We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Perth WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute and Quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Just lovely! Very comfortable rooms, enormous size beds (this has its pros and cons ;) ) ignore the nit picky reviews Hotel Lombardy ticks the boxes of comfortable, convenient and the best showers! Bonus is the Uni around the corner so well priced places to eat and drink - Tonic at the Pharmacy is a winner - summary, can't go wrong.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Greetings Mick M,

Thank you for posting your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    511
    107
    32
    21
See reviews for
263
506
109
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed,here a few months ago and had a wonderful stay and room.
This hotel is in a great location walkable to GW Georgetown and the White House. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Unfortunately our room was not as well kept as last visit. The,bed was very comfortable but the room dreary and the bathroom dirty, especially the tub. The light did not work on the,vanity table in the bathroom. Nearby restaurants are circa and district commons.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Greetings glenside,

Thank you for sharing your comments, we appreciate that you took the time to do so. If for any reason you had an issue with the state of your room, our Front Desk staff should have been notified immediately in order to accommodate you accordingly. We have staff on hand that are willing to address all of your concerns at any given time.

I apologize that we did not meet your expectations this time around and hope that this does not affect your decision to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great hotel. Visited DC for sightseeing with my adult son. The hotel is in a great location - within walking distance to historic sites, several great bars and restaurants, Georgetown, and 2 metro stops. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. Despite others finding the doormen rude, I found everyone to be polite, helpful, and personable. The staff at the front desk, especially London, were patient with questions, and offered excellent suggestions on dining options. Check in/out was easy and flawless. The rooms (we had a deluxe double) are roomy, quaint, and for the most part clean. The only fault I have is that the floors could have been cleaned better (we found items on the floor - that were not ours). Also, while the beds are very comfortable, the pillows are not. Otherwise, no complaints about the rooms. Room service came in twice during the day to replace towels and touch up the room. Complimentary bottled waters were left each night, which was a plus after walking the city all day. I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Greetings Thrr14,

Thank you for posting your comments. We are glad that you had a nice visit to our hotel. We strive to make our guest feel at home and to accommodate them with a clean and cozy guest room. Our staff is always on hand to offer any assistance at all times. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay, we use these remarks as a tool to improve our service.

We look forward to having you stay again soon.


Thanks,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in August. The hotel was close to everything I wanted to do/see and the nearest train was only 2-3 blocks away. Found parking nearby (washingtondc.bestparking.com) for way cheaper than the hotel's $42.50 valet rate which was good. Hotel was very clean and our room was great. The hotel was accommodating in placing us next to a friend that was also staying the same weekend. I would definitely recommend going to eat at Founding Farmers across the street (make a reservation first!). The staff was very nice and helpful: offered to carry bags, held doors open, etc. I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to staying here again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Greetings Kevin N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy that you would come and visit again.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The fact that the hotel is part of the Historic Hotels of America added to it's charm. The pillows are large and firm. House keeping didn't have alternative pillows to exchange, so expect a stiff neck if you're used to softer pillows.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Greetings bolts,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and in reference to the pillows, we actually do offer a softer pillow that is kept in each guest room inside the closet, also additional pillows can be provided upon request.
So we hope that you will visit us again and now you know that we do offer the softer pillows is more of an incentive.

P.S. We were nominated for Best Historic Hotel and we will know if we win on October 2nd.)

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is located a block from Georgetown Washington Univeresity and 5-7 minute walk from the subway station. The biggest plus of this hotel is that it's close to a very nice Wholefood grocery store 5 mintues away where it has a large cafe with lots of seats serving a large breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, coffee bar, and etc. It's very convenient to get a delicious and healthy breakfast, lunch or dinner from Wholefoods plus any other sundry items. The hotel provided excellent services. After check-in, a staff member came by provided two complimentary bottled water. The room I got this time on the 10th floor has a good size bathroom including a vanity sitting area. The only issue is the AC unit in the vanity area is quite loud and can't be turned off. So one has to close the bathroom door at night to minimize the noise. All hotel staff are very friendly. It's a great value for this location.

Room Tip: 10th floor with a larger bathroom and a vanity area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Greetings NextPlace,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. It is exciting to hear that you had a great time and had the opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capital and the Hotel Lombardy. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Spent four days in DC as "nana" to my 4 month old grandson while my daughter attended GWU program. For the price, this hotel is exceptional. within short walks of two subway lines, 3 blocks from White House and literally a block and half from major GWU auditoriums and student center. The staff, doorman included, is exceptionally accommodating and friendly. We had a double room with separate kitchen area (which doubled as baby's crib room), and dressing alcove. It's a boutique style hotel on the European scale...and very charming. It is also surrounded by great places to eat that won't break the bank. We'll stay there again next year!

Room Tip: For business purposes...free wifi was challenging in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Greetings lynn k,

Thank you for taking the time to share your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, BookIt.com and TIG Global so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.