We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, courteous!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Georgetown to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Georgetown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #99 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, courteous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Washington Marriott was a lovely place to stay while we helped our child get settled at GWU; it was within walking distance to the main campus, which was where we also caught the Metro. The room was small, considering there were two queen size beds, but it was clean & comfortable. One very convienent feature that came in handy (as we were trying to outfit the child's dorm!) was the car rental office in the basement! It was overall a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, General Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Greetings Jennifer G- Thanks for choosing the Washington Marriott for your recent stay! Our great location, right next to GW Campus, is really convenient and we hope to have you back with us in the coming years when you visit your child on campus. Kind regards, Karen Finberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    331
    176
    69
    25
See reviews for
191
133
54
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

very comfortable beds, nice sheets, and quite rooms. The kids loved the pool. The gym seems nice.

Good location with convenient stores close by. Walking distance to the Metro.

You can have your in-room internet fee waived if you are a member.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, General Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Jen87_12, Thanks for your recent review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your family enjoyed the pool and our great location. We hope to welcome you back to the Washington Marriott the next time your travels bring you to Washington DC. Kind regards, Karen Finberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am a Marriott Elite member that spent 4 nights here while vacationing in DC. Although it is an older Marriott that could use some renovations it is still a quality hotel. Pros: Close to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop, about a 6 minute walk, about 4 blocks. It is on the Blue Line which connects you close to the Capitol, Memorials, Smithsonian, etc. I like the residential area the hotel is in and is close to a Walgreens, gas station and restaurants around the metro stop. It is about. a 15 minute walk to both Georgetown and DuPont Circle. Our room was on the smaller side, had a small bathroom. Being a Gold member we were on the 7th floor Concierge Level and had free breakfast every morning. Self Park is $36 a night although we flew into Reagan and took the Metro to our hotel. Overall a solid choice in the $100-$125 a night range. A/C worked very week, nice shower although we couldn't make the water cool/cold only hot or very hot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, General Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Greetings OrlandoDude - Thanks for the great review on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your loyalty to Marriott by being a Gold Member! Sounds like our team in the concierge lounge took great care of you and that you benefited from our great location when you explored the city! Kind Regards, Karen Finberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We wanted a Hotel close to GW University that was a reasonable price, comfortable and clean.
This Hotel met all of these needs and more. The concierge service was outstanding and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, General Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Trish P- Thanks for the great review and I'm so glad that our great location, right next to the GWU campus met all your needs. Our concierge team is great, and it sounds like they provided helpful service to you while you were with us. I'll also pass on your great comments about the food to our Culinary team. Look forward to having you back with us! Kind regards, Karen Finberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hotel with friendly service.
Rooms are nice and include plug ins on the bed lights... this may seem minuscule, but I have two phones and one is always dead and I usually want to charge it close to the bed so I can flip through it before bed.
Pool and hot tub are indoors, a bit small and was usually crowded.
Gym was nice, several treadmills and cardio machines as well as free weights.
Staff in the executive lounge were fantastic.
I would definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Executive levels give you access to the lounge, which has a nice breakfast and great appetizers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, General Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello SFKent21- I'm so glad we provided you with a great stay! I am really proud of our team, who strives to provide extra mile service to all of our guests and I appreciate your mentioning that in your review. Sounds like you had an opportunity to enjoy the executive lounge, and I'm pleased that our team, who works really hard to take care of our elite members, and food and beverage offerings exceeded your expectations. Look forward to having you back when your travels bring you our way! Kind regards, Karen Finberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Before our return trip of 1,500 plus miles of our road trip, what we really wanted was a hotel with comfortable beds, and we got it. We also loved the quiet of this hotel, too, to promote good sleeping which we deemed necessary after roadtripping for 2,300 miles. (With a grand total of 3,800 miles in 10 days and 15 states.) Yes, quality sleep became more and more precious to us and this hotel DEFINITELY produced that.:-)

The staff was courteous, too, and the wait for help was no more than 2 minutes checking in and out.

Room Tip: This hotel is NOT close to the mall. We needed to walk a long ways and take the metro. However, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, General Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello MOOzarksnative- I'm so glad that we met all of your needs after your long, long road trip! 3,800 miles - WOW!!!!! Thanks for choosing the Washington Marriott for your pit stop - and I'm so pleased our team and hotel took great care of you! Kind regards, Karen Finberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been at the washington marriott for 3 nights and have one more left on our stay. While we have had a pleasant stay overall, we have had an AMAZING experience at the concierge lounge. As platinum guests with marriott, we routine stay in properties with lounges and enjoy the food and beverages however we have NEVER experienced anything like thatbhere with chef michael. We are traveling with our 5 year old grandson and each night chef michael surprises us with another treat and specialty our 5 yr old will enjoy. We missed the ice cream truck yesterday and he was crying and chef michael brought in 2 ice cream pops you would find on an ice cream truck! Today was my birthday and tonight chef michael surprised me with a fried cheesecake that was out of this world with a lit candle on top!! We cant wait for tomorrow to see what he has up his sleeve ;) we would come back to stay at this hotel again soley based on our incredible experience with chef michael who is excellent with kids and can get them to eat up their dinner! We also are very happy with the hospitality and charm of Gail, Val, and the Dovann (spelling? The lady in the am). They are all so sweet and accomodating! We love you chef michael!,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, General Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello ddaj- I truly appreciate your wonderful review of the hotel and your very kind words about Chef Michael, who truly strives to provide a memorable experience to all of our guests. I have shared your comments with our entire team. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott by achieving Platinum status, and am pleased you enjoyed the concierge lounge offerings and great care by our team who works so diligently to ensure everyone has a great stay with us! Look forward to having you back our way! Kind regards, Karen Finberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupon...
#73 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#22 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Melrose Georgetown
The Melrose Georgetown
#37 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#62 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Georgetown

Address: 1221 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Georgetown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With intuitive service, elegant accommodations, and a dream location between Georgetown and Dupont Circle, the Washington Marriott Georgetown greets you with everything you need for a memorable travel experience. Our hotel in Georgetown, DC, successfully blends tradition and style; evident in our new redesigned lobby, where complimentary wireless Internet access and ample meeting spaces let you gather and relax. Our 470 guest rooms and suites feature adaptable work desks, flat-screen TVs, and plush bedding. Sample the cuisine at our restaurant or spend some time in our newly renovated great room. With 12,000 square feet of flexible venue space and expert onsite planning services, we will ensure that your event is a success. And from our hotel location in Washington, DC's West End, you can discover Georgetown, Dupont Circle, and other famous neighborhoods with ease. For style and substance, look no further than the Washington Marriott Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Washington Marriott Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.