We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but maintenance problems prevented sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #27 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but maintenance problems prevented sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I really have mixed feelings writing this. The staff at the hotel could not have been more lovely:
check in and out very quick and pleasant,
bell staff very helpful
Room service was prompt and surprisingly good food, which I would recommend highly. (Room service delivery person set up our table with the greatest of care and attention to detail I've ever seen from any Room Service)
The hotel is beautiful: beautiful lobby; our room was VERY large and the decor very relaxing and pleasant
the bed was comfortable with nice linens.
The location is very good for quick taxi to Georgetown, American University and other points in DC
The rate was reasonable
Here is the problem: The windows even though they go all the way down to the sill, are about 1/4 to 1/2 inch out from the sill meaning cold air was pouring in all night. We had to put the heater up full blast, but what we got was a large gust of cold air pouring in from the window and a large blast of hot air and so lying in bed you were both freezing and boiling at the same time. This window problem is not a quick fix. You would probably have to take the windows out and put them back in again with some carpentry work involved.
Since we arrived after midnight, unpacked and had our pjs on by 1am we were not about to move rooms.
I did not sleep one wink that first night.
Also, even though we had a high floor away from the elevator (which I appreciate) it was over some kind of machinery on the ground floor. In the early hours like between 1am and 5am it sounded like an airplane was about to take off.
So between the machinery noise and the cold blasting in I couldn't sleep.
The next day we had a very packed schedule and couldn't take all our belongings out of the drawers and closet and pack up again and move rooms so we didnt ask for a change of rooms. But, my fix for the problem was to put every pillow in the room up against the window. This cut out about 90% of the cold air coming in.
The bathroom had the same problem, but it reminded me of a youth hostel in Ireland I stayed at one winter in the 80s, with cold air pouring in making for a freezing bathroom. But, we did not linger in the bathroom so this didn't really bother us.
If management checked the basics of each room periodically, like to see if the windows really close, they would correct this problem.
Since I did not go to any other rooms I can't say if this is a problem in other rooms.
IF you stay here, don't unpack until you see if the windows close and that you are not hearing machinery on the ground floor. If these 2 things check out--it is a fabulous hotel.
I wont stay there again because I can't risk another sleepless night at the outset of a trip.

Room Tip: High floor, and check to see if windows seal before you unpack your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are disappointed to read that there were maintenance issues in your room that kept your from fully enjoying your stay with us. We will remind our housekeeping and engineering teams to check all of the windows as they inspect our rooms to insure that they are properly closing. Please accept our apologies and we truly hope you will return for a more comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,254
    1,251
    377
    166
    80
See reviews for
1,018
812
179
1,651
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The best part about this hotel is its location, it is only about 1 block from Woodly Park metro. There are lots of restaurants around and the zoo is near by. The hotel is beautiful and HUGE, I think it has been renovated. The rooms are very spacious, mattress is firm and linens are nice. I had a king size room that even had a seating area and a desk. It has a fridge, which is cool if you are staying there for a lengthy period. The bathroom was HUGE had a nice bathtub, i got lots of towels. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Everyone talks to you and bends over backwards to tend to your needs. They have a nice lounge in the lobby, food and drinks are pretty good. I went there in December and they had amazing beautiful decorations. Lobby is very ample, also has a restaurant and little cafe, which are very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, you get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are grateful for your glowing review of the Omni Shoreham Hotel and are glad to read you enjoyed our location. Thank you for allowing us to read about your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed there over Christmas for a few days with 2 young kids. Zoo was within walking distance which was great. It was also very close to the subway station, and we were able to take the subway to various places in town. I will be honest that we were worried about the hotel being 'haunted' but nothing scary happened during our stay. The lobby was beautifully decorated, the staff was friendly, breakfast was a great spread, and room service was impeccable. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room far from the 'ghost suite' if you are worried!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Omni Shoreham on TripAdvisor! We are glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us and avoided an encounter with friendly but mischievous spirits. If you return to DC it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

There was a group of 4 of us that stayed at the Omni Shoreham for a conference. The hotel itself is gorgeoous and opulent. There is a lot of history to the hotel which was great to read about. We each had beautiful rooms and they were all layed out a little bit differently. All the amenities you need are provided and housekeeping kept everything stocked and clean for our rooms. There is wi-fi in the room. My room looked onto the street in front of the hotel and had a balcony. It was nice to sit on the bistro set in the sun and watch the people out front.
All the services were excellent.There were over 700 delegates at the conference and everyone was happy with the service provided. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful,including suggestions for some great restaurants,offering ideas on great places to visit while we were in town and providing directions and info on how to use the Metro. Although the escalator from street level to the metro is STEEP!! you can't beat the convenience of getting back and forth into DC from there.
Breakfast and lunch were provided at the hotel during the conference and it was good food and selection. We ate out of the hotel most days after the conference. Many great restaurants with in walking distance. We had breakfast at Open City which is right across the street and it was really good. It was BUSY every day but the food and service was good. We had lunch about 3 blocks away at Hot N Juicy Crawfish. They have great cajun/creole food. The service was efficient, the food was terrific and the beer was cheap. Mon-Wed $1. They have a great patio for people watching and having a great meal.
Woodley Park Zoo is within walking distance from the hotel and fun to walk through.
I would recommend the Omni Shoreham Hotel as it is a beautiful hotel, with great staff and in a terrific area with plenty to see within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Omni Shoreham in DC was a beautiful historical hotel. The history was very interesting and exciting to know that several celebrities stayed there and movies were filmed there. The staff are extra friendly and room was nice and big. Housekeeping stayed on stop on towels and emptied trash daily. I enjoyed my stay and felt very safe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are delighted to read how much you appreciated the history of our hotel and we are glad you were well taken care of by our housekeeping team. Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back to the Omni Shoreham again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My stay at the Omni was great! From the bell service to room service I could not have asked for better. The staff was professional and down right friendly. The rooms were superb. Comfortable and clean. The price was very reasonable. Less than a block from the Metro.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recommendation of the Omni Shoreham. We are glad you had a superb stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Comfortable room, they gave us a corner room which is always a bit bigger. The bed was nice, the bathroom was giant, clean and had heating lamps to keep you warm and dry you off after you get out of the shower (I had never seen that before). Perks include complimentary wi-fi, coffee , fruit and water for select Omni guests.

One gross out, after taking an afternoon nap I woke up to find a huge bed tick next to where I had been sleeping 20 minutes earlier. eeck! I flushed it and all was well in the world again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Classic King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you had a great stay but regret to read about your post nap encounter. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope this won't prevent you from considering us for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,977 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.