We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'm glad I stayed at this hotel. It was on a quiet street. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The a/c was quite so I didn't have to take an Ambien to sleep....that means a lot. Also, I didn't have an OCD flare up except while in the bathroom. In the shower, I noticed a space where the tile wall and floor meet needed some grout. It made me feel like water would be leaking under the walls and into the floor wall. If I had a tube of grout I would have done it myself. They have windows that can be opened a little and that helps out a lot. The dark out window treatments are great. The décor is pleasing. All in all, I would stay at this place a week and would still like it. I cannot say that about many places. I cannot say that about any places period. like never.

Room Tip: Don't eat pizza at the place to the right down the hill a ways. The dough is pre-made and the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Jan H, Thank you for your review of The Normandy. We were very pleased to read that you were glad you made the choice to stay with us and that you enjoyed so many things about your room. (Sorry about the chipped grout in the shower, though). We hope to welcome you back in the very near future and hopefully, as you wrote, it is for a full week.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    88
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
73
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a nice little hotel in the NW part of the city. Very short walk to Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle. It lacked a bar but the staff was so friendly and accommodating. Rooms were updated and very beautifully appointed. I will go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Maura F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was very nice to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately we do not have a bar, as you wrote, but we do offer a complimentary wine hour each evening. We hope that upon your next visit, you'll be able to take advantage that amenity. Thank you again and we hope to see back very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were greeted in the lobby by an amazing smell, candles lit, and a bowl of fresh fruit. The lounge area was lovely, with coffee and breakfast options. Our room was very clean, but quite small. And we experienced some problems with noisy guests across the hall. The location was away from the city center, but we didn't mind walking a few blocks to the subway stop. The neighborhood was very safe and quaint. Overall, we were pleased, but might try something different next time we're in DC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Bethany L, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel, during your visit. We do apologize for the noisy neighbors. Some things are out of our control but we hope that it was taken care of quickly. Again, thank you and we do hope that the next time you travel to Washington, you choose to stay at The Normandy.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found this hotel really clean. The rooms were really well furnished. In fact, this is one of the better hotels we have stayed in on our trip on the East Coast! The staff was also very friendly. It was a bit out of the way from the sightseeing sites, but that could also be seen as an advantage (good night's sleep without noise).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Rissa 1993, Thank you for your recent review of The Normandy. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. We were happy to read that you had a great stay and took advantage of our quiet neighborhood to get a good night's sleep. We hope to see you back with us again in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved this hidden gem in a pretty neighborhood. They even have a garage in the basement so we felt our vehicle was secure. Room was small but perfect. Had all the lighting, tables, and cool coffee machine! Had to figure out use- bit messy. Bath was beautiful and very nice. Love the soap and shampoo. Great night. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear redfireant, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was great to read that you discovered us and were so pleased with what we have to offer, like our L'Occitane bath products and Nespresso coffee machines. We truly hope we have the honor of welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I arrived here at midnight (not the best time) since their parking lot is VERY limited. I cant park there, and the receptionist suggested me to go to park at courtyard, but i finally parked at Hilton since it's cheaper. Once again, hotel need to have a sign esp at night so that guests dont need to wandering whole block to find it. Despite all that, the room is so pretty and i like the bathroom decoration, so exquisite. FYI, the room is so small, you wont have much room to place things. I like the staff when i checked out, he is so informative and friendly, instead the other one when we checked in. And they have a very slow wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Yentes, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We would like to apologize for the difficulty you had in parking your vehicle with us and the fact you had a difficult time finding us. As you wrote, the number of spaces we have available is, indeed, limited but rarely does it fill up to the point we can't take our guest's vehicles. Unfortunately, this was one of those rare times. As far as a sign goes, we do have one that is generally illuminated throughout the night. In this case the bulb burned out not long before you arrived and we couldn't replace it until the next day when our engineer came in. We are very sorry about that. We were pleased to read that you found the room exquisite and the staff member that checked you out left a positive impression. The size of our rooms is fairly typical of most major cities. We are sorry that you found yours small. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope that the consider us again, should your travels bring you back to Washington.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This boutique hotel had everything we needed. Beautifully decorated rooms, always spotless, complimentary water in our fridge every day. Cheese and wine hour each day was also a plus. Very friendly staff and the hotel was only a 5 minute walk to the metro! Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Emma N, Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed the decor of our rooms and the complimentary wine hour. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.