We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic DC Getaway
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was the best hotel that i had. Very clean and cheap nice view everything was perfect

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Greetings!

Thank you for your feed back, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    434
    88
    28
    20
See reviews for
211
418
92
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The entire staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is easily accessible by car, yet within walking distance of fine restaurants, historical attractions and parks. The small gym is well equipped for anyone wanting a quick workout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Greetings LPurnell,

Thank you for your feed back. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very well located in Foggy Bottom - walking distance from White House and Renwick Gallery. Short walk to Metro station with good access to downtown & free shuttle bus to Kennedy Centre. Room was comfortable with good bed and a desk. Good free wifi. Annex to room with sink, fridge & coffee maker, but some cutlery and plates would have been useful. Very good restaurant with excellent breakfasts & friendly staff (especially Mohammed in the evenings). Also comfortable and cosy bar on the ground floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Greetings Pamela F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. In reference to having cutlery in the room, we do not have it because we the particular room that you are speaking of is a wet bar area and not a full kitchen, perhaps the next time you can contact our staff to assist with such a requirement, they would be happy to assist.

We look forward to having you stay again soon and are happy that you got a chance to experience our dining outlet.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Incredibly central DC hotel and it being a Sunday I managed to park my rental car - for free - right outside. Lovely friendly doorman. I got the room on a bit of a deal so unsurprisingly it was a poor room - cramped and dark and at the back of the building - the view out of the window being the wall of the building right behind it, across a service alley. But you get what you pay for and all I wanted was a place to crash for one night that was close to the White House. Walked a fantastic circuit from the hotel that took in the White House, the monument, the reflecting pool, the Lincoln memorial, and then up to the Foggy Bottom Metro station and the site of the hospital where I was born. Memorable night in this famous city, and the hotel is okay... but when I have more money I'll get a better room!

Room Tip: You'll want to pay more for a room at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Greetings Ros B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you were able to come back to Washington, DC where you were born and I hope that on your next visit you choose to stay with us again and you will be able to stay in one of our rooms that overlook Pennsylvania Avenue.

We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Good location in Foggy Bottom only a few blocks from the Metro station and an easy walk to the White House. Room was a kingsize but the room was very basic with views to office buildings (10 ft one way and 30 ft the other way. Small bathroom, no fridge, fixed shower head and nothing at all special to get excited about. Pillows very lumpy and uncomfortable. We asked for feather pillows but they didn't have any others. No bathrobes in the room and when we asked they sent up only one. For the money you pay you would really expect more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front. The back views are terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Greetings Rob R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that we did not meet your full expectation. In reference to the bath robes, all of our guest rooms should be equipped with them and I will look into this matter as soon as possible.

Regarding the view, we do have different room types that offer front facing views and being located in the city unfortunately all guests rooms cannot have the best view and will most likely face another building , perhaps on your next visit we can see to it that you have a room with a better view.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. It is an older building and small but clean and perfectly fine in a great location right on Pennsylvania Avenue with an easy walk to many attractions. My room on fourth floor on the front of the hotel was quiet and my stay was uneventful. Free wifi access. Pleasant staff. Would stay here again. My trip was quick, one night for business and all was good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Greetings Moxiefe,

Thank you for posting your comments. So glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great hotel… nice people.. clean. In house restaurant was great. on the 2nd night they did a special non menu request. It was wonderful. I walked to the Vietnam War Memorial. The hotel seemed to be walking distance from everything

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Greetings brian b,

Thank you for sharing. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and had a chance to experience our restaurant as well.

We look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.