We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love This Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE 10%
Ranked #40 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I Love This Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've stayed here several times. This boutique hotel is trendy, the staff is very accommodating, the rooms are nice, but a little cramped, and the location is a plus if you like to be close, but not in the hustle and bustle of DC. For me, the hotel has a nostalgic, throw back feel, and if you are a hopeless romantic, or love peace and quiet, this is the hotel for you! I've booked guests here as well. I'm always happy to get the Normandy when I book thru Priceline. It's one of my DC favs!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    129
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
59
98
17
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edwards
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

One of the best hotel staffs I've ever encountered. Incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. Very clean and comfortable rooms, and a great location close to numerous shops restaurants and the metro.

Room Tip: Rooms can be a little smaller which can be fine for a couple, but if you have kids or need a crib ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rates, location and staff are excellent. Clean, updated rooms. Convenient walking to surrounding hotels, restaurants, the National Zoo and shopping. Easy and inexpensive to get a cab to visit the sites! Can't wait to schedule another trip and go again!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Holly H, Thank you for you 5 star review of our hotel. It was nice to read that you liked so many things about the hotel, especially the rooms and location. We also agree with you that our staff is excellent. We can't wait for you to schedule your next trip and visit us again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was a great hotel stay, with a clean, nicely decorated room and fantastic service. The room is small, but it was perfect for my needs. If you are looking for an older hotel with some charm this fits the bill nicely.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear David F, We thank you for the very nice 5 star review of The Normandy. It was nice to read that we met your business needs and that you found our service fantastic. We hope that you will become a regular. When you return, please ask about our Modus Insider program. It offers you additional discounts and perks. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just got back from a week's long stay in DC for a fairly major "fly-in". The major convention type hotels were booked solid, so my group chose a nearby botique hotel. The Normandy Hotel was a well kept, nicely staffed and affordable choice for a arms length crash pad.

This hotel is located in the heart for the embassy neighborhood. This alone makes it a cool choice in terms of living the Washington, DC experience. Interesting arcitectue abounds when walking though the directly ajoining neighborhoods. Great sidewalks and tree shaded strolls make you want to "walk there" instead of taking a Uber.

Regarding "cunninary travel", I "visited" a differnt country each day I was there, and could have gone at least 4 more all within strolling distance. The only sub par food that I consumed was all that moument crap.

I heard some chatter in the elevator about how The Normandy Hotel was too far from the monuments and my response to her was, that is a good thing. This location will personalize your experience more, and the cab/Uber ride is only 25 or so bucks.

I'll be back to enjoy the value of this cool hotel.

Cam Cridlebaugh

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cam C, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and for spending a week with us. It was wonderful to read that you had a very nice stay with us and emerged yourself in the DC neighborhood experience. It is quite a city we live in. We hope the next time you visit Washington, you choose to stay with us again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot say enough about how wonderful this hotel was after other business travel experiences. I enjoyed the quaint and cozy atmosphere and the staff service is beyond excellent. The room amenities are top of the line, free wi-fi and the wine/cheese hour is a nice touch. It was very walkable from DuPont, but seemed tucked away from the busy streets. This is a great alternative if you have a meeting at the Washington Hilton and you don't mind walking a couple of blocks. The only downfall is its proximity to the Hill and the touristy areas of the Mall, but if you don't mind catching the Metro, it's a perfect location for staying in DC.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jill C, Thank you for you taking the time to give us a 5 star review. We are so happy that you enjoyed so many things about your stay like the free wi-fi, complimentary wine hour and our amenities. We truly appreciate that you found our staff beyond excellent. That's quite a compliment. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope your next visit is very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, AK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Normandy Hotel delivered the best hotel experience I've ever had. Can't beat the in-room Nespresso machine, free Wi-Fi, and wine and cheese hour. It's located in a great neighborhood where many embassies are located and is a short walk to great restaurants and bars. I'm so glad the hotel hosting my conference sold out! One morning before the conference started I had the best time just wandering the neighborhood and enjoying peoples gardens. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to DC for business or pleasure. While it is far from the usual tourist attractions, after a long day of sight-seeing, I would rather retire to a quiet hotel on a residential street near places where the locals eat than a huge hotel filled with tourists. What a gem!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear omkitty2000, Thank you for you fantastic review of our property. From the Nespresso machine to the gardens in our neighborhood, we are so pleased that you "Loved All Of It". We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope you come back to see us very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.