We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great home base for DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Longview Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“great home base for DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. We had rooms facing the street, and in a week stay did not hear one vehicle or voice during the night. Bed was very comfortable, cookies during happy hour were a bonus for the non-wine drinkers, and the motion night light in the bathroom was a genius safety bonus for travelers. The hotel is in a tree lined safe feeling neighborhood conveniently located between two Metro stops. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We faced the front on the second floor and found it to be quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    81
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
64
9
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Generally older hotels have to rely on panache rather than scale and the Normandy feels like the perfect size in that regard. It is tucked into a "neighborhood" just off some main shopping streets in downtown Washington DC. There is valet parking with in and out privileges and it is also close enough to walk to the Metro station. We arrived a little early, and they were quick to accommodate us. There is no fitness facility on-site but there is access to a very nice facility at no charge. It is a short walk away and although I set off with the best intentions of working out, I got sidetracked by a boutique that offered hair-braiding services. :-) There were restaurants and shops within walking distance. The rooms were small but comfortable. The bedding was fantastic. Everybody was very friendly. They had a good breakfast in a dining area that was more like a living room than a cafeteria style which was nice because it facilitated comfortable conversation with other guests. I did not partake of the wine tasting, but was told that they provide wine tasting in the evening so that guests can enjoy the hotel and the company. Overall I give Normandy 5 stars. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor on the street side. I thought it was fine. It was quiet and the windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the moment that we arrived we were treated like family. The staff could not be any more pleasant or professional. They offered every possible kindness. Our room was absolutely clean. We are sure to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh N Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. Close walk to Dupont Circle and all the great restaurants. I used the Diner on 18 St for breakfast. Staff uber friendly. When I was confirming my booking I asked for good weather and cold beer. Lo and behold when my wife and I arrived in the room there were two beers on ice and a lovely note. Thank you Normandy Hotel I cannot commend you enough. We will return

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the The Normandy Hotel near the end of June 2014. It is nestled in amongst the beautiful old homes and small luxury apartments in the Kalorama area of Washington part of the Embassy Row District. This is a safe and walkable part of the city with restaurants close by. We would walk to the DuPont Circle where you catch the Metro subway to the National Mall and Capital Hill. The staff at the Normandy were very friendly, welcoming and helpful- all of them. We especially want to single out Maurice who checked us in. He was so welcoming and engaging and we got chatting about this trip being my birthday present to my husband. Maurice upgraded us and gave us complimentary breakfasts. He recommended some local restaurants, showed us how to walk to U street and the Black Civil War Museum. Our room was clean, had been recently updated with a luxury washroom. The bed was very comfortable, the room quiet. Our safe had been closed so that we could not access it and immediately the maintenance staff came up and opened it for us. We participated in one of the hotel's late afternoon wine and nibbles sessions which are offered free and are a nice touch. The price on the weekend was very reasonable, just note that if you have a car you do have to pay for parking which is costly but we parked our car and did not use it again until we left. Also driving out of the city from the Normandy was easy as we went straight up Connecticut Ave. until we hit the beltway and then the expressway out of town. Again The Normandy is a charming smaller hotel that made you feel part of Washington with their friendly service. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which looked out the back. Not a great view but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIRRAL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group of 5 from UK.
This is a boutique hotel in the embassy area , ten minutes walk up from Dupont Circle.
We loved the place. After a day's sightseeing in the heat it was great to come back for the complimentary wine between 5 and 6pm. Plenty of comfy couches to rest.
Buses around the corner take you to the main sights near the river (L1 /L2 routes)
Walk down past the Churchill Hotel for the bus to Metro Centre to access anywhere in DC.
Great restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Went to Bistro du Coin twice. Other Bistro not as good
Good continental breakfast for $12 plus tax.
Very helpful and pleasant staff. Nothing too much trouble.
You can catch a coach to New York with Best Bus at Dupont Circle. Takes 5 hours with traffic but drops you near Times Square at 42nd Street. Saves all the transfer issues to airports and train stations $30
Would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear EILEENRWirral, Thank you for taking the time to write the wonderful review of our hotel. We were truly pleased to read that you loved us and were able to get around so easily. It was also nice to see that you were able to take advantage of our nightly wine hour and relax. We hope to see you back whenever you travels bring you through the DC area again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Normandy Hotel has newly renovated rooms, convenient location, great value for the dollar. The staff was friendly, helpful, courteous and make you feel like guests not numbers.Our staying at the Normandy hotel was a pleasure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kathleen v, Thank you for staying with us and for such a great review. We hope that we exceeded your expectations. We'd also like to thank you for the kind words about our staff. We certainly hope that the next time you visit DC, you choose to stay with us again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.