We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington Marriot - Good but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Marriott Georgetown to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Georgetown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #94 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Washington Marriot - Good but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was our first stay of 3 nights as part of an organised tour around Virginia, North Carolina and Tennessee. All the Marriot Hotels we have stayed in have been good but some (like this one ) just need to go that extra step to make them excellent.

Check-in for our group was chaotic. None of our rooms were ready when we arrived, or, at least Reception were not aware they were ready. Thanks to our Tour Rep getting a bit terse with Reception a batch of room keys were distributed covering part of our Tour Group which at least eased some of the congestion. But at least there was complimentary ice-cold lemonade available which was welcome on a hot day. During quiet times Reception was friendly and useful for information.

The room was clean, spacious with two 4 foot beds, en-suite, room safe, decent TV and coffee-making facilities. But there was only 1 caffeinated coffee and 1 decaffeinated coffee which was a bit poor for a Hotel of this quality. Also, there was a bottle of water in the room but it had a $5 price tag which we thought was a bit pathetic. Unlike other Hotels on our Itinerary there was no free WiFi in the room.

The Bar and Restaurant looked a bit pricey so we ate and drank out.

The location was very good. The immediate area was very clean, and the Metro is a short walk away from where you can easily visit, say, Alexandria. Out of the Hotel and turn left and after 50 yards is Walgreens on the corner (pack of 24 waters for $4 dollars). On the opposite corner is a garage/shop for those travelling by car. Left at Walgreens and there is a reasonable sandwich bar after 30 yards and a Chinese Restaurant after 60 yards on the next corner. This was the Mei Weh and we ate here twice. The menu looked a bit more expensive than in England until we realised that rice was included with the price whereas in England it is charged for separately. The food and service was excellent and I can recommend it to anyone.

It is about 30 minutes leisurely walk to Tidal Basin passing the George Washington Monument. A really great walk around the Basin passing the Martin Luther King Monument and FDR and Jefferson memorials. Once around the Basin you are near the Museums and the White House etc - the gemstone collection in the Natural History Museum is fantastic, but compared to the Museum in Brussells, Belgium the Dinosaur collection is pretty poor. Give yourselves plenty of time here as there is a lot to see.

There is a 'circulator' bus which is $1 per person which we used to travel back and on to Georgetown. There is a Bar/Restaurant called Mr. Smiths. Left out of the Hotel and turn right from Walgreens. Walk about a mile (crossing over the river ) and it is on the other side of the road. For lunch we had a pitcher of Sangria between us £32 for the red wine version and £34 for white wine. It was a damn good pitcher and even better because we asked for little ice and so received more alcohol. A plate of cheese and biscuits helped us soak up the booze. At $9.95 this was really good value - different cheeses with a bit of salad, pickled gherkins and green chillies, with individually wrapped packets of a variety of biscuits.

We also had an evening meal at Mr. Smiths. This happened when we walked out if the paper Moon Italian Restaurant just around the corner. Never been to an Italian before that did not have lasagne, canelloni, pizza and meat ravioli on the Menu. Many items on the Menu were something with cheese, and wine started at £32 a bottle. At Mr. Smiths we had a bottle of wine for $15 (but it was before 7:00pm and this would have increased to £29 afterwards). The food here was excellent and I enjoyed a large portion of Ribs with trimmings.

Would I stay there again ? - Yes, but I probably would not eat or drink there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    269
    137
    46
    20
See reviews for
158
110
47
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I rarely do reviews, but the service by the wait staff during my 4 night stay was remarkable. I will stay here again because of the friendliness, courtesy, and accomodating nature of the wait staff in the dining room and room service. Specifically, Askale should be commended. She provided attentive, top notch service, every time, without being intrusive. I will stay here again because of the quality of her service! Well done, Askale.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Some friends and I booked two nights at the Washington Georgetown Marriott last weekend. I work for the Orlando world center Marriott so I was able to get a nice discounted price for the rooms. We pull up in two cars and while gathering the bags out of the car I walk inside to check in. The lady at the front desk asks if I would like to valet and because I know how expensive self parking can be, I asked "how much?" She explains that it is $40 per room, one time fee. I said perfect, we don't plan on needing the cars at all anyway. The weekend passes, we never touched the cars, never even went back to the cars the entire 2 days. I receive my bills and start packing up to leave for back home. When I look at my first room, I see a $40 charge for valet, fine. When I glance at the second bill I see a $40 charge for valet, each night. Well that definitely was not the deal or I never in my life would have parked there. You mean to tell me that it is $59 a night to stay there, and $40 more to have someone drive my car around the corner, one time? I was livid. It would be different if I needed the car or ever used it, however that was not the case. So I called up to the front desk on Monday evening and spoke with a lady who stated, sorry that's our policy nothing I can do. So I asked to speak with a manager who was by far the rudest "manager" I have ever encountered and I was so angry by the end of the call I hung up without getting his name. I work for Marriott, I of all people understand how pricey it is to park, however why was I only charged $40 for one room valet, yet $80 for the other, and there was "nothing" they could do. I can promise I will never in my life return there, and I will make sure to note how horribly the concern was handled. Great location, nice rooms, but the prices for something so simple as parking, were outrageous.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne S, Front Office Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Danielle C,
Thank you for choosing the Washington Marriott Georgetown and providing feedback. I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of being billed for parking and not fully understand that it was a nightly charge. I will ensure that we retrain our staff accordingly so that our parking options and prices are communicated in a clearer manner in the future to avoid such inconvenience to our valued guest. I must thank you for bringing this issue to our attention so that we are able to take the necessary steps to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randwick, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for leisure, close walk to Foggy Bottom Metro is convenient. On a quiet street but really not that far to walk from anywhere. All the staff we encountered were really genuinely friendly (hope someone at the Hotel shares the feedback from TA with them).

Only shock for me was paying for internet...working in Hotels in Australia I always get grief off American travellers when they have to pay for internet in our Hotels...seems to be the same here. Didn't really bother me - would definitely stay again as we also got a good deal off Booking.com.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed for a week, for a conference in DC, over all great hotel the staff at the front desk was really good and accommodating nothing really happened so that was good and the porters where good at getting deals for us when we needed. The kitchen was good and the breakfast offerings really nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As a family of 5 we travelled to NY , Disney , and miami. All the rooms were small. Food was expensive and not even a kettle for coffee. I was amazed at how stunning the Marriott was. Rooms were big and very stylish. Percolator in the room with coffee pods. Reasonably priced restaurant. Staff were very good and to top it off we were a walk away from ALL attractions. Really really impressed and next time we leave South Africa to USA we will use the Marriot again

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and found it quite comfortable. Although they could do with better air conditioning as the bedclothes felt damp all the time. If you had a window that opened it would help a lot.

The rooms were large but the bathrooms quite small. And as there were 3 of in our rooms it was a tight squeeze with no storage for wet towels etc.

The restaurant was great, the breakfast was plentiful and the dinners delicious. The barman that was there for our stay was fantastic, very helpful and friendly, I didn't get his name unfortunately.

It was the perfect location for walking the city. We were only 15 min walk form the Lincoln memorial and from there everything is very close together.

Overall a very pleasant stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Marriott Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Georgetown

Address: 1221 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Georgetown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Marriott Georgetown, perfectly situated between Georgetown and Dupont Circle is in the heart of DC. Our well-established DC hotel features a newly renovated lobby and lounge and 470 guest rooms near the National Monuments, George Washington University (GWU), John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and more. From a leisurely afternoon spent exploring monuments to an evening out in trendy Dupont Circle, our Georgetown, Washington DC hotel's location is close to everywhere you want to be. Enjoy a casual dining experience at The Atrium Restaurant, serving fresh, chef-crafted cuisine or a cocktail in The Court Lounge. We offer more than 12,000 square feet of event space perfect for your next group meeting or special occasion. With our unique location on a tree-lined street just minutes from Dupont Circle, area businesses and two of the city's Metro stations, guests of our Georgetown hotel can have a residential experience with immediate access to the bustle of the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Marriott Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.