We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE 10%
Ranked #47 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed on floor 5, in a corner room, which was AMAZING!
I loved everything about this hotel!
Comfy beds, quiet, clean, good TV channels, nespresso coffee pods, L'Occitane amenities, seat in the shower, waterfall showerhead.

This boutique hotel was so pretty, luxurious and good value for money.

The only downside is that the walk was too far to the monuments/White House. We ended up getting a taxi down to them ($9).

Room Tip: Get a room with a seat in the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    113
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
55
88
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice small hotel on a lovely street with beautiful home and embassies. The rooms were quite small for 2. Some small things could be fixed - The door to the room was hard to open, I had issues operating the expresso machine, and the room could have used new pillows. That being said, the staff was very helpful and the wine in the afternoon was a nice touch. The downstairs lounge was cozy, and I'm sure the patios are great in warmer weather. It's a fun place if you want to feel like you are traveling somewhere, instead of staying in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear ASJM, Thank you for your review of The Normandy. We're sorry that you had a issues with your door, Nespresso machine and pillows. We were very happy to read that you found our staff very friendly and had a chance to enjoy our nightly wine hour. We hope you get a chance to come back when the weather warms up up so you can enjoy our outdoor spaces and relax a little. See you soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for one week whilst on business. I was attending a conference and dont like staying in the same hotel as the conference, partly because they are large and faceless and it feels like you never leave work.

I found this hotel on google search, it was a great place to stay. Each day as I left they wished me good day and used my first name so you didnt feel like a number. I had a room allocated with shower only and when I asked for a bath they moved me to an upgraded room at no extra cost.

The breakfast was basic and self service, but that was all i needed. So if you are looking to escape the big chain hotel and want small, comfy and friendly place then you should check this out

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Dawn M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We're happy that you thought of us as small and friendly. We're also glad that you didn't feel like a number. In a hotel this size, we have the opportunity to get to know our guests and personalize their stay. It looks like we succeeded with you. Thank you for recommending us and we hope we get the chance to welcome you back very soon,
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, I recommend this hotel as a great alternative to the "chain" hotels. I truly felt like a guest in someone's (large but not ginormous) home.

It does show some wear, but you can't beat the location or the value. My room was lovely, with a Colonial feel. My bed was very comfortable, and what a treat to have a Nespresso machine in the room!

All the staff members with whom I had interactions were very kind and friendly. I purchased the package that included breakfast, which was served in a light and airy room that, were the weather to have been warmer, opens up onto a small courtyard. The offerings included fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, breakfast breads, hardboiled eggs, various juices and coffees, cold cereals, etc. Several copies of the Wall Street Journal were available to read as well.

Because the building used to be (I would surmise) a former home, the first floor contained five smaller gathering places that were all connected but which provided several opportunities for intimate gatherings. And for those who enjoy wine, guests are welcome each evening to take part in a complimentary wine and cheese hour in these rooms.

If I have any complaints, the walls of the guest rooms are not as soundproof as perhaps the chain hotels are -- I could hear movement and the shower / toilet of the room adjoining mine. Also, for some reason, the sound on my television would randomly cut out from time to time, but would then come back on. These were pretty minor "negatives" overall for me, however.

The hotel is located about five or six blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro Station, and getting around is very easy.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor; next time I'd like to be up two or three floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Jessica J, Thank you for the very nice and thorough review of our hotel. It was wonderful to read that you found so many things to like about us, particularly our nightly wine hour, breakfast and our location. It was especially delightful to see that you found our staff kind and friendly. We'd like to apologize for the noise you encountered and the fact your TV lost sound, on occasion, but glad you were able to overlook those items. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return visit.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group of 32 here for a conference. The hotel could not have been more accommodating! All of our rooms were ready when we arrived and the manager was there to greet us. The hotel staff was lovely and helpful. The rooms were well appointed. Loved the occtaine products in the bathroom. Looking forward to staying here again soon!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear louise540, Thank you for choosing The Normandy for your group and for the fantastic review. It was wonderful to read that you felt we accommodated everyone so well and that you found our staff lovely and helpful. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome all of you back to our hotel very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebush, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cute little boutique hotel near Dupont Circle in DC. Loved that it was smaller and more personal. Everyone working in the hotel was helpful, everyone. The wine and cheese party was nice and the availability of coffee and orange water 24/7 was very nice. The rate was wonderful, the room was great, and clean and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Therese V, Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel. It was very nice to read that you found our hotel more personal than others and our staff so helpful. We're happy that you enjoyed some of our amenities like the nightly wine hour, 24 hour fresh brewed coffee and the orange infused water. We look forward to your next visit. Hopefully, that's very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the cheapest hotels in the city when I was booking, so I was skeptical, but really pleasantly surprised. The rooms, while small (European-sized), had a ton of character - more than most hotels. The rooms had their own espresso machines, nice wallpaper, and all-marble bathrooms. Not entirely sure why it was so cheap... It's in a great area, too! Easy walking distance from Dupont. However, we did have some issues. One day the heater got stuck on - annoying, but it was fixed later. I also had one of the bathroom door handles fall off, but really not a big deal. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Matthew S, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. Is was nice to read that you were pleasantly surprised after your initial skepticism when you booked. We're glad you enjoyed so many things about your room like the Nespresso makers, decor and our location. We were also happy to see that you'll back. Hopefully, that's very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.