We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a European Hotel-except for the breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT GET 10% OFF
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Like a European Hotel-except for the breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed one night at the Normandy, in town for a conference. While the room was a little small (with a giant flat-panel TV) it was comfy and had a luxurious bathroom with excellent shower. Wine in the lobby during the evening and espresso machine in the room were all appreciated. . Since the room was rather European in nature I expected the breakfast to follow suit and was disappointed that it didn't. Too many carbs and not enough protein, or coffee. For $12, the breakfast could use some improvement. My room was on the 6th floor and, most importantly, very quiet! Staff very friendly, and the room very clean. All in all, a good place and I'd return again.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear fairfax28, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Normandy. We were pleased to read that you found our rooms comfortable, clean and quiet. We were doubly pleased that you found the staff very friendly. We also want to thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. It's through comment like yours that we can improve our overall product. Once again, thank you for choosing The Normandy and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    103
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
49
82
14
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

When I arrived at the hotel they could not find my reservation. When I showed them the actual paper copy of my confirmation some behind the scenes whispering identified 'that I had been moved to another hotel becasue my room was out of order' and some frantic phone calls were made. Yeah, very likely. Probably just overbooked. I was offered another hotel, 'their sister hotel', 5 mins down the road - in fact more than 20 mins away. Yes, they got me a taxi there - but I had to carry my own bag. No apologies. Won't go back there very soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Tom_from_Malvern, I truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when you arrived at The Normandy. Unfortunately, due to the extreme cold weather and sudden warm up we experienced, there were issues that forced us to put a few rooms out of order during your time in DC. We were hoping that you would enjoy the hotel that we chose for you, which is one of the finest in DC. Judging by your review of our sister hotel, we got that right. In actuality, the other hotel is only 13 blocks away but, with DC traffic, I can see how it might seem further. Again, my sincerest apologies and should you return to DC, please contact me directly so I may ensure your return visit and actually have you experience The Normandy and what we have to offer.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We found a room last minute on a cold, icy night in January online for a fraction of the usual price and had a great stay.

The shower in this room deserves high praise - it is quite large, enough room for 2 people - with 3 (three!!) spouts coming out of the wall, for maximal cleaning, and a small ledge to sit on at the other end. The free samples for shampoo, body wash were L'Occitane

There was also an espresso machine in the room, which I made use of more than once. The downstairs lobby had a pleasant room with chairs, board games, and books/magazines where you could lounge, and I didn't get to try the $12 continental breakfast but it smelled great as we were leaving.

Great location, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear boxofrain80, Thank you for your review of The Normandy. We are very pleased that you found us on-line and enjoyed your stay. We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed the shower and the L'Occitane amenities we provide. Hopefully, in the near future, we will have a chance to welcome you back to The Normandy.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesburg, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Normandy Hotel. From the moment we arrived, the hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful. The hotel had all the modern comforts, but still kept the feel of a boutique hotel. The location to the metro as well as great eateries was great. The breakfast bar in the mornings had a broad selection that was quite filling. We also enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese hour you offer. Thank you for a fantastic stay! We look forward to returning in the spring and staying with you again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear renfitts, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast and had the time to enjoy our nightly wine hour. We look forward to welcoming you back, on your return visit, in the Spring.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I really liked the hotel, it was super clean and modern! Id say it had a character, much like those boutique hotels. however even in these hotels some circumstantial negative encounters happen once in a while. Despite of few of those that we encountered: plumbing problems, and failure to provide the room service, we left the hotel in a good mood.

All the more reasons to recommend the hotel as the management was more than happy to reimbursed us for our negative experience, staff was very nice and we were compensated in the best way possible. I highly recommend the hotel it has everything one could possible need, great attitude and clean rooms, good location. Beds are comfy, i loved the bathroom!
A SUPER addition: ESPRESSO MACHINE IN THE ROOM!!!! Fridge with free water. Cozy area to chill with books, games and pc downstairs. some free snack!
We are really grateful and overall satisfied with our stay and will be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear alexhappy,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are truly pleased that you had such a great experience with us. It's good to know that you enjoyed the in-room espresso machine and the bottled water. It was also nice to see that you were able to chill in our lobby/living room area. We again apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and are happy that it was resolved to your satisfaction. We hope to see you back at The Normandy in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The stay at this hotel was fantastic, and it exceeded expectations across the board. Location is excellent, service was great, and the overall experience was highly favorable. Check-in was smooth and the staff were helpful with finding parking and explaining the local area. As a side-note, the spot between DuPont Circle and Adams-Morgan is great, and I especially recommend this hotel for those with business or conferences around the Omni Shoreman or Marriot Wardman Park. The room was, as you've probably picked up from other reviews, a bit small, but that's to be expected with the sort of hotel and I certainly wasn't surprised or disappointed with it. Accommodations were pretty slick, and the beds were comfortable. The front desk staff were extremely helpful with everything from extra towels to printing off a last minute draft of a conference paper. They were top-notch all around. In short, I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The wireless internet is a bit spotty on the top floor, and the rooms are a bit small, but that is more than made up for by the rest of the experience. I will definitely stay here again if in the D.C. area. It's affordable and accommodating, the staff are professional and eager to assist, and they genuinely seemed to care about the quality of my stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit small, and you might want to shoot for a lower floor if you plan to use the wir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Donovan B,
Thank you for your review. We are more than thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience and found the service, from our staff, so great. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Normandy each and every time you visit Washington.
Best Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of our family who live nearby and we were it disappointed.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. They were also knowledgable about the local area. When our family came to meet us they were also friendly and welcoming to them. We thought cheese and wine hour was a nice touch. There was also coffee, tea and cookies downstairs.

The hotel is in a great location. It was very easy to explore DC using it as a base.

Our room was small for US standards but regular for a European room. It was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. There was a fridge which we could use, a coffee machine and excellent free wifi. The wifi even worked with Skype which I find is rare in hotels. The bathroom was small but brand new and again really clean. The water pressure in the shower was great.

Our only complaint about the room was that when we were there the temperature was warm and the hotel can either be switched to heat or air conditioning which meant the room was warm even with the windows open.

Overall we loved our stay and loved that the hotel is a bit different from your big multinational chains. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Samsiebabes,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of The Normandy. We’re very happy to hear that you found the staff friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We also appreciate that you are so very understanding with regards to the room temperature. We are looking at ways to improve this, in the upcoming year. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Normandy very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.