We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice genteel old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice genteel old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lovely service by staff, beautiful hotel with loads of history, room clean but a little rundown but I guess to be expected of a hotel built in the 30's. The only difficulty was the noise at night and in the morning. They had a convention there and several of the attendees were on our floor. When they would come or go into their rooms the door would slam because it was really difficult to shut with the lock on. We were on the front of the hotel and the traffic, leaf blowers, and sirens were really loud. I liked the food in the restaurant but felt it was overpriced for the quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side it would be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any disruptions from your neighbors. If you return, please do not hesitate to let us know that you prefer a room in a quieter area of the hotel and we will do our best to make sure this request is accommodate. Thank you for also sharing your compliments of our staff and our history and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,905
    1,066
    300
    138
    72
See reviews for
883
731
164
1,292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice hotel generally. easy access with metro at woodley park-adams to national mall and downtown and suburban shopping centres. Close to many eateries. For those who are into shopping, go to pentagon City mall from here takes only about half an hour max.
This hotel doesn't include breakfast in the room rate. Wi-fi in the room only provided for preferred guests in their loyalty program, which I think should be extended to all guests.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at least from 5th floor above for better view of the surrounding area and away from str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are glad you had a great stay but regret that we didn't better communicate that our wifi is available to all guests in our guest rooms. All guests are welcome to sign up for our complimentary Select Guest program which provides wireless access at no charge but otherwise it is still available for a small fee. Thank you for reviewing the Omni Shoreham Hotel on TripAdvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is huge and lovely. It's like being transported back in time when stepping into the lobby. Beautiful chandeliers, period furnishings and impressively vast ceilings make this hotel lobby feel historic and opulent.

Due to an error, my family was upgraded to the presidential suite..... it was absolutely massive. Although the space could be used better, it was amazing to have a full dining room. Because of the layout of the hotel each room can be configured very differently,so some might be small or awkward. Check floor plans or request larger spaces if that's important to you.

All rooms will have access to a wonderful outdoor pool that our children loved. Prepare to be patient for the elevator, but you won't mind admiring the impressive halls while you wait!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our historic property and were able to experience one of our Presidential Suites. Thank you for reviewing the Omni Shoreham on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Room was large, clean, comfortable and well appointed. I'm not a fan of the giant , mall-like atmosphere of the hotel and the lobby area but appreciated the amenities and overall comfort level of the room. Conveniently located close to a metro and you can easily walk to Adams Morgan for access to restaurants and bars from the hotel (as long as you don't mind about a 15 minute walk). Again, while not personally a fan of the property's general layout and design, I would stay here again as the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel has a large beautiful lobby. Lots of pictures and history displayed in the hotel. Very beautiful grounds with a wedding during our stay. Lots of meeting rooms for business or other gatherings. Room was a little stale and had a small bathroom but clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We appreciate your complimentary review of the Omni Shoreham Hotel. It would be a pleasure for us to have you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern traveler
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have not yet stayed at the Omni Shoreham and am due to check in tomorrow. However, I am sitting at my desk looking at other options for my stay. My online check-in was unsuccessful and I called the 800 number for assistance. Incredibly rude, so I called the hotel directly. If Mary, on the 800 call was rude, there are no to words to describe the rudeness of the woman at the front desk at this hotel. I am still not certain if we have been checked in, but I'm betting against it! As a very frequent traveler, I have to say that this was the worst first impression I have experienced at any hotel! If we do decide to stay at the Omni, I hope my first impression was wrong!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Please accept our apologies for your experience prior to arriving. We truly hope you chose to stay so that we could provide you with the hospitality and service that our guests have come to expect and deserve at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at the Omni Shoreham for a weekend get away in late October. Hotel was away from the hustle and bustle of the city; however, was close enough via the subway to be just perfect. Hotel was only a few blocks from the Zoo, about a 5 minute walk to a subway stop and then less than a 10 minute subway ride to the center of DC. Hotel is older but has so much history, the lobby is filled with poster detailing special events that have been held at the hotel and famous folks who have stayed there. The only negative, was the size of the bathroom in our room, very small but clean. One suggestion if you are a breakfast person, purchase a package that includes the breakfast buffet, it is amazing. We stay their again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Omni Shoreham Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the history and location of our property and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.