We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison-Clark Historic Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison-Clark Historic Inn to your Saves list
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Mount Vernon Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Mesa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

On September 15 I booked two rooms at the Morrison-Clark for one night. The hotel is a charming historic hotel and a great location. Checkin was fine and we were pleased with our rooms. We were told at checkin that breakfast was served until 10am.

At 7am the next morning we were awakened to full on bulldozers below our window. This was not from the street but on hotel property!! We were given a room next to massive renovations. There was no way to get further sleep. So we got ready for the day and proceeded to the dining room for a 9:00am breakfast. When we got to the dining room we were told there was no longer any breakfast. They discontinued serving breakfast and had a small buffet that they also were putting away.

We proceeded to the manager who assured us they would work with Expedia to give us compensation for our bad experience. Expedia has attempted to work with the hotel as well, but they were told there is no compensation.

Under the current state of construction I could not recommend this hotel to anyone. You just don't know what you will get and the management is not willing to stand behind poor service.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel until the renovations are complete. And then be cautious as customer servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I sincerley apologize that your stay was less than pleasant. The Morrison-Clark Inn is undergoing an expansion where we expect the interfernce to be minimal. It is dissapointing to know that your accomodations were not fully met because of it. Our top priority is providing outstanding customer service and resloution, and your feedback helps us target problem areas that can be prevented in the future.
Please contact me or my Front Office Manager so that we may discuss compensation with you.
We never like to have our guests walk away dissastisfied.

Best Regards,

Mohamad Taha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    147
    46
    33
    25
See reviews for
37
155
49
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My review will be very short:
- good location (5 min walk from the nearest subway - 15 min walk from the White House)
- really nice rooms (complimentary water and wi-fi appreciated)
- Kind and helpful staff
- only negative point: our room was on the street level so we couldn't open the curtains as people could easily see us inside.
Totally recommend it!

Room Tip: if you want more light, avoid street level rooms as you can't open the curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank Your for staying with us and for providing a very direct and honest opinion regarding your stay.
I appreciate your comments and very thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share them with the staff of the Morrison-Clark Inn.

Please do not hesitate in staying with us in the future.

Best Regards,

Mohamad Taha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in Room 313. Close to the elevator but heard no noise only disturbance was the occasional siren. Room clean and was a good size with a desk an extra large comfortable chair. Bed was comfortable. Staff courteous helpful and friendly. We did not eat at the Hotel as within a couple of blocks there are a number of places for breakfast and a number of well priced Asian restaurants as well as more expensive ones in 9th St. We felt safe in the area and walked at night in the general area. Free Wifi worked well. There is a coin operated laundry within a block. Close enough to walk to Smithsonian and Metro train at corner of 11th and G St ( to Arlington and Smithsonian). Hope we have the opportunity of staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 11th St would be away from any construction work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location worked out perfectly for you. It is always great to hear when we have met our guests expectations and such nice comments are said about our service.
Thank You for taking the time to review your stay and should your travel plans bring you back to Washington DC, please do not hesitate in staying with us.

Best Regards,

Mohamad Taha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Morrison-Clark Inn is a beautiful, historic building and our room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious and fairly priced, although we did not have dinner. We found the staff very helpful and appreciated all of their recommendations, from where we could get a manicure to what was the best trolley tour. The location was easy for sightseeing, but we did indulge in a (very inexpensive) cab to get to the Smithsonian.

The only downside - we were caught off guard at check-out time by the cost to park. While not surprising for a big city, we could not recall that it was ever disclosed. (we booked via hotels.com)

Even considering that though, I would stay at this charming hotel again, and I would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank You for such kind words regarding your most recent stay at the Morrison-Clark Inn.
I appreciate you taking the time to let other fellow travelers know about your experience with us and all of the amenities that you took advantage of.
Your comments will be shared with members of my staff as well as the great employees whose primary goal is in providing outstanding customer service.

Thank You,
Mohamad Taha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dansville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is not your typical hotel it is more like a B&B. We were on the third floor with no elevator which was taxing after walking around the city all day. The room we were in was a good size.nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. We stayed over the weekend so we were able to park on the street without having to feed the meter or find a parking lot. All in all we had a good stay just know this is a historical building not a chain hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I'm delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be very convenient. Thank You for taking the time to appreciate the history of the Inn and all of its amenities.
Please come back and visit us again when your travel plans bring you back to Washington DC.

Best Regards,

Mohamad Taha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Finding an affordable hotel in the convention area can be a challenge, but the Morrison-Clark Inn fits the bill. It has a quaint feel given its location in an old house with a history to match. The restaurant offers a diverse menu and you can eat on the elevated porch on the side of the hotel. My only problem was a wi-fi that wouldn't work in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank You for taking the time in reviewing your stay at the Morrison-Clark Inn. We value your comments and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always refreshing to hear when our guests have taken advantage of the amenities that we offer and I'm thrilled to know that you had a chance to dine in our restaurant while out on the veranda, which has a very relaxing and intimate setting.
I apologize that our Wi-Fi was inoperative in your room. I will be sure to pass this information on the appropriate staff member for correction.

Thank You again for your comments, as we look forward to seeing you again.

Mohamad Taha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What's the best things you can say about a hotel? For me it is: a comfortable bed; very friendly & helpful staff; very good & reasonably priced food in their dining room (and my friends came over from a Hilton to join me for a dinner and loved it!); and 15-20 minutes walk to the White House & the National Mall. And at a very reasonable price! So I was very happy with my visit there and would recommend it to anyone! I will definitely stay there again the next time I am in DC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank DrBobH for such kind words,
I wish to express my deep appreciation for your generous comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We value you as a guest and it is always a rewarding feeling when we have made a positive impression on our guest. Thank You for taking the time to also dine in our restaurant, as I will be sure to pass your comments along to my staff.

I sincerely appreciate the time you spent in reviewing your overall stay with us.

Best Regards,
Mohamad Taha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison-Clark Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison-Clark Historic Inn

Address: 1015 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrison-Clark Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and TIG Global so you can book your Morrison-Clark Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison-Clark Historic Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Morrison Clark Historic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison-Clark Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.