We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT GET 10% OFF
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at The Normandy hotel in december 2014. First, the location is very nice, in a quiet location close from all embassy and consulate (very nice to walk around). The subway/metro is close, and the Georgetown district is close and very pretty and enjoyable. Then, the staff is very nice. The rooms are fancy and well equipped (wonderful beds and pillow!). The hotel is charming and fancy. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    103
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
82
14
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 3 nights in October as a solo traveller and had a lovely time. The front of house staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. The hotel is on a quiet residential street 5 min walk from Dupont Circle where i found numerous restaurants, coffee shops, a great bookstore and a lovely Farmers Market on a Sunday. the Metro station is very swift to get you to the National Mall and places of interest.

i felt very safe walking to this hotel at night on my own, the are and location were good.

the room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. the only thing i would say for my room is that the windows faced the courtyard (ground floor) where people were sitting having breakfast. so i could never open up my blinds so had not much natural light, just the light from the lamps etc. that was a little disappointing. everything else was great.

If i came back to Washington i would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: not ground floor facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location if you need to be by Dupont Circle. All staff is helpful and know the area. One of the Big Bus pick up locations is just accross the street. Quiet at night. And they offer breakfast for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were thrilled with this property! Where do I start? The bathroom is amazing! Huge shower, great night light, beautiful toiletries. Our twin double room was plenty big enough, probably too much furniture in the room but we moved things around to suit us. The coffee machine is a welcome touch, no problem getting some milk from reception to keep in the fridge.
Wine & Cheese hour is a great idea, BJ was a wonderful host. It is a very attractive & welcoming sitting room.
One of the best things about this hotel is the location, my daughter & I felt very safe walking out in the evening to go to dinner, a few blocks take you to DuPont Circle with lots of options for dining and transport on the subway to Washington attractions.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. Hotel is chic, stylish yet cosy at the same time. Felt very relaxing after a long day sightseeing. Located in a lovely area, friendly staff, cheese and wine hour was a nice tough. Felt at home and didn't want to leave! Would stay here again in a heartbeat :)

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Charming boutique hotel with a very gracious staff. Service & friendly staff outstanding. Lovely evening wine, tea, coffee & delicious chocolate chip cookies plus more health conscious breakfast.
Cozy & comfortable seating areas with fireplace to relax after a full day.

Rooms are a little small but nicely done & high tech bathroom fixtures & automatic night light to light the way as you enter.

Will definitely stay there again if returning. Great location!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm reluctant to share this review, as I'm concerned about what might happen when this treasured secret in the heart of DC goes viral.

This hotel is an absolute gem near the Dupont Circle area of D.C. The location is perfect, the staff is enthusiastically welcoming, and accommodations are wonderful. It is true that you may get not get the "hotel chain" experience of lodging, but that is partly what makes it so wonderful. It is European in its style, welcoming in its tone, relaxing in its tenor, exceedingly reasonable in its price.

So if you're visiting DC, and looking for a smaller, more intimate, more reasonable hotel experience then by all means check into the Normandy and allow yourself to get acquainted with the cozy, serene, and friendly setting. If you're visiting DC and would rather be treated like a number, a statistic, a cold cog in the wheel, then by all means pay more to stay more in one of the other hotels around the corner.

Just careful with whom you share this... I want this treasure to still have openings next time I visit!

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, room 404, facing the street, and had no outside noise or interference whatso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.