We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historical property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #15 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
JC,NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful historical property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights. It is typical of most Omni properties, an old nicely restored old hotel. The lobby is beautiful. The rooms are well appointed and our room was rather large with a odd shaped bathroom. The hotel is well located in Adams Morgan and very close to the metro. There are plenty of restaurants and shops (CVS, etc.) steps from the property. The service was very good with turn down service and milk and cookies for the kids. The rooms are very clean and the property is well maintained. It is a very nice hotel and if you get a good rate, can be a great bargain

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Omni Shoreham Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,588
    904
    242
    102
    59
See reviews for
753
629
143
1021
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. They give milk and cookies to kids on the first night of the stay. Super clean and spacious room. Clean bathroom. Excellent gym. Headphones and towels provided at the gym for the tvs. In room safe. Great location to the red line metro. Would definitely stay here again!,,

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to read about your stay. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a review of the restaurant bar only. Many have already commented on the rest of the hotel. The bar's food is very good. Go for the Dr. Peper BBQ wings and Duck Nachos. You won't regret it. If you sit at the bar the bartender takes care of you, even if you don't order alcohol. If you sit at the tables or couches in the bar area, a server will help you. Unfortunately, if you sit at the tables (and not bar) the bartender (old portly and almost bald guy) will not be prompt even getting you non alcholic drinks - he talked and talked to is bar customers while the server was patiently waiting to get the drink to get to you - the place wasn't busy either.
The bar ambience of the bar is great, quiet. Has 4 small screen TVs, but viewable. Some couches. Places to sit low down or high up. Dim lighting, which is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our lounge. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed the Dr. Pepper BBQ and the Duck Nachos. Please accept our apologies that your beverage orders were not served in a more prompt fashion. We will remind our bartender of the importance of taking care of all of the customers and not just those at the bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Lovely, historic, and gracious hotel. Spacious comfortable rooms. I felt very at home here. The staff, at all levels, is genuinely hospitable, polite, and pleasant. The restaurant and bar have good food, and there are nearby restaurants (check out the Lebanese Taverna). Lovely grounds and a good location with Rock Creek Park and its trails as a "backyard", and National Airport, Kennedy Center, and The Mall not far away. This is my first choice for a DC hotel when I travel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are thrilled to be your first choice for hotel accommodations in DC. Thank you for allowing us to serve you and we look forward to providing you with another great stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Generally, I will say that I probably would not stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel again. I stayed there this time because my conference was there. I got a good rate due to the conference, so I feel like the rate was reasonable.

1) What I liked:

My room was quiet and the room-to-room noise level was very low. I could hear doors closing in the hallways. The bed was comfortable.

2) Mixed reviews:

The gym is nice enough to use (which is not always the case for hotel gyms, in my opinion). The cardio equipment is top quality and the hotel had ample amounts of treadmills, bikes, and elliptical machines. I am more of a weight lifter and the free weight area was too small to use. One of the nicest things about the gym was the fact that the staff cleaned the gym equipment very regularly.

The staff: Some of the staff was friendly, others weren’t at all.

Internet: The hotel’s internet speed seemed to vary dramatically.

Location: The main tourist attractions (National Mall, etc.) are not within walking distance, but there are several restaurants close by. The National Zoo is within walking distance, which was nice. There is a Metro train within walking distance, however.

3) What I did not like:

My room smelled old and stale. It wasn’t terrible, but the room didn’t smell fresh at all.

Catering: The conference that I attended included a lunch catered by the hotel. It wasn’t very good at all. I heard a few others comment that the lunch wasn’t satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Truly a wonderful and beautiful place to stay. Rich in history. Great staff. Convenient to Metro and in a wonderful neighborhood. Search hard and enough and you can find great discounts -- which made it an incredible value. Rooms were clean, comfortable... all you could possibly expect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for complimentary review of the Omni Shoreham. We are glad all of your expectations were met while staying with us and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a 4night stay in October on holiday.I had researched this hotel and all the reviews on trip advisor were good.
It isnt right in the centre,but a five minute walk to the nearest tube and a few stops later,downtown and all the tourist attractions.Sometimes we walked in,took approx half an hour at a steady pace
The hotel is enormous 800rooms in two wings.The front of the hotel is on the main road,the rear overlooking the gardens and park,which was very peaceful.We asked for a quiet room and had one at the rear
All the staff were helpful and friendly.
The hotel has the wow factor when you walk in,it is so grand and impressive
We were checked in quickly and efficiently
The room was large and elegantly decorated.There was a walk in closet,with a motion sensor light in it
There were a few restaurants,diners and stores and McDonalds across the road from the hotel.So plenty of choice for eating out.
There was not one thing we could fault this hotel on
We will always have fond memories of our stay at this hotel and would reccommend it to anyone

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are glad you had a memorable stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel and we are grateful for your generous recommendation. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you will have a future opportunity to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.