We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay at the Normandy Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
The Normandy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Recent Stay at the Normandy Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently stayed 5 nights at the Normandy Hotel. I randomly selected the hotel off the internet and called on a Sunday morning and spoke to Jim and was able to get a room for that day. Jim texted me the confirmation number and street address so that I had it handy when my plane arrived in DC. I was thrilled when the shuttle dropped me at a darling boutique hotel on a quiet DC street. David and Amhad were fantastic and were wonderful at helping me locate transportation and directions to work locations. Thank you so much for a great stay. I will not hesitate to recommend the Normandy to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    106
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
83
16
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haines City, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at the Normandy. Our group had three rooms and all of us had a great experience. Parking is a MAJOR problem. Very little street parking and the hotel charges $40./night (including taxes) to park your car underneath the hotel. Make sure your breakfast is INCLUDED in your reservation otherwise the piece of toast and coffee will cost you $12./person! Having said this, the accommodations and staff are very nice. Everyone was pleasant and helpful and the location is only a few blocks from the metro stations. Great choice for a hotel if you get a groupon or some other travel deal.

Room Tip: We were all on the second floor and all the rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Greetings William S!

Thank you for spending time with us at the Normandy Hotel! I am glad to see our team here made your stay such a pleasant one. Thank you for the valuable feedback as well. We will certainly look into these great points to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable experience. Thank you once again for the nice words and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed 3 nights here in DC and loved it. We found this hotel thru TravelZoo and got a bargain on our stay. The check-in process was effortless even with the TravelZoo coupons and my two reservations. The staff was also really helpful in booking the Big Bus tour and any questions we had about the area. The room was very comfortable, clean, and roomy. We had a great time in DC and loved staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Greetings sdca92104!

Thank you so much for the nice words in regards to your stay with us at The Normandy Hotel! It was a true pleasure to host you. I am so happy you enjoyed the property and that our team here provided such a wonderful stay. Please know that we are now your home away from home when your travels bring you to DC!

Take care and see you soon!

Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing, china
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had an extended stay for 9 days, for a mix of work and play. The Normandy is a boutique hotel on a quiet street surrounded by embassies and consular offices, a short walk (10-15 mins) from Dupont Circle metro station and with lots of restaurants and bars nearby to explore. It was a reasonable distance by cab to other places we needed to be, eliminating need for a rental car (not a good town for parking!) Charming decor, clean and comfortable rooms, if a bit small (older building). Service was always friendly and relaxed in a personal way, not too 'corporate' while still efficient and responsive. Special thanks to Ahmad for being so attentive and accommodating and ready with extra water. The Normandy does not have room service, which may be a consideration for some business travelers, but we didn't miss it, preferring to explore instead. (Russia House was a happy find very nearby on Connecticut Ave.) They do have a microwave and coffee machine in the common area, where they also do a nice wine and cheese happy hour, with lots of places to sit and chat or read the paper. All the stuff we needed to be comfortable and none of the stuff we didn't.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello snoopylemans!

Thank you very much for spending time with us at The Normandy Hotel! What an absolute pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay. All of the great things you mentioned are why the whole team loves this property and why all of our guests do as well. Our location could not be better as we are nestled right on Embassy Row but minutes form great dining and shopping. The Normandy’s public areas are so conducive to relaxing and our “Indulgence Hour” wine reception is simply the best. A true favorite inviting our guests to gather and enjoy as the evening settles. Thank you once again and we look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Warm regards,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 very pleasant nights at this hotel not far from Dupont Circle. On arrival and throughout our stay the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was small but pretty and comfortable with toile wallpaper and blinds and a four poster bed. The lobby and public areas are charmingly furnished with velvet sofas and cosy chairs, a nice change from cookie cutter hotel decor. There is a patio in front of the hotel where wine and snacks were offered at no charge in the evening. We stopped in just once and got some good travel tips from other guests. We enjoyed walking around the immediate neighbourhood which is very upscale with a lot of embassies. We got an incredible online deal but would be willing to pay more to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Marilyn B!

Thank you so much for the nice words regarding your stay with us at the Normandy Hotel. I am really happy to read that your stay with us was a pleasant one. It’s great to see you got to soak in the neighborhood as well. The neighboring embassies are exquisite to look at and make for an incredible stroll any time of the day. Thanks again for sharing and we look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Warm regards,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good valued hotel. The local means a 30 minute down hill walk to the White House and major attractions. We were informed that there was complimentary cheese and wine from 5pm - 6pm. This is a really nice surprise but don't get to excited as both are limited, which is ok as it gives you a chance to meet other guests.
There is a coffee machine and ice cold water available downstairs, but we did have issues with a lack of cups and glasses and had to ask several times for more. The coffee machine played up a couple of times but these issues were soon resolved. The staff were very friendly always willing to help. There is a small courtyard which was really nice as it was in the shape, so after a day out in the sun this was really welcome. There was also tables and chairs out the front which were used a lot. The hotel is on a small side street so is a quiet location.
The hotel and the bedrooms are really well decorated and this is a really good place to stay. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello bryan61!

Thank you so much for visiting with us while you were in DC! It is great to see our location was so conducive to your stay and that you were able to enjoy all of the special touches the Normandy has to offer. Thank you for the excellent feedback as well in regards to our breakfast and wine reception. Fantastic points and measure being taken to make sure all of our guests have an amazing experience within all of our functions. I am so thrilled you spent time with us and the kind words are so much appreciated. Please let me know when your travels bring you back to the area so I can personally ensure your stay with us is a phenomenal one.

Take care and see you soon!

Best,

Lee

202-483-1350
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Normandy Hotel is in the Dupont Circle area of DC. A 10 minutes walk from the subway stop is all it takes to arrive at the Normandy. The hotel offers a $12 breakfast if you want to stay at the hotel and eat. Coffee and tea are offered all day. Wine is also offered in the evening but we were not around to partake in that. The rooms are very nice, a little small but the decor is very nice. The bathrooms are rather large. The front desk is extremely helpful!! Free WI-FI if you need that. Location is key to this hotel. Great shops and restaurants are just a couple minutes away and the area is very safe, clean and fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Greetings Traveler679!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at the Normandy Hotel! I am delighted that you found our property to be convenient and that our décor was pleasing. We are fans of it ourselves and you must spend time with us at our “Indulgence Hour” wine reception upon your next visit. Such an amazing time to take in our cozy living space and enjoy the Normandy Hotel!

Hope to see you very soon!

All the best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.