We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Shoreham Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Shoreham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went to DC for the weekend and decided on this hotel because of its close location to both the subway and the zoo. It was a beautiful hotel and we loved staying there. The rooms were so big and were equipped with a mini fridge and safe. There was also coffee/tea in the room for morning. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your weekend getaway to the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    1,013
    280
    127
    67
See reviews for
845
698
155
1,186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is not the kind of hotel I would choose for my vacation; too sterile and impersonal, grandma style furniture ...
However, I was on a business trip attending a conference organized in this hotel. As a conference venue it was perfect. The large lobby space and wide alleys are ideal to meet and chat with people between or outside the sessions.
I liked my large bedroom. However, the bathroom was tiny. You have to leave the bathroom to have space to towel yourself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Although we regret that there were some aspects of your stay that didn't meet your expectations we appreciate the opportunity to hear about them. We are glad that you were impressed by the conference facilities and hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh , VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

First off, the Omni offered us a great military discount. Even better, the room was spacious, clean, comfortable, lovely decor including plush pillows and bed linens. No, the decor isn't modern, it's a grand ole dame type of place. The location was excellent for us.
We would love to stay again!
Thanks, Omni

Room Tip: Others had mentioned to choose a higher floor, corner, for less noise and good view--I agree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our military discount. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAYS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I spent a week in the Omni. Each morning, coffee, juice or tea was delivered to my room, set outside my door, followed by a gentle knock. Each evening I arrived to a turned down and straighten room.

The bedroom was spacious, with a high definition television. It had a walk-closet, a dressing room and a seperate bath room.

The lobby is large and historic.

It was a real pleasure.

The staff was lovely, polite and helpful.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor. I had a wonderful view each evening and morning of the Washington Monume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you were well taken care of during your time with us and enjoyed the perks of being a Select Guest Member. Thank you for reviewing the Omni Shoreham Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel (we had already stayed at Fairmont) for an extended break in the DC area. Moved hotels due to the 'scarcity' of rooms in original hotel

This is a large hotel, with many period features (1930’s) and historic stories and guests. Its challenge (in my opinion) lies in it’s broad history and what seems to be plan to cater for business travellers and corporate functions/meetings.

It is tired (even after a recent (when?) modernisation/make-over! Small, simple areas (all in isolation, are nothing to concern me – however together!), like; carpet in front of check in desk – threadbare. Décor of corridors (carpet, paint, doors) is tired, chipped and at times messy.

Rooms – old furniture stains and tired looking.

Bathroom – adequate

Lifts – old, slow and temperamental (but not a huge issue)

Area - good local restaurants and breakfast place

Front desk – helpful, but forgetful

Valet parking – shambolic at times


It is very difficult to get excited about the hotel – it is reasonable from a price point. But still misses a trick with the ‘holidaymaker’ – though this may not be an issue for business and corporate meeting clientele

We would not rush back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We regret to read that we missed the mark on several aspects of your recent stay. We are aware that there are some aspects of our public areas that could use some updates and our renovation team is in the process of improving these areas. Please know that all of your feedback is taken very seriously and it helps us determine where we can best focus our efforts to provide our guests with a wonderful experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope for a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I can not say enough about this hotel. Our room was fantastic! There were 3 of us (all women), so we shared a bathroom. It got a little tricky, but we managed. Hotel staff was wonderful! Concierge staff was so knowledgable! Very very helpful. On our last day, after checking out of our room, while we were waiting for the shuttle to the airport, one person in our party wasn't feeling well. The manager not only managed to get us back in our room, but had soup and ginger ale sent to the room so she could rest and eat a little. I felt that was going above and beyond what was expected. I would LOVE to come back to this lovely hotel again soon. Open City restaurant across the street ROCKS! We spent the morning of Hurricane Sandy in Open City. They were awesome! Metro station is convenient for travel too. I can't think of one bad thing to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
What a pleasure for us to read your glowing review of the Omni Shoreham Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope that you will think of us if your travels bring you back to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It has been 25+ years since I last stayed here and Wow!, what a difference. Not sure when it was renovated, but this is now a most gracious, but comfortable and unpretentious property. The rooms are nice, the meeting spaces huge and the staff incredibly friendly and gracious.

Steps away from the Metro, this is a great jumping off point for tourists or business people.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing south have best views and are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are delighted to read that you were pleasantly surprised by your return to the Omni Shoreham. Thank you for allowing us to read about your stay and we hope you will be our guest again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Shoreham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.