We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at a Cozy Boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay at a Cozy Boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location and the friendliness of staff is a major plus for The Normandy Hotel. Even though the rooms were small but they were well kept.
With an entrance to the open terrace from the room, it perfectly catered to the needs for short stay travelers.

Located at 10 mins walk from the metro and the busy cafes, it offers a good value for money.

Even though its not comparable to a fancy high-end hotel, but I'll term it as a cozy boutique hotel ideally suited for short stay travelers in the mid of main DC.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, look for a balcony access room on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear AmmarMursalin, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed our location and friendliness of of our staff. We appreciate your recommendation and truly hope to welcome you back to The Normandy in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    90
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
45
73
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great hotel with the friendliest staff I've ever encountered. Chez and Charlie were so helpful. Rooms are very nice. Marble baths, Nespresso machines and fridges in the rooms. Location is in a quiet, lovely, residential neighborhood and just a 10 minute walk to the Metro. Wine and cheese hour was also very nice. We very much enjoyed our stay. We felt like we were at home. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kathy B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many things about the hotel and your room, like wine hour and the Nespresso machine. What was especially wonderful to see is that you felt at home and that you thought our staff was the friendliest you've ever encountered. Wow! We will definitely recognize Chez and Charlie for their efforts during your stay. Again, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We hope to see you back very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This quaint hotel was the perfect spot for my parents' latest trip to DC. They loved being so close to all of their favorite destinations and enjoyed taking in the beautiful neighborhood architecture. But most importantly, the staff and customer service were exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Brittany M, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We were very pleased to read that that you thought we were the perfect spot to host your parents. It was wonderful to see that you thought our staff and customer service were exceptional. This is what we strive for on a daily basis. We hope to welcome you and your parents back to The Normandy in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Normandy is a small hotel in a very nice neighborhood near many embassies. It is located near Dupont Circle where there are many interesting restaurants. My husband and I stayed there for four nights in August. Our room looked like it had been recently remodeled and was nicely appointed. (I loved the lamps!) It was extremely clean and quiet and the staff was remarkably friendly and helpful, especially Charlie. This is definitely an older hotel with charm & character.
There is also a living room area off the lobby with sofas and chairs/tables, board games, etc. I especially enjoyed the lemon/orange water that was always available in that area. It was a small, but nice, touch. The rates for this hotel were extremely reasonable for Washington DC. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear NYSpike07, Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review of our hotel and spending four nights with us. It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed so much about the hotel, especially that you found our staff remarkably friendly and helpful. We will make sure to recognize Charlie for his efforts. We truly hope to welcome you back to The Normandy the next time you travel through Washington.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm glad I stayed at this hotel. It was on a quiet street. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The a/c was quite so I didn't have to take an Ambien to sleep....that means a lot. Also, I didn't have an OCD flare up except while in the bathroom. In the shower, I noticed a space where the tile wall and floor meet needed some grout. It made me feel like water would be leaking under the walls and into the floor wall. If I had a tube of grout I would have done it myself. They have windows that can be opened a little and that helps out a lot. The dark out window treatments are great. The décor is pleasing. All in all, I would stay at this place a week and would still like it. I cannot say that about many places. I cannot say that about any places period. like never.

Room Tip: Don't eat pizza at the place to the right down the hill a ways. The dough is pre-made and the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jan H, Thank you for your review of The Normandy. We were very pleased to read that you were glad you made the choice to stay with us and that you enjoyed so many things about your room. (Sorry about the chipped grout in the shower, though). We hope to welcome you back in the very near future and hopefully, as you wrote, it is for a full week.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a nice little hotel in the NW part of the city. Very short walk to Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle. It lacked a bar but the staff was so friendly and accommodating. Rooms were updated and very beautifully appointed. I will go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Maura F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was very nice to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately we do not have a bar, as you wrote, but we do offer a complimentary wine hour each evening. We hope that upon your next visit, you'll be able to take advantage that amenity. Thank you again and we hope to see back very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greeted in the lobby by an amazing smell, candles lit, and a bowl of fresh fruit. The lounge area was lovely, with coffee and breakfast options. Our room was very clean, but quite small. And we experienced some problems with noisy guests across the hall. The location was away from the city center, but we didn't mind walking a few blocks to the subway stop. The neighborhood was very safe and quaint. Overall, we were pleased, but might try something different next time we're in DC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Bethany L, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel, during your visit. We do apologize for the noisy neighbors. Some things are out of our control but we hope that it was taken care of quickly. Again, thank you and we do hope that the next time you travel to Washington, you choose to stay at The Normandy.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;