We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Georgetown

Save Saved
You added Washington Marriott Georgetown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Marriott Georgetown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #94 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Scottsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Nice restaurant / bar. Room was on small side but clean, neat and very comfortable, fantastic bed. Parking is spendy at $36 a night self-park, and internet is roughly $13 per day, so that bit into the great discount we had -- but it's downtown DC so not terribly out of line. That said, it was a wonderful place to stay, and a fantastic location in walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, General Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Hello Paillo2 - Thanks so much for your recent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and helpful during your visit with us. We are also glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy our restaurant and bar! It looks like you had a great opportunity to explore our city as well! Regards, Karen Finberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    261
    136
    45
    20
See reviews for
155
106
46
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Short walk to Georgetown and a bit of a hike to the Metro, this older hotel is well-maintained with comfortable rooms (although I found the bedding a bit soft for my likes). Staff is great and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, General Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Hi SamanthasDad! Thanks so much for taking time to post your comments and I'm so pleased our staff took great care of you while you were here! We hope to see you back the next time you are in Washington DC. Karen Finberg, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a nice hotel with no frills, but was clean and neat. Staff was friendly. There is a gym and pool. I was there for a meeting and the conference rooms were nice and large. Rooms were average size. Kind of creepy that my room looked out and directly accross from an office building, so I kept my blinds closed the entire time.

Location was not that great. The neighborhood was nice with several restaurants close by, but not close to a metro stop. Closest is about 4 or 5 blocks at Foggy Bottom.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonMarriottGM, Manager at Washington Marriott Georgetown, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Hello TravelforWorkAA.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. I'm glad to hear our staff took great care of you. I'm sorry you were disappointed by your view (being a downtown location we are surrounded by buildings) but so happy that you were able take advantage of our neighborhood restaurants.

Kori Johnson, Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

If you are coming to Washington, DC to see the city then this is a great hotel. The rooms are clean and quiet, the beds are super comfortable, and the location is excellent. It is within easy walking distance to DuPont Circle, as well as Foggy Bottom/George Washington University, the Farragut North/West Area, and a slightly longer walk to the National Mall, White House, Capitol Building, etc. Furthermore, by virtue of its location you can easily walk to the Red (DuPont Circle), Orange and Blue (Foggy Bottom) metro lines, which will take you to the rest of the city as well as into good spots in Virginia and Maryland. The hotel is pricey but not unreasonable, so if you can afford it it's a great place to stay while you enjoy all that DC has to offer.

I, unfortunately, was not in DC to see the city. My company hosted a meeting using this hotel and the experience was just OK. The pros: the service was great, the staff was professional and courteous and helped us with problems that popped up. Additionally, the food was phenomenal. The cons: we needed a conference phone line set up, and while the staff was able to do it the signal kept going in and out and we continuously lost participants because of this. The room the hotel put us in for the meeting shared a wall with another room that was being used for the meeting. The wall, however, was a temporary wall, and noise filtered quite easily through it. The meeting next to ours was very loud, which made our discussion oriented meeting more difficult than it needed to be. While it is not the fault of the hotel that the other meeting is loud, they should be more cognizant of these issues if they are going to separate two concurrent meetings with that kind of wall.

Other notes: the gym is nice but small. The restaurant is nice but pricey. These things should be expected in a District hotel. There are many great food options nearby in DuPont Circle, however.

On the whole I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to see DC. For I'd recommend it for the service, you'd just want to keep an eye on those other issues.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a girls weekend away. Check in was very friendly and we were able to check-in early at 10.30am which was great.

We had a room with 2 double beds, a reasonably small bathroom but everything was clean and modern.

Afer a long days sightseeing we decided to head back to the hotel for a rest before heading out for dinner. The beds were so comfortable we fell asleep for 2 hours and even then found it hard to drag ourselves out! I'm not surprised they advertise the purchase of their linen to guests as it was by far the most comfortable nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel.

The location was also perfect, walkable to the White House and other attracitons, Dupont Circle, and also Georgetown is pretty close by.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Blue State, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

For a Marriott, this hotel seems to have rooms that have seen better days. Pros: the bed was very comfortable, with many pillow choices. The linens were fine, as were the towels. The staff was friendly. Cons: The wallpaper and carpets are a bit dingy. Service was uneven: to my surprise, my room was not made up one day, at all! I called the manager when I returned in the evening. She apologized, and had clean towels sent up. She also offered a snack to make me feel a bit better about the experience. I am a Marriott Rewards member, but I did not get the newspaper I requested.

I would not stay at this property again. There are cleaner and more recently decorated rooms to be had in DC.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott during our April Vacation. The location was perfect as was the Room. Staff were very helpful. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Marriott Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Georgetown

Address: 1221 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Georgetown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Marriott Georgetown, perfectly situated between Georgetown and Dupont Circle is in the heart of DC. Our well-established DC hotel features a newly renovated lobby and lounge and 470 guest rooms near the National Monuments, George Washington University (GWU), John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and more. From a leisurely afternoon spent exploring monuments to an evening out in trendy Dupont Circle, our Georgetown, Washington DC hotel's location is close to everywhere you want to be. Enjoy a casual dining experience at The Atrium Restaurant, serving fresh, chef-crafted cuisine or a cocktail in The Court Lounge. We offer more than 12,000 square feet of event space perfect for your next group meeting or special occasion. With our unique location on a tree-lined street just minutes from Dupont Circle, area businesses and two of the city's Metro stations, guests of our Georgetown hotel can have a residential experience with immediate access to the bustle of the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington Marriott Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.