We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT GET 10% OFF
Ranked #49 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Tucson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location if you need to be by Dupont Circle. All staff is helpful and know the area. One of the Big Bus pick up locations is just accross the street. Quiet at night. And they offer breakfast for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    102
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
49
82
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were thrilled with this property! Where do I start? The bathroom is amazing! Huge shower, great night light, beautiful toiletries. Our twin double room was plenty big enough, probably too much furniture in the room but we moved things around to suit us. The coffee machine is a welcome touch, no problem getting some milk from reception to keep in the fridge.
Wine & Cheese hour is a great idea, BJ was a wonderful host. It is a very attractive & welcoming sitting room.
One of the best things about this hotel is the location, my daughter & I felt very safe walking out in the evening to go to dinner, a few blocks take you to DuPont Circle with lots of options for dining and transport on the subway to Washington attractions.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. Hotel is chic, stylish yet cosy at the same time. Felt very relaxing after a long day sightseeing. Located in a lovely area, friendly staff, cheese and wine hour was a nice tough. Felt at home and didn't want to leave! Would stay here again in a heartbeat :)

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Charming boutique hotel with a very gracious staff. Service & friendly staff outstanding. Lovely evening wine, tea, coffee & delicious chocolate chip cookies plus more health conscious breakfast.
Cozy & comfortable seating areas with fireplace to relax after a full day.

Rooms are a little small but nicely done & high tech bathroom fixtures & automatic night light to light the way as you enter.

Will definitely stay there again if returning. Great location!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm reluctant to share this review, as I'm concerned about what might happen when this treasured secret in the heart of DC goes viral.

This hotel is an absolute gem near the Dupont Circle area of D.C. The location is perfect, the staff is enthusiastically welcoming, and accommodations are wonderful. It is true that you may get not get the "hotel chain" experience of lodging, but that is partly what makes it so wonderful. It is European in its style, welcoming in its tone, relaxing in its tenor, exceedingly reasonable in its price.

So if you're visiting DC, and looking for a smaller, more intimate, more reasonable hotel experience then by all means check into the Normandy and allow yourself to get acquainted with the cozy, serene, and friendly setting. If you're visiting DC and would rather be treated like a number, a statistic, a cold cog in the wheel, then by all means pay more to stay more in one of the other hotels around the corner.

Just careful with whom you share this... I want this treasure to still have openings next time I visit!

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, room 404, facing the street, and had no outside noise or interference whatso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is perfect. The location is good for ding, walking and not too far from metro.

Our room was beautifully appointed. Did wish for a bathtub.

Day crew was swell. One night clerk was less than friendly or helpful.

Wine and cheese hour was sweet, but limited.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Massimovenezia, Thank you for the very nice review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments about the day staff and apologize for the night clerk you found less than friendly or helpful. As you can tell, this is not the norm for our staff at The Normandy and are very glad that you could look beyond it. We will use your comments for training. We hope to see you back very soon and when calling for reservations please make sure to ask for a room with a tub, as they are limited. We will certainly make every effort to accommodate your request.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is awesome, plain and simple. It is a small hotel with a very helpful staff, that greet and speak with you every time you come in and out. They have nice sized rooms for DC, and for this price, it can't be beat. I believe we paid about $160 a night. This is definitely a great value, very close to many, many restaurants and the metro/subway stop is about a 5ish minute walk. This hotel is meant to feel very homey, and there is a comfortable sitting/reading/game room filled with books and cozy furniture. THERE IS A FREE WINE HAPPY HOUR DAILY !!!!! (with snacks) The staff that serve this are very friendly and will ask you about your trip/what you're doing that day/and are happy to share tips for visiting DC. There are also two outdoor courtyards to use, but it was a bit too cool for us to use them, unfortunately. There were foreign visitors, business people, and families all staying at this hotel. We enjoyed meeting the other travelers there :) There are espresso machines in each room, as well as free bottled water daily as well as a mini fridge. My main tip is to look for the deal in which you can get the breakfast added on for $1 per person per day instead of the $12- very European style breakfast. The only "issue" we had was that our flight got in quite late (after midnight) and so the room we had wanted with 2 beds was not available when we arrived. (We booked through priceline, which does not guarantee which room you will get, actually). Normandy, instead, gave us two adjoining rooms so we would have the two beds, which was much appreciated.
STAY AT THIS HOTEL !!!!! YOU ROCK, NORMANDY!!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Laura K, Thank you calling us awesome. Not many reviews start like that. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed so many things about our hotel, especially wine hour and our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future because YOU ROCK Laura! The next time you do book, call us directly and we might be able to get you a better price than going through Priceline.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.