amazing beautiful decorations. Lobby is very ample, also has a restaurant and little cafe, which are very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, you get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are grateful for your glowing review of the Omni Shoreham Hotel and are glad to read you enjoyed our location. Thank you for allowing us to read about your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed there over Christmas for a few days with 2 young kids. Zoo was within walking distance which was great. It was also very close to the subway station, and we were able to take the subway to various places in town. I will be honest that we were worried about the hotel being 'haunted' but nothing scary happened during our stay. The lobby was beautifully decorated, the staff was friendly, breakfast was a great spread, and room service was impeccable. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room far from the 'ghost suite' if you are worried!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Omni Shoreham on TripAdvisor! We are glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us and avoided an encounter with friendly but mischievous spirits. If you return to DC it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.