We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff - Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Georgetown to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Georgetown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #94 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Randwick, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff - Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for leisure, close walk to Foggy Bottom Metro is convenient. On a quiet street but really not that far to walk from anywhere. All the staff we encountered were really genuinely friendly (hope someone at the Hotel shares the feedback from TA with them).

Only shock for me was paying for internet...working in Hotels in Australia I always get grief off American travellers when they have to pay for internet in our Hotels...seems to be the same here. Didn't really bother me - would definitely stay again as we also got a good deal off Booking.com.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    283
    144
    53
    21
See reviews for
164
114
49
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed for a week, for a conference in DC, over all great hotel the staff at the front desk was really good and accommodating nothing really happened so that was good and the porters where good at getting deals for us when we needed. The kitchen was good and the breakfast offerings really nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As a family of 5 we travelled to NY , Disney , and miami. All the rooms were small. Food was expensive and not even a kettle for coffee. I was amazed at how stunning the Marriott was. Rooms were big and very stylish. Percolator in the room with coffee pods. Reasonably priced restaurant. Staff were very good and to top it off we were a walk away from ALL attractions. Really really impressed and next time we leave South Africa to USA we will use the Marriot again

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and found it quite comfortable. Although they could do with better air conditioning as the bedclothes felt damp all the time. If you had a window that opened it would help a lot.

The rooms were large but the bathrooms quite small. And as there were 3 of in our rooms it was a tight squeeze with no storage for wet towels etc.

The restaurant was great, the breakfast was plentiful and the dinners delicious. The barman that was there for our stay was fantastic, very helpful and friendly, I didn't get his name unfortunately.

It was the perfect location for walking the city. We were only 15 min walk form the Lincoln memorial and from there everything is very close together.

Overall a very pleasant stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Georgetown Marriott. I was in town for two days to go apartment hunting with my sister. My mother came along for the trip too. When I arrived my check in was friendly and easy, but we weren't so thrilled with our room. It was a double and a little tight with three of us. And everything appeared low, as if we were in a handicapped accessible room. A woman at the front desk assured us it was how all the rooms were. She suggested I call James Evans at the front desk and explain. It was the same person who checked us in earlier. When I spoke to him he was so helpful and moved us to a room where we could really spread out and sleep well for our short time in DC. The room had a king bed and a pullout. Scented air came through the vents. There was a fluffy robe hanging in the closet. All we needed to ask for were extra pillows and blankets for the pull out cot. My sister actually preferred the cot to the king sized bed. James Evans made sure we were well taken care of for our entire stay. Wifi is not available in the rooms but is free in the lobby. But I didn't mind at all. The beautiful chairs and tables, all tech-friendly, were roomy and comfortable. And there were enough sitting options and nooks that i never felt like I was sitting too close to my neighbor. The bar makes stiff drinks and the staff in general aimed to please. I was not a fan of the falafel tots but the sweet potato fries were yummy. Khalid valeted my car and was patient when we asked him to retrieve items from the car and pack up our suitcases. All in all, it was a busy two days of apartment hunting, and it was nice to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: I suggest the Executive Suites on the 6th floor if you're traveling with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The staff at the Georgetown Marriott was phenomenal. The ones we encountered were all very friendly, courteous and helpful. Upon getting to our room though, our good experiences with this hotel came to an end. The air conditioning unit pumped out cold air just fine, but the humidity in our room was terrible. Papers, sheets, clothing....everything felt wet. Even with the air turned to the coldest temperature we could not get comfortable. We told the front desk about the problem, they sent an engineer to check it out while we were out for the afternoon. When we came back, nothing had improved, so we again went back to the front desk. They were very nice and apologized and switched us to the Thomas Jefferson Suite. Now you would think this would be a great upgrade, but no...we had to sleep on a Murphy bed that was terribly uncomfortable, many lightbulbs were burned out in the room, the bathroom was one of the smallest I have ever used. But the worst thing was that we had the same problem with the air conditioning. Upon coming back to our room after a day and night of sightseeing, our sheets felt wet, any work papers that I had left out felt wet and the popcorn and chips we had as snacks in our room were soggy. Sleeping was next to impossible with the humidity level in the room. So we spent two very uncomfortable nights at this hotel before checking out, never to return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne S, Front Office Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Kelly K,
Thank you for staying with us and acknowledging our phenomenal staff. I do regret that your AC unit did not function properly and that the same issue was repeated in the suite. I will meet immediately with the Director of Engineering to ensure that we address this issue to ensure that none of our future valued guests would have to experience this problem. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we do hope that you would give us another chance to serve you in the nation's capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Upon arrival at the Marriott Washington Georgetown, we were greeted immediately on the concourse by the Bell Men. In addition to providing a smooth check-in, this team of courteous professionals was, one and all, wonderfully accommodating throughout our stay. They handled all of our needs, and answered all of our questions politely, and professionally.

We had negotiated on line for a room in the business wing. The corner room met our needs. It featured a large corner window, overlooking the intersection of 22nd and M, This window view was better than television. However, the generous space at this window would easily accommodate a coffee table, and chairs.

There were no wall mounted towel racks for wet bath towels. There was but one rack at all, on the shower door. Hardly adequate for three people's towels and bathing suits. Housekeeping nonetheless, did an excellent job throughout

The outstanding feature of this Marriott Hotel is their Atrium Restaurant, which is expertly managed by Allan Garcia. Our first night server, Askale, was much like a maitre d'. I mistakenly thought she was the manager, until she later introduced us to Allan.
On the second night our server was Anthony Gomes, and another restaurant team member of note is bartender Bounma. Each provided service par excellence.

I have saved the best for last. Bravo to Chef Mohammed, who prepared our dinners each of two nights, and to Executive Chef Extraordinaire Lauren Uthenwoldt, who has put together such a team of culinary artists. Our first night's supper was of such incomparable excellence I was astonished when the supper of the second night surpassed the first!

From check-in to check-out, bellmen to restaurateur, our service and quality expectations were exceeded.

Room Tip: Business section, and corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Marriott Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Georgetown

Address: 1221 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Georgetown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Marriott Georgetown, perfectly situated between Georgetown and Dupont Circle is in the heart of DC. Our well-established DC hotel features a newly renovated lobby and lounge and 470 guest rooms near the National Monuments, George Washington University (GWU), John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and more. From a leisurely afternoon spent exploring monuments to an evening out in trendy Dupont Circle, our Georgetown, Washington DC hotel's location is close to everywhere you want to be. Enjoy a casual dining experience at The Atrium Restaurant, serving fresh, chef-crafted cuisine or a cocktail in The Court Lounge. We offer more than 12,000 square feet of event space perfect for your next group meeting or special occasion. With our unique location on a tree-lined street just minutes from Dupont Circle, area businesses and two of the city's Metro stations, guests of our Georgetown hotel can have a residential experience with immediate access to the bustle of the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Marriott Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.