We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Normandy is well situated, being only a short walk from shops, restaurants and transport routes. We walked out each morning, caught a bus to various attractions, came back in the evening and were able to find good restaurants for dinner. We particularly liked Ruth and Chris's Steakhouse.
The staff at The Normandy were very helpful re tourist activities. Breakfast was served in a pleasant sunny little room with a courtyard. It was simple and wholesome, with lovely bakery goods and fruits.
Our beds were comfortable and the room well appointed, with a lovely bathroom. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    83
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
65
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My 21 year old son and I recently stayed at the Normandy when we vacationed in Washington DC. We found the hotel while going through an old (2007) Frommer's travel book--it was listed as the "Best Inexpensive Hotel" in Washington DC. We checked current TripAdvisor comments and the current price and decided to go for it! The hotel/surroundings felt very safe, located near Embassy Row, just off a main street. The rooms were small, but quaint, and our room had an expresso machine rather than a coffee maker. Staff were on-site 24/7 and were exceptionally friendly/helpful! We met other guests at breakfast, at the free evening wine/cheese/chocolate hour, and in the beautiful, relaxing "courtyard" area (with tables/chairs/couch and a small fountain) in front. All the other guests we met were from other countries (but spoke English)--including a family with 3 young children from Germany; a wonderful teenager from Belgium, and later his family; a United Kingdom exchange student coordinator; and a retired couple from Australia. All were delightful to visit with! Other things we liked about the hotel: multiple sitting areas in the lobby; free internet; and free computer/printer near the front desk. The hotel is halfway between 2 Metro stops on the red line (we loved the red line!)--Dupont Circle and Woodley Park--it was a half mile to each, about a 10-12 minute, very pleasant, interesting walk with multiple restaurants/shops. (The hotel is on a quiet block, just a bit off a main street which has buses.) The walk from Dupont Circle to the hotel is pretty much uphill all the way; it is level walking to Woodley Park. The only "challenges" at the hotel were that texts failed to send consistently from our room (no internet problems though), and although the continental breakfast was delicious, it was short staffed with one person refilling everything constantly on a Saturday morning. We both highly recommend the Normandy!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Pam A, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Normandy. It was so nice to read that you had such a great stay with us and met so many interesting people. We were delighted that you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities like wine hour, the Nespresso machines, breakfast and our courtyard. Thank you for the recommendation and we do hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We used to live in DC and were returning after seven years. We didn't want a chain hotel, same wherever in the world. We wanted somewhere good for exploring on foot. The Normandy was just right. A stroll down the hill to DuPont Circle with its upmarket slightly bohemian feel, interesting food and drink, bookshops etc. not so far to walk to the White House and Mall. Car hire too, nearby, at the Hilton and Marriott on Calvert Street.

The staff are so helpful. The wine-and-cheese hour is a lovely social occasion. Our room was not the largest and the neighbours noisy but we were at home. The lift is a bit old and needs some of the lights on the floor indicators fixing but in a small hotel we weren't inconvenienced. We shall return

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear GBeef, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was nice to read that it felt like home. That's how we want our guests to feel. It was also nice to read that you found it so easy to get around from here and that the staff was so helpful to you. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you through the area, you choose to stay with us again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was booked for me by someone else - I would never have found it. Although a bit hard to find initially (because it is off the main road), the atmosphere was very residential outside and it felt like I as visiting a friend's home, rather than a hotel. The front desk staff was more helpful than any 5-star hotel. The rooms were comfortable, although the mattress was a bit old and the bedside reading lights were almost falling out of the walls. All in all though, I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear travel4business, Thank you for your recent review of The Normandy. We were very glad that you found our staff so helpful and that you felt like you were a t a friend's house. That's the way we want everyone to feel. We'd also like to apologize for the bedside lights. Sorry we missed that. Thank you again and we hope to see you back with us again, very soon
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has a great atmosphere, it is relaxed and the staff do a very good job. I
I would happily give it a 'very good', but for the breakfast. This is meant to be a continental breakfast, but lacks cheese, ham or salami, tomatoes, and is graced with terrible sliced bread. The breakfast consists of dusty looking cereal, some pastries, and hard boiled eggs. An odd meal, and far from healthy. On the first day we set off to get breakfast down at Dupont Circle. This was fine, but since my hotel bill included breakfast it meant I was paying twice.
For those of you who read other reviews here: the Wifi worked perfectly and the room was clean. Use this happy hotel as a base in DC. But eat your breakfast somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear walton_rebecca, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were glad to read that you had a good stay with us and found us a good home base to explore Washington. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the breakfast offerings. The items you said we were lacking are generally not typical of a continental breakfast in the states but it is something were are considering switching to. Thank you for the honest feedback. This really helps us grow. We truly hope that the next time you visit Washington, you choose to stay with us again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. We had rooms facing the street, and in a week stay did not hear one vehicle or voice during the night. Bed was very comfortable, cookies during happy hour were a bonus for the non-wine drinkers, and the motion night light in the bathroom was a genius safety bonus for travelers. The hotel is in a tree lined safe feeling neighborhood conveniently located between two Metro stops. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We faced the front on the second floor and found it to be quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear cautiousfoodie, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you found the rooms clean and comfortable. We're also very glad that you enjoyed our fresh baked cookies, as well. Whenever your travels bring you through the DC area, we hope you choose to stay at The Normandy again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Generally older hotels have to rely on panache rather than scale and the Normandy feels like the perfect size in that regard. It is tucked into a "neighborhood" just off some main shopping streets in downtown Washington DC. There is valet parking with in and out privileges and it is also close enough to walk to the Metro station. We arrived a little early, and they were quick to accommodate us. There is no fitness facility on-site but there is access to a very nice facility at no charge. It is a short walk away and although I set off with the best intentions of working out, I got sidetracked by a boutique that offered hair-braiding services. :-) There were restaurants and shops within walking distance. The rooms were small but comfortable. The bedding was fantastic. Everybody was very friendly. They had a good breakfast in a dining area that was more like a living room than a cafeteria style which was nice because it facilitated comfortable conversation with other guests. I did not partake of the wine tasting, but was told that they provide wine tasting in the evening so that guests can enjoy the hotel and the company. Overall I give Normandy 5 stars. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor on the street side. I thought it was fine. It was quiet and the windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MNOtoole, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of The Normandy. It was great to read that you found everyone friendly and that you enjoyed our breakfast. Hopefully, the next time you visit us, you'll actually make it to Mint, our fully service fitness and spa partner. Hope to see you very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.